Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring reading
Thought provoking and easy to read. Focuses back on traditional values of living a good and happy life, rather than getting burned out by the rat-race lifestyle many of us are getting tired of. Also a fair point that if we want to create a society where women play a role at top management level, we need to create a more sustainable business culture, where people are...
Published 3 months ago by Busybee

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it is ok
it is ok ,but i miss sthing from the book.it was not life changing experience book.
i still would recommend
Published 2 months ago by Zsuzsanna


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring reading, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Happier Life (Hardcover)
Thought provoking and easy to read. Focuses back on traditional values of living a good and happy life, rather than getting burned out by the rat-race lifestyle many of us are getting tired of. Also a fair point that if we want to create a society where women play a role at top management level, we need to create a more sustainable business culture, where people are measured and promoted according to results and not facetime or 24/7 availability. This is the only way women will ever be able and willing to combine a high-responsibility management career with bringing up a family. We are dependent on both to ensure the economic wellbeing of future generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY RECOMMENDED READ, 1 April 2014
By 
BLUE FISH (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
Its a very down to earth book and written from the heart. Challenges the writers lifestyle and how to define life, its about well being, wisdom and wonder, the need for us all to change happiness from feeling good and doing good and reconnecting ourselves. Nowadays we all get wake up calls which usually we would act on, but sometimes a book is written by a writer who shows how her struggles and challenges eventually catch up on her and she transforms herself by using meditation, giving, laughter , mindfulness and sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Happier Life (Hardcover)
The author really has hit it on the head - she looks at what our society/life has become with all the modern trends and gadgets. The necessity of slowing it all down to appreciate what we have, when we have it. She has researched very well and included many pertinent modern day examples of what is being done wrong, what is being done right. Proof that less, is in fact more and healthier too. Just finished it and will read again, this time taking notes and sticking them on my computer / fridge / everywhere! Well done Arianna!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Read, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent, well written book by a highly successful woman who redefines the concept of success in our busy world. She draws on much of her personal experiences as well as using sound scientific evidence to back up her statements. Wonderful use of some very profound quotes. Liked the appendices section which provided very useful information on meditation apps and those to help limit daily distractions. Will certainly be a book I will read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book and think it gives great ideas how to become a much more balanced person and truly happy. Well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as new-agey thought it might be., 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interested read and well researched (very well in fact) and easy writing style mean you fly through this book. I would recommend as a reality check for those busy b and stressed out. I have adopted some of these practice and they are working for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IS THE THIRD METRIC THE WAY FORWARD?, 24 Mar 2014
This review is from: Thrive (Paperback)
Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Life of Well-Being, Wisdom, and Wonder by Arianna Huffington is a truly inspiring and refreshing book everyone should read. The deluge of books for reviews almost prevented me from having a look. I am glad I managed to squeeze in time to discover what this book is all about.

In the book, Huffington spells out how one can live a great and healthy life. Her insightful advice coupled with her wonderful writing style makes the book really enjoyable. Her sage and sane advice about getting enough sleep, meditations and shifting one's core values beyond the control of money and power is truly life-changing and thought-provoking. This, in essence, is "the third metric." It is an attempt to redefine success and create a vibrant life full of wisdom and wonder.

One important aspect of the book is its advice to unplug from technology and social media. In a world hooked to the social media such advice may seem ill-conceived but from Huffington's perspective it is badly needed. Though the book has its own shortcomings, I honestly believe that many readers will take some of the advice to heart and be inspired to redefine success, create a life of well-being, wisdom and wonder the Arianna Huffington-way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An important read, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every working woman should read this book - and give a copy to their bosses too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A page turner and a corner folder!, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Happier Life (Hardcover)
Fantastic book. Interesting and informative. Not just a page turner but a corner folder. This will be in my list of Christmas presents for all of my friends. Arianna has obviously completed a lot of research into the content of her new metrics and her passion for each is evident. The book raises self awareness, forces you to question your current practices and provides tools which you can immediately utilise and begin to Thrive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars refrehing, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice to hear/read down to earth of some of the key things that make living and life across personal and business can be achieved. i listened to this initially as an audio book (audible), but also purchased the kindle version as a written reference, Totally recommended reading for all those thinking they 'are too busy or important' in their daily lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Happier Life
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews