Customer Reviews


150 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of those books I just couldn't put down
Although the content of the book is disturbing, it was so well written. The bravery this woman showed, even though it put her life in danger is incredible. It is disgusting to me that people still hide behind religion, honour and shame to justify murder. There is no justification for murder, no one has the right to take the life of another. Sarbjit you are an amazing...
Published 12 months ago by Julie Marie Vine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok read
This was a good book, it's crazy to know that these kinds of things do happen, good for people to be aware of what happens when people take culture too seriously.
Published 4 months ago by Kimmy


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of those books I just couldn't put down, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although the content of the book is disturbing, it was so well written. The bravery this woman showed, even though it put her life in danger is incredible. It is disgusting to me that people still hide behind religion, honour and shame to justify murder. There is no justification for murder, no one has the right to take the life of another. Sarbjit you are an amazing woman and an inspiration to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shamed: the honour killing that shocked Britain, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought that was a really heart breaking story to read but how brave sarbjit was for all she did and for telling this story it just shows that no one knows what goes on behind closed doors. It's a great story really worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow !!!!, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sarbit, your unfailing faith and beliefs through all the hellish years are truly a inspiration !!! May you enjoy the rest of your life, all those people who abuse and insult you at your temple,well, lets just say they are making a mockery out of the God they worship ,your book is one of best i have ever read ,it is always hard to understand different cultures obsession of religion , but you acted so bravely ,i wish you all the luck in the world !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended by a friend, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, a true life story, but well written, gives a good insight into the horrors of Izzat, (Family honour) when taken to extremes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing, 24 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't stop reading until I had finishedthe whole book. Well written, thought provoking and a recommended read, Well done Sarbjit and thank you for sharing your story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a brave woman!, 22 Jun 2013
wow! what a story! this lady's mental strength and belief in right and wrong finally saw justice done for her sister-in-law. her life was awful, a dogsbody who was controlled 24/7. read this book and hope that other people with knowledge of honour killings come forward. all credit to clive driscoll and his team. there is "shame" in murder and no honour at all. i recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shamed: The Honour Killing That Shocked Britain - by the Sister Who Fought for Justice (Paperback)
Well written and enjoyable to read. I just had to get to the end to find out what happened as it kept me gripped. A story of fear, bravery, and strength of character. Order it and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book., 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love books which give me an insight into other religions , how they live their daily lives. The mother in law in this book was hateful , but Sarbjit the author of the book was so brave. The book is about honour killings , as a mother of a beautiful Daughter I can not justify this in my mind. Yes I loved this book , I felt Sarbjits tension as the story progressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very eye opening, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had always heard of honour killings but had no idea it was something carried out by sheikhs....I cannot begin to imagine the fear of Sarbjit...I wish for you peace and love in your life, you are a very brave and honourable lady, sending love to you x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shocking and disturbing., 17 July 2013
By 
Mrs. Jk Simpson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shamed: The Honour Killing That Shocked Britain - by the Sister Who Fought for Justice (Paperback)
My mum always says 'you never know what goes on behind closed doors'. Never a truer words spoken. I read this book in one sitting. You could feel her terror jump out of the pages. So many times she was let down by the police and our community. Thankfully Clive finally took notice and justice was finally served. I would like to hear Surjits brother's story. The heartbreak this family must have gone through not knowing what had happened to their daughter/sister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shamed: The Honour Killing That Shocked Britain - by the Sister Who Fought for Justice
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews