Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars20
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2010
An easy, well constructed informative and enjoyable read.

Aimed at the new business market, Rachel confirmed many of the things that I've learnt along the way in an existing business. But this was good as it reminded me of many points which are easy to forget with a growing business and acted as flags for me to revisit. It also made me look at the business in a different way and the regular Action Points were extremely useful.

I now look forward to the millions rolling in! Thank you Rachel.....
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
I enjoyed reading this book and I found it inspirational. The gist of the book is to make lots of money by starting an online shop. Unfortunately, most small online shops sell almost nothing. People prefer to go to Amazon or the online shops of large high street stores. There are so many online shops that it's hard for the small ones to get noticed. She doesn't really make this clear enough. Maybe she doesn't know this, because she has not actually run an online shop herself. It's easy to spend lots of time starting an online shop in the way she suggests, only to be disappointed when it doesn't sell much.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2010
I heard Rachel Bridge talking on the Jeremy Vine show on Radio 2 the other day so I immediately rushed out and bought this book. It is really interesting and inspiring and is full of fascinating stories and good tips of what to do - and more importantly what not to do - when setting up a business so it saves you from making any stupid mistakes. I would really recommend this book to anyone who wants to become an entrepreneur.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 December 2010
As I read the Sunday Times I had heard of Rachel Bridge and I either have or have read most of her books

She has had the advantage of interviewing a lot of tnereprenures for the paper and most of her earlier books are compilations of her articles.

She has taken the opportunity of putting this all into one book setting out everything she has learnt.

At the end of each chapter she has an action plan. This sets out in short form what each chapter is about.

If you dont want to read the waffle just read the action plan.

She has good advice about building an on line scalable business. So many want to open resatruants and shops which are hard work and don't succeed.

Sell goods or services that can make you money whilst you are not there. Build a business you can sell and that can operate without you being there.

As she and they have pointed out the Dragons never invented anything they just took an existing idea and did it better and made money.

People are obsessed by inventing things and trying to sell it. Don't bother just nick an idea and do it better. She covers areas like how do you get paid.It is cashflow that kills most firms.

Outsource as much as possible. It is now feasiable to run and iternational buiness with no employees and no stock from a laptop. This is what she is trying to teach you.

One of the best practical books on runing or starting your own business and I have read a few.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 July 2015
This book is absolutely brilliant. It's well written and packed with useful information. I am finding it invaluable in setting up my digital business, gomunkee.com. However, it was published in 2011 and could well do with an update. It mentions Businesslink and the forthcoming 2012 Olympics and there's no mention of crowdfunding. A huge number of people are starting their own digital businesses and this book would be the best on the market if it were up-to-the-minute.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've read a lot of business books and this is one of the best. Lots of great thoughts on the process of starting a business. Useful references to case studies as well. Probably the most useful book I have read in fact.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
Rachel has a great role as a journalist on business and enterprise so has got to interview loads of interesting entreprenurs about the do's and don'ts. The title is a bit of a false promise. I think it will take till at least tea time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
So inspiring in fact, that I started up my own online business that follows Ms Bridge's advice to the letter.

It's early days, but on the off chance you would like to buy it from me for a few million, please feel free to get in touch!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2010
An absolute must read for any budding entrepreneur full of sensible advice. This book is really well written and an enjoyable read. You'll feel quite motivated after you've finished reading it. It really is truly inspiring.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2010
I heard Rachel Bridge interviewed on Radio 2 and decided to buy her book. It's a must for anyone thinking of starting up a business or who has been running a business for a little while who wants straightforward advice on the pitfalls to avoid and different types of intitiatives which can be launched. It's very easy to read yet contains numerous gems that will save and make thousands. Well worth the money.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)