Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great business book from Rachel
I've read all Rachel's other books and so was really looking forward to this one, and I wasn't disappointed. If anything, this is actually a more useful and practical book that the earlier ones, which concentrate more on how other entrepreneurs made their fortunes. This one is full of sensible advise for those wanting to start off in business but who hasn't got thousands...
Published 23 months ago by Kats

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some useful pointers
Some good ideas, but fairly basic information really. As always the devil is in the detail, which in this book is somewhat lacking!
Published 17 months ago by J D WATKINS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great business book from Rachel, 31 Aug 2012
By 
Kats (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Start a Business without Any Money (Paperback)
I've read all Rachel's other books and so was really looking forward to this one, and I wasn't disappointed. If anything, this is actually a more useful and practical book that the earlier ones, which concentrate more on how other entrepreneurs made their fortunes. This one is full of sensible advise for those wanting to start off in business but who hasn't got thousands of pounds to set it up with, such as how to set up an office, get a website up and running and how to get noticed and attract customers, sometimes without spending any money at all!

Throughout the book she is also setting up her own business to put her ideas into practice which is a great idea and means she's actually doing it herself rather than just talking about it. She's also good at saying what type of businesses you should be setting up if you haven't any money to spend, rather than what you might like to but which would be inappropriate, eg spending thousands of pounds and several years on researching and developing a totally new product, or signing an expensive lease for a shop. Instead she is all about sticking to your strengths, selling what people need rather than just want, using outsourcing in a loads of inventive ways and getting paid upfront if you can. And not shelling out vast amount of money you haven't got!

It is tightly written with lots of practical ideas rather than endless waffle and extremely relevant in this current climate. She illustrates her tips with lots of interesting case studies of other businesses too so you can see what worked for other people. Basically you don't need to save up a massive pot of cash before you go it along - do it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whatever happened to your dreams?, 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Start a Business without Any Money (Paperback)
The above title is a throwaway rhetorical question that was mentioned towards the end of the book and one that is echoing in my head as I write this at 2am having finished the book in one long sitting.

Don't get me wrong though, the book is chock full of well structured, eye-opening, real world sensible advice rather than airy-fairy nonsense.

The key themes of this book are so easy to understand and are broken down into small chapters with approachable action plans at the end of each chapter (which I've got to do!). The checklist at the start of Chapter 3 (Putting it into Practice) was particular helpful to me in thinking about how good some of my actual ideas are.

What was particularly interesting was Rachel started up a new business venture to showcase the concepts mentioned throughout the book from idea to market and beyond. This sure beats all those other books that mention how they made their money without even giving you clues as to what they do or how they dealt with the business!

I thoroughly recommend this book to any one who wants to take positive steps to developing their own business - however big or small they want it to be and however unique or not it is.

Good luck to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entrepreneurs need this, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A step by step course on how to spend little money - thus little risk - in starting a business. I clarified things I knew from being in the Amway business, and made them universal. Well worth the price - I had the Kindle version at under 10. She also went through what she learnt as she started her own business, illustrating pitfalls and successes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and useful book, 3 Sep 2012
By 
W Baker (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How To Start a Business without Any Money (Paperback)
As an entrepreneur i often read these publications without much regard as they are often not useful and not from people with real knowledge of front line SME business. This book however is not like that, it is very informative and straight away the author works hard to provide useful content and show what can be achieved for those that really want to. The key with this book and why i say you should purchase it, is that she not only motivates the reader but then supports the reader with material and links that you can use at the critical time, not at the end of the book. So as you read the book you can then go to the website whilst its fresh and check out the pages she is suggesting. so I have to say a really well written publication, you would be foolish if you did not purchase the book, if your an entrepreneur already with companies as I am then it really is just nice to read the book and feel the energy that the author lets out through its pages. Good safe buy, worthy of the price tag and congratulations to the author for achieving a successful publication. BUY BUY BUY...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Business partner, 17 Jun 2013
By 
D. Miller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Start a Business without Any Money (Paperback)
A great reference to anyone starting out in business with no start up capital. Some very interesting pointers and guidance from Rachel Bridge who is clearly passionate about this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Inspiring and funny!, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely loved this book and feel so inspired to start something of my own. Great to read a book about starting a business written with a sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 11 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Start a Business without Any Money (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book and am trying to follow the steps it suggests. Hopefully it will prove to be a fabulous investment in the long term.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK!, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a student in my final year and I'd love to set up my own business. Naturally I have very little money to invest in a new start up but this book has given me LOADS of ideas on where to start. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to become an entrepreneur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very clear, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Start a Business without Any Money (Paperback)
this is a very clear, sensible and down to earth guide that makes sense in the real world. well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Start a Business without Any Money (Paperback)
Great tips, practical help and excellently written. Really enjoyed the writer's style and approach to new entrepeneurs. Easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How To Start a Business without Any Money
How To Start a Business without Any Money by Rachel Bridge (Paperback - 30 Aug 2012)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews