Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide to the world of craft
This is a pretty unique craft book instead of just giving you projects and techniques Perri shares her knowledge (and that of many industry leaders) on all things craft related.

Perri covers 15 different techniques in the book, including embroidery, screen printing, millinery, embellishment, tailoring and appliqué. Each chapter starts with a how to...
Published 24 months ago by Sewing Directory

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I don't care if they sell to John Lewis - show me some pics!
This is a nice book for dipping into new mediums esp if you are experienced with some craft but have never tried others. The text is casual and friendly and covers a huge cross section of art & craft practice. Unfortunately reading it becomes intensely irritating as each maker featured is validated not through any helpful images of their work but via lists of big brands &...
Published 1 month ago by P Vaughan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide to the world of craft, 4 Nov 2012
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Material World: The Modern Craft Bible (Paperback)
This is a pretty unique craft book instead of just giving you projects and techniques Perri shares her knowledge (and that of many industry leaders) on all things craft related.

Perri covers 15 different techniques in the book, including embroidery, screen printing, millinery, embellishment, tailoring and appliqué. Each chapter starts with a how to guide, followed by 2 pages of useful tips and advice from relevant experts, advice on solving common problems and then leads into a project. Perri aims to inspire you to explore your own creativity rather than just follow projects so after each project there is a page of ideas and tips on how to take the technique further.T-shirt dress project from Material World

In between each technique chapter there are a few pages giving advice on all different things craft related, including going to craft groups, where to find good advice on the internet and turning your crafts into a business. The experts featured include Amy Butler, Rob Ryan, Kaffe Fassett and some of our customers including The Make Lounge and Ruth Singer.

A great guide to the world of crafting as well as giving you several technique guides and projects.

This review also appears on The Sewing Directory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last 21st Century Stuff for Craft, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Material World: The Modern Craft Bible (Paperback)
Having got a copy from Amazon [pretty quick too] I poured over the pages and was so pleased to not find a tea cosy project anywhere.
This is a book that you can read as well as learn from and will sit on the coffee table as well as the craft shelf.
Thinks that she may become the Jamie Oliver of the craft world soon if not already taken that mantle.
Love the idea for the shoes but might try a more blokey version - its not just a girlie book guys!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for even a novice like me., 13 Dec 2012
This review is from: Material World: The Modern Craft Bible (Paperback)
Really solid advice from the author and contributors, looks lovely - I've bought one as a present and bought another for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funky and a Great Guide!, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Material World: The Modern Craft Bible (Paperback)
A delightful book which reminded me of crafts I learned years ago and did really badly. Perri's guide is written in warm accessible language with clear illustrations. She, and her guest contributors, have made me my fingers itch to get started again AND given the information I need to enjoy the results!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Craft Bible, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Material World: The Modern Craft Bible (Paperback)
All went to plan as indicated by the company.
We were constantly updated on progress.
The goods arrived on time.
The product was as described. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Material World: The Modern Craft Bible (Paperback)
This book gives loads of ideas, tips and advice on using a wide variety of materials in craft and design work. Great reference book. Helps you to form and complete your own ideas. Gives good basic skills to help with your own development.
It is written in easy to read style with excellent photos and diagrams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Material World: The Modern Craft Bible (Paperback)
This book is lovely to dip into with lots of insider tips for each craft and a how-to section for many different crafts. Great for beginners to a craft as well as interesting as it covers a lot of different crafts so there should be something in there that you have not tried. It only gives a fairly overview of each craft but has a project to complete for each one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I don't care if they sell to John Lewis - show me some pics!, 7 Sep 2014
This review is from: Material World: The Modern Craft Bible (Paperback)
This is a nice book for dipping into new mediums esp if you are experienced with some craft but have never tried others. The text is casual and friendly and covers a huge cross section of art & craft practice. Unfortunately reading it becomes intensely irritating as each maker featured is validated not through any helpful images of their work but via lists of big brands & retailers they have worked with. The entire ethos of DIY is skewed by equating the value of brilliant & culturally responsible people like Barley Massey & Sarah Corbett with designers making work for lifestyle magazines and aspirational boutiques. Issues of art, class & politics inherent in craft are reduced to fashion & hipsterdom.
I will try some of the techniques but would have appreciated many more visual examples of possibilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Usage of book, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Difficult to read and follow on the Kindle. I'm sorry I bought this version instead of the proper book. Definitely a mistake. Books have the added advantage of being in colour as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretentious, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Material World: The Modern Craft Bible (Paperback)
I have quite a few craft books and I have to say that this is the worst one by far. There isn't anything in it that I'm really bothered about making unless the other craft books that I own. I think that the book is quite pretentious. There is also space wasted where the contributors give their 'knowledge'. I'd much rather see those pages used for more (and better) craft ideas. Don't waste your money on this turkey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Material World: The Modern Craft Bible
Material World: The Modern Craft Bible by Perri Lewis (Paperback - 1 Nov 2012)
£15.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews