Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book is an all nighter in itself
I took this book to bed, started reading and sat up reading it nearly all night - I just couldn't put it down.
This book really took me back and accurately summed up what it was about from various perspectives, dancers, collectors, DJs and substance users. Meanwhile the authors provide informed background information about the social and economic climate of the times...
Published 15 months ago by Dave Morrison

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Limited in Scope
The first thing to say is this is anattractively put together publication with some excellent insights into the early evolution of Northern Soul from the Mod culture of the 60's. But the content of the contributions and many of the chapters places too much emphasis on the drug scene which allnighters have always attracted, since the early days of the Twisted Wheel. This...
Published 6 months ago by MR TIMOTHY CARRINGTON


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have for ALL true Soul Freaks!, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul: An Illustrated History (Hardcover)
Enjoyed the pics (of which there are plenty!) and they create such a powerful nostalgic trip! Indeed I am fortunate to have been forever immortalised in two offerings within these covers!
I am currently reading this and am so far impressed by the general depth of research involving the politics and social unrest of the era, leading upto, as well as including the conception of The Scene itself!
Elaine Constantine certainly uses some pretty 'advanced vocabulary' even for myself, but thanks to the internet and the good old fashioned Oxford Dictionary I will persevere! It definitely seems worth it!
KTF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bar has been raised and set, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul: An Illustrated History (Hardcover)
For me it now sits on my coffee table with Richard Barnes - Mods!, Keith Rylatt & Phil Scott - CENtral 1197.

It is an essential reference point about a unique British cultural movement told with love and passion. It is very difficult to get those feelings into words but Elaine has clearly pulled it off. I know I was there for a part of that time too.

I am sure the film will be a blinder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well documented history of the northern soul scene, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul: An Illustrated History (Hardcover)
THE MUSIC WAS EVERYTHING,
Now I've read the book looking forward to the film, I'm sure it will be another piece in the history of NORTHERN SOUL keep the faith Barry Aberdeen Northern Soul Club
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40 year passion, 17 Oct 2013
This review is from: Northern Soul: An Illustrated History (Hardcover)
A thorough account of real life experiences for many who have held Northern Soul in their hearts, minds and souls for many years. Couldn't put the book down, bought back lots of memories, great photos. Attended a filming session at KGH in Blackburn for the film- brilliant day- just waiting for the release date
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Northern Soul., 6 Oct 2013
This review is from: Northern Soul: An Illustrated History (Hardcover)
This is simply the best book on Northern Soul I've ever read, so I urge you to buy in full confidence and if the film is of the same quality, then I for one will be happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars go for soul boy much better film., 30 Oct 2014
By 
J. R. Vallow - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
was really looking forward to this but bit of a let down
should have followed the people's freindship dancing,and there passion for there records
instead of the drug theme.
go for soul boy much better film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential read for all soul fans, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul: An Illustrated History (Hardcover)
now here's a long awaited book that deliver's a well written intelligent look at the northern soul scene...from early origins, considering social and cultural settings to present day..ALL WORMS AND ALL!!. some great stories and dose'nt polish over the darker side of the scene,,,refreshingly readable...not too much if any record listings....label scans etc..some great unseen photos..you can't put it down! wrtitten about soul people by soul people....i would have liked to see an up to date summary of how healthly / popular the scene is today ???
the whole book has a feeling of exploring the scene without too much namedropping etc..good style chapters.
great stories of record buying trips / police raids / undying love for soul music's northern scene.
you will not waste a penny on this well produced book / glossy and very good quality make it a stand alone in it's subject..hope the film is as good well done to all involved.!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul: An Illustrated History (Hardcover)
Have not been able to put it down. At last an accurate portrayal of the scene and Elaine's pics are outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping the Faith..., 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul: An Illustrated History (Hardcover)
This book more than does justice to a music scene which has and will continue to survive and develop beyond the dictates of fashionable trends or hype, because it's built on a raw passion, commitment, and energy by devotees of all ages and nationalities. Tracing the scenes post war roots in Mod, this book will inform both those unfamiliar with it and those who kept the Faith over the years. It rightly assumes most readers will have some knowledge and doesn't provide a beginners guide, but equally it's not insular, cliquey or full of stats n facts many Northern Soul collectors often thrive on. For me the personal anecdotes make it fascinating, as much from ordinary punters as renowned DJ's. Some of these paint a dark drug driven side around the Wigan years which, travelling from London I was somewhat oblivious to. It acknowledges the splits and divisions but thankfully not excessively so, as Northern Soul was and is more important than those feuds. I down loaded the Kindle version in haste, and clearly missed out on some of the quality photography both from the early days and stills from the film, but don't let that put Kindle readers off as its still got illustrations. Better than any other book to date it provides a fascinating insight into the development and growth of a unique music scene which provided a unique common cultural link between Black American artists often long forgotten and unappreciated and working class British devotes who took their music to their hearts - and shaped a unique culture of their own. Admittedly it could have included some input from the artists, acknowledge the influence Northern Soul had on popular music ,(Soft Cell, Dexys Midnight Runners, The Jam/Style Council, Duffy, to name a few.) I would have liked to have heard more about those clubs outside of its core roots of Lancashire, Yorkshire and the Midlands, and more space devoted to the 6T's events at the 100 Club, which in my opinion has produced some of the best nights around for over 30 years. I'm also not sure those readers new to the scene will fully appreciate how far it has grown and developed musically over the years, which has kept it fresh. Both authors clearly share a passion for the music, and it would be churlish not to acknowledge this book as a great tribute to Northern Soul ahead of a long awaited film, if it's as good as this book we are in for a treat. The quotes at the end of the book manage to put into words so many of the feelings I've carried for years. Keep the Faith and buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars northern soul an illustrated history, 10 Sep 2013
This review is from: Northern Soul: An Illustrated History (Hardcover)
this book is great i would suggest you purchase the book whether you are a devoted northern soul fan or if you only so far have an interest in northern soul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Northern Soul: An Illustrated History
Northern Soul: An Illustrated History by Gareth Sweeney (Hardcover - 5 Sep 2013)
£13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews