Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un-put-downable
Probably the greatest, most innovative, versatile and influential guitarist of the last 50 years. Fantastic book. I read it cover to cover on a wet Sunday and then again at a slower pace to truly take in all the detail. It's best read with your headphones on with the full Led Zeppelin catalogue available on your mp3 (or whatever) player. Not being a guitarist myself,...
Published 17 months ago by Romac

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not blown away
I'm a bit disappointed. My main complaint is that it doesn't go into the songwriting process a lot. There's the occasional mention here and there about it but it's not enough. Why not ask a ton of questions about how Page and Plant worked together? It's one of the coolest and most successful songwriting collaborations in history and it's not touched upon much. Did he...
Published 9 months ago by Mads Barfoed


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un-put-downable, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably the greatest, most innovative, versatile and influential guitarist of the last 50 years. Fantastic book. I read it cover to cover on a wet Sunday and then again at a slower pace to truly take in all the detail. It's best read with your headphones on with the full Led Zeppelin catalogue available on your mp3 (or whatever) player. Not being a guitarist myself, I found some of the descriptions of Page's unique guitar tunings and revolutionary effects a little daunting - but listen to the tracks as you read and it truly comes to life.

As if that wasn't enough, JP is at last given real credit for being a genius producer and sound engineer - a fact long known By Zep fans, but not generally realised by the record buying public. He brought together the amazing talents of Plant, Jones and Bonham, and has left the world a legacy which will outlast us all. Led Zeppelin's output will be "classical music" in 2113 - and maybe only Pink Floyd could stand alongside them in a hundred years time.

Definitely a book for both musicians and fans, and a revealing portrait of a very charismatic man. One of the very, very few who deserve the title "rock legend".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light and Shade: Conversations with Jimmy Page (Hardcover)
Simply the best book on Jimmy Page I have ever read. Highly recommended. Discover the 'Surrey Delta' !
Interviews with the man himself are so much better than anything else I have read Zep related. This puts the like of Mick Walls book where it belongs - in the bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not blown away, 26 Dec 2013
By 
Mads Barfoed - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light and Shade: Conversations with Jimmy Page (Hardcover)
I'm a bit disappointed. My main complaint is that it doesn't go into the songwriting process a lot. There's the occasional mention here and there about it but it's not enough. Why not ask a ton of questions about how Page and Plant worked together? It's one of the coolest and most successful songwriting collaborations in history and it's not touched upon much. Did he employ certain techniques and tricks for writing, like using theory and stuff like that and how hard did he have to work at it to get results etc? Such a shame, those things are a zillion times more interesting than anything else, to me.

Engineers and such will love it though as there's a lot of info about mic placement and other things like that, that generally put me to sleep. But like other people have said, it's not all bad, lots of interesting things here, but it could have been a lot better if the author had run his list of questions by me before meeting Page
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zep fan, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light and Shade: Conversations with Jimmy Page (Hardcover)
Christmas gift for a male friend who doesn't normally read but is a big Jimmy Page fan, he loved it and can be sat reading!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light &Shade(Jimmy Page), 10 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light and Shade: Conversations with Jimmy Page (Hardcover)
Great book,a must read for Zep fans.This book is very interesting read not like some others out their to which i gave up half way.I like Tolinski reads..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VERY TALENTED MAN!!, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light and Shade: Conversations with Jimmy Page (Hardcover)
Session Guitarist , producer , creative genius , songwriter , leader of one of the most successful and forward thinking bands of all time!!! READ IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light and Shade: Conversations with Jimmy Page (Hardcover)
Brilliant book for any Jimmy Page fan and very much enjoyed by the person it was bought for who is a great Jimmy Page fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you're into Page then ..., 22 April 2014
By 
Jen (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light and Shade: Conversations with Jimmy Page (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift. Well received. A good page turner I'm told. There are some good pictures too. Worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives a true insight in the life of Jimmy Page. I would recommend this book to all zeppelin fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed the book and it's a good read, up to a point.
I'm not old enough to remember LZ at their peak so I wanted a warts and all, true representation of JP. The technical stuff and details of how the songs came about were all fascinating but I still really don't know who JP really is or what he got up to off stage. I admire people more if they open up and talk about the less appealing side of their characters or past errors. JP says it himself: why start the LZ reunion thing and only do one gig. So why agree to be interviewed for a 'biography' and only tell half the story?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Light and Shade: Conversations with Jimmy Page
Light and Shade: Conversations with Jimmy Page by Brad Tolinski (Hardcover - 25 Oct 2012)
£14.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews