Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring reading
Thought provoking and easy to read. Focuses back on traditional values of living a good and happy life, rather than getting burned out by the rat-race lifestyle many of us are getting tired of. Also a fair point that if we want to create a society where women play a role at top management level, we need to create a more sustainable business culture, where people are...
Published 8 months ago by Busybee

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Most of us suck it up and get on with it
Goodness, is there nothing that this woman will not attempt to monetise? She gets a bit tired and pressured trying to juggle her family with her job. Boo hoo. Most of us suck it up and get on with it. Not dear Arianna! She sees a great opportunity to turn a quick buck PLUS get some MORE publicity. How, in that busy busy pressured life did she find the time to set pen...
Published 13 days ago by Boxer13


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring reading, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Happier Life (Hardcover)
Thought provoking and easy to read. Focuses back on traditional values of living a good and happy life, rather than getting burned out by the rat-race lifestyle many of us are getting tired of. Also a fair point that if we want to create a society where women play a role at top management level, we need to create a more sustainable business culture, where people are measured and promoted according to results and not facetime or 24/7 availability. This is the only way women will ever be able and willing to combine a high-responsibility management career with bringing up a family. We are dependent on both to ensure the economic wellbeing of future generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY RECOMMENDED READ, 1 April 2014
By 
BLUE FISH (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
Its a very down to earth book and written from the heart. Challenges the writers lifestyle and how to define life, its about well being, wisdom and wonder, the need for us all to change happiness from feeling good and doing good and reconnecting ourselves. Nowadays we all get wake up calls which usually we would act on, but sometimes a book is written by a writer who shows how her struggles and challenges eventually catch up on her and she transforms herself by using meditation, giving, laughter , mindfulness and sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Happier Life (Hardcover)
The author really has hit it on the head - she looks at what our society/life has become with all the modern trends and gadgets. The necessity of slowing it all down to appreciate what we have, when we have it. She has researched very well and included many pertinent modern day examples of what is being done wrong, what is being done right. Proof that less, is in fact more and healthier too. Just finished it and will read again, this time taking notes and sticking them on my computer / fridge / everywhere! Well done Arianna!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrive, 12 Sep 2014
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The whole idea behind this book is that achieving power and wealth can only take you so far in life and no one at the end of their life wishes that they'd made more money or had more power. People need to appreciate that they cannot work 24/7 and that looking after their bodies and minds is just as important. Covering issues such as lack of sleep being seen as a badge of honour and taking a break from electronic communications, this is an interesting read though if you read self help books regularly you may have come across a lot of the material before.

The author provided plenty of references for the research and evidence she quotes and the book is written in an easy approachable style as though a good friend is telling you about her life and experiences. Like many busy women the author found herself burning the candle at both ends and eventually collapsed through exhaustion. This made her look critically at her life and she started to make more time for her family and for herself instead of feeling she had to be available to everyone round the clock.

Anyone interested in making sure that their life contains enough down time and spiritual refreshment could do worse than read this book. It encourages technology free periods, meditation, getting enough sleep and generally looking after yourself. There are comprehensive notes and details of all the references, some useful appendices and an index. For those wanting to buy the e-book version the footnotes work very well. I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for review purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written book, better than most of this genre., 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book, touched a nerve and makes you seriously think about redefining what is important in your life. There is nothing surprising in the book but that is what makes it such a good read. We all know about priorities we should make for our work life balance but most of us do not follow any kind of common sense. This book refocuses this and reminds us that we don't have to feel burned out or unhappy but that as we are in charge of our own lives we can do what is right for us and there are some tips in the books which you may not have tried. May even make some of us better people...you never know! Thanks Arianna, well written easy read, sorry I have lent it to some friends hope you don't mind that I didn't encourage them to buy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IS THE THIRD METRIC THE WAY FORWARD?, 24 Mar 2014
This review is from: Thrive (Paperback)
Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Life of Well-Being, Wisdom, and Wonder by Arianna Huffington is a truly inspiring and refreshing book everyone should read. The deluge of books for reviews almost prevented me from having a look. I am glad I managed to squeeze in time to discover what this book is all about.

In the book, Huffington spells out how one can live a great and healthy life. Her insightful advice coupled with her wonderful writing style makes the book really enjoyable. Her sage and sane advice about getting enough sleep, meditations and shifting one's core values beyond the control of money and power is truly life-changing and thought-provoking. This, in essence, is "the third metric." It is an attempt to redefine success and create a vibrant life full of wisdom and wonder.

One important aspect of the book is its advice to unplug from technology and social media. In a world hooked to the social media such advice may seem ill-conceived but from Huffington's perspective it is badly needed. Though the book has its own shortcomings, I honestly believe that many readers will take some of the advice to heart and be inspired to redefine success, create a life of well-being, wisdom and wonder the Arianna Huffington-way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Most of us suck it up and get on with it, 5 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thrive (Paperback)
Goodness, is there nothing that this woman will not attempt to monetise? She gets a bit tired and pressured trying to juggle her family with her job. Boo hoo. Most of us suck it up and get on with it. Not dear Arianna! She sees a great opportunity to turn a quick buck PLUS get some MORE publicity. How, in that busy busy pressured life did she find the time to set pen to paper? Wish she hadn't. And wish I hadn't fallen for the PR and saved the price of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved the book, 24 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Happier Life (Hardcover)
I loved the book. It was full of common sense and really challenged you to focus on the most important elements. Being in control of the technology rather than letting it control you, taking time out to simply breathe and relax plus getting enough sleep were key messages. I have already started to reread as I went through it quickly to understand its direction and will now take more time to red thoroughly and digest. I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Overall, disappointing., 29 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this on an enthusiastic, and, in my opinion, very over rated recommendation. It is full of sensible advice but nothing earth shattering. The book is really no more than a bringing together the results of lots of different research projects; so frequently it feels as though you're reading list after list. I have to say, I got so tired of the quoted research and no real discussion around it that I gave up on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Read, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent, well written book by a highly successful woman who redefines the concept of success in our busy world. She draws on much of her personal experiences as well as using sound scientific evidence to back up her statements. Wonderful use of some very profound quotes. Liked the appendices section which provided very useful information on meditation apps and those to help limit daily distractions. Will certainly be a book I will read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Happier Life
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews