Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changes the definition of success
Blake Mycoskie's self-help book "Start Something That Matters" shows how to combine a for-profit company with a social mission. His book uses the story of TOMS his successful for-profit shoe company as a blueprint to show and inspire others to start something that matters.
While traveling in Argentina (South America) in 2006 Blake met a woman who belonged to an...
Published on 15 Sept. 2011 by Niki Collins-queen, Author

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
A bit sentimental but very readable.
Published 28 days ago by m rachel morris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changes the definition of success, 15 Sept. 2011
By 
Niki Collins-queen, Author "author" (Forsyth, Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Blake Mycoskie's self-help book "Start Something That Matters" shows how to combine a for-profit company with a social mission. His book uses the story of TOMS his successful for-profit shoe company as a blueprint to show and inspire others to start something that matters.
While traveling in Argentina (South America) in 2006 Blake met a woman who belonged to an organization that collected shoes from donors to give to impoverished kids. When Blake witnessed the blisters, sores and infections on the children's bare feet the idea came to him to create a for-profit shoe company with a social mission. He created a new version of "alpargata" Argentina's comfortable, casual, canvas shoe and for every pair of shoes his company sold he pledged to donate a pair of shoes to a needy child. He named his company TOMS (a promise for a better tomorrow). Blake has fulfilled his promise. TOMS has given more than a million pairs of shoes to children in need the past five years.
There are seven themes in Blake's self-help book: find your story, face your fears, be resourceful without resources, keep it simple, build trust, giving is good business and the final step which is moving from thinking about doing something to actually doing it.
To find your passion and mission in life Blake offers three questions: "If you did not have to
worry about money, what would you do with your time? What kind of work do you want to do? What cause would you like to serve?"
Blake's story is changing the definition of success. He says the quest for success is not the same as the quest for status and money. The definition has broadened to include contributing something to the world. He says TOMS is a success precisely because they created a new model. The giving component of TOMS makes their shoes more than a product. They're part of a story, a mission and a movement anyone can join.
Blake also shares the stories of other people who started something that matters. Their stories show how we can make a living, have the time and freedom to do the things we love and contribute to making the world a better place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One that touched my heart., 11 Oct. 2013
By 
A. Hakim (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Start Something That Matters (Paperback)
I started out reading this book expecting a story about how Blake built his business and his experiences. He duly delivered on those.

But that's not why you should read it.

What got me was his firm belief that businesses has a responsibility to contribute socially, heck even charitably, not only by his business exemplifying the very possibility of doing so, but that he goes all out to show you how you could build your own business incorporating social good while not forgetting the cornerstones of a business startup; marketing well, being resourceful and how one builds a strong team.

If it pulls your strings somewhere to start something of your own, while giving something back, please do yourself a favour and read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great advice for (pretty much) everyone, 7 Jun. 2012
By 
Daniel Park "danielpark99" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Start Something That Matters (Paperback)
This is an extraordinary book in that it gives great advice to (pretty much) everyone who reads it. It works on the breathtakingly simple premise that we can all make a difference in our "working" lives, and that just a few small decisions now can make a huge difference to people who need our help. None of this is preachy, and none of it requires huge wads of cash. Indeed Mycoskie makes it clear that people who have invested too much time and/or money have often failed because they were TOO prepared. Instead, he shows through multiple examples that people (and businesses) are intrinsically good and that they're happy to help each other if they know what they're getting themselves into and that they'll make peoples lives easier and happier as a result.

This is an inspirational read, plain and simple. I urge people not to be put off by thinking that this is only aimed at entrepreneurs. Anyone can, and will, benefit from Mycoskie's story and his quietly devastating words of advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally worth it. Brilliant for those totally new to business., 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd heard about Toms shoes and the ethos but reading the book made me understand why they do what they do. The book is clear, concise, straight to the point and easy to digest and understand. I personally liked the stories not only surrounding Toms shoes but also other brands that have 'started something that matters' and how they have made what they do a success today. Ultimately- what Blake is trying to encourage is to start with what you have and see where it takes you. Totally been inspired and I continue to refer back to it. Worth reading in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Start Something That Matters (Paperback)
Helped me come up with some great ideas for a new business. Not a bad read either, very entertaining, excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this!, 14 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Start Something That Matters (Paperback)
Not only has reading this book given me enough energy, excitement and passion to start something (that matters), it has provided me with invaluable insight into the importance of starting small, of having a 'why' as the main reason to what you do and last but not least - several new pairs of awesome TOMS shoes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learning What Inspired Tom's To Start Something That Matters, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Start Something That Matters (Paperback)
Christmas socking filler for my wife. We always get a few small items and books make a good choice. We had heard of Tom's charity of providing free shoes for every show sold, but my wife was interested in learning what inspired the founder to start in the first place. So a well received Christmas gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Life changing book ... Set up my own blog to help give bikes to kiddies in need around the world ...halvies.co.uk ....Want to do something that matters .. In this day of "celebrity nonsense" taking up far too much of people's time, here was a guy who wanted to change other people's lives ... Not just the kiddies, but everyone who reads this book and does something that matters ..Deep down we all know that helping others is the secret to happiness .. Unfortunately we all get caught up in competing to try and be more successful and "celebrity" than others ..Ironic thing is, Blake has become massive "celebrity" by giving millions of kiddies a pair of shoes ..Don't just read it, embrace it, & do something that matters. Anything ..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly inspirational, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic and inspiring book. It's already changed my life and I'm sure that it will change many others. Thank you Blake and all the TOMS family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Start something... just start, 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really loved reading this book - the idea of making a start, and starting small, was really good. The heart of the book is the heart of the author, and its power is in its simplicity. I read and finished reading, feeling satisfied and inspired. Thanks Blake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Start Something That Matters
Start Something That Matters by Blake Mycoskie (Paperback - 2 Feb. 2012)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews