Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring reading
Thought provoking and easy to read. Focuses back on traditional values of living a good and happy life, rather than getting burned out by the rat-race lifestyle many of us are getting tired of. Also a fair point that if we want to create a society where women play a role at top management level, we need to create a more sustainable business culture, where people are...
Published 5 months ago by Busybee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars useful
Very useful book from an idol. It's very interesting at some points, but a bit too much of statistics through the book. I read it with intervals, but overall, gives another perspective about your work life and your alternatives.
Published 1 day ago by Umut Baskalayci


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring reading, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Happier Life (Hardcover)
Thought provoking and easy to read. Focuses back on traditional values of living a good and happy life, rather than getting burned out by the rat-race lifestyle many of us are getting tired of. Also a fair point that if we want to create a society where women play a role at top management level, we need to create a more sustainable business culture, where people are measured and promoted according to results and not facetime or 24/7 availability. This is the only way women will ever be able and willing to combine a high-responsibility management career with bringing up a family. We are dependent on both to ensure the economic wellbeing of future generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY RECOMMENDED READ, 1 April 2014
By 
BLUE FISH (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
Its a very down to earth book and written from the heart. Challenges the writers lifestyle and how to define life, its about well being, wisdom and wonder, the need for us all to change happiness from feeling good and doing good and reconnecting ourselves. Nowadays we all get wake up calls which usually we would act on, but sometimes a book is written by a writer who shows how her struggles and challenges eventually catch up on her and she transforms herself by using meditation, giving, laughter , mindfulness and sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Happier Life (Hardcover)
The author really has hit it on the head - she looks at what our society/life has become with all the modern trends and gadgets. The necessity of slowing it all down to appreciate what we have, when we have it. She has researched very well and included many pertinent modern day examples of what is being done wrong, what is being done right. Proof that less, is in fact more and healthier too. Just finished it and will read again, this time taking notes and sticking them on my computer / fridge / everywhere! Well done Arianna!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Read, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent, well written book by a highly successful woman who redefines the concept of success in our busy world. She draws on much of her personal experiences as well as using sound scientific evidence to back up her statements. Wonderful use of some very profound quotes. Liked the appendices section which provided very useful information on meditation apps and those to help limit daily distractions. Will certainly be a book I will read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written book, better than most of this genre., 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book, touched a nerve and makes you seriously think about redefining what is important in your life. There is nothing surprising in the book but that is what makes it such a good read. We all know about priorities we should make for our work life balance but most of us do not follow any kind of common sense. This book refocuses this and reminds us that we don't have to feel burned out or unhappy but that as we are in charge of our own lives we can do what is right for us and there are some tips in the books which you may not have tried. May even make some of us better people...you never know! Thanks Arianna, well written easy read, sorry I have lent it to some friends hope you don't mind that I didn't encourage them to buy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IS THE THIRD METRIC THE WAY FORWARD?, 24 Mar 2014
This review is from: Thrive (Paperback)
Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Life of Well-Being, Wisdom, and Wonder by Arianna Huffington is a truly inspiring and refreshing book everyone should read. The deluge of books for reviews almost prevented me from having a look. I am glad I managed to squeeze in time to discover what this book is all about.

In the book, Huffington spells out how one can live a great and healthy life. Her insightful advice coupled with her wonderful writing style makes the book really enjoyable. Her sage and sane advice about getting enough sleep, meditations and shifting one's core values beyond the control of money and power is truly life-changing and thought-provoking. This, in essence, is "the third metric." It is an attempt to redefine success and create a vibrant life full of wisdom and wonder.

One important aspect of the book is its advice to unplug from technology and social media. In a world hooked to the social media such advice may seem ill-conceived but from Huffington's perspective it is badly needed. Though the book has its own shortcomings, I honestly believe that many readers will take some of the advice to heart and be inspired to redefine success, create a life of well-being, wisdom and wonder the Arianna Huffington-way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great daily companion for a fulfilling life, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recommend reading this book every day to remind ourselves about how wonderful it is to be living. Even when times are tough, Huffington reminds us that giving will increase our wellbeing. The simple act of opening our eyes each morning is a miracle and our job is to share our talents with the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thrive, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book I am reviewing is Thrive by Arianna Huffington which is a very good book which I bought on kindle. This book is semi-autobiographical and Arianna is famous for creating the Huffington Post which started out as a current affairs blog and she got lots of guest writer's to write posts often for a relatively small fee but the site became extremely and nowadays it is seen as quite an honor to write a post for them and can increase traffic to your blog quite considerably. Prior to writing this book she had been working all hours and getting little sleep mainly because they were trying to launch international versions of the Huffington Post in countries like Germany, Canada & South Korea. She subsequently had to do a talk for graduating students at a college which she takes very seriously on account of having children herself at college and it made her question if she was right to be working all hours and she subsequently sold the Huffington Post and has written this book about her attempts to get her life back on track and some of the techniques she used. She does talk about women traditionally have lived longer than men and with competition in the workplace and more in general being expected from women, this gap is narrowing all the time. You have to find a balance between work and what matters in your life and rest and relaxation. It's no accident the current epidemic of hyperactivity and ADHD among children and in general they get 1 hour less sleep every night and we put them under more and more pressure to be productive in their waking hours. This means they have less time to wind down before bedtime and they are less likely to get enough deep or REM sleep a major factor in ADHD. She does write about a lot of the things she finds has helped her relax and sleep, things like no caffeine after 2pm, keeping your bedroom cool and darker and in general pampering yourself a little so your subconscious knows you are preparing to go to bed. Another thing she mentions is the abuse of technology where people repeatedly check their e-mail and social media accounts and often don't have many proper friends because they spend so much time on sites like Facebook and Twitter with their followers. It is a really good book that I quite enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars useful, 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful book from an idol. It's very interesting at some points, but a bit too much of statistics through the book. I read it with intervals, but overall, gives another perspective about your work life and your alternatives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrive, 12 Sep 2014
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The whole idea behind this book is that achieving power and wealth can only take you so far in life and no one at the end of their life wishes that they'd made more money or had more power. People need to appreciate that they cannot work 24/7 and that looking after their bodies and minds is just as important. Covering issues such as lack of sleep being seen as a badge of honour and taking a break from electronic communications, this is an interesting read though if you read self help books regularly you may have come across a lot of the material before.

The author provided plenty of references for the research and evidence she quotes and the book is written in an easy approachable style as though a good friend is telling you about her life and experiences. Like many busy women the author found herself burning the candle at both ends and eventually collapsed through exhaustion. This made her look critically at her life and she started to make more time for her family and for herself instead of feeling she had to be available to everyone round the clock.

Anyone interested in making sure that their life contains enough down time and spiritual refreshment could do worse than read this book. It encourages technology free periods, meditation, getting enough sleep and generally looking after yourself. There are comprehensive notes and details of all the references, some useful appendices and an index. For those wanting to buy the e-book version the footnotes work very well. I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for review purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Happier Life
£11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews