Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars32
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2015
An interesting retrospective of the growth of this remarkable company. You get the feeling that it's slightly sanitised, but there is a lot of "behind the curtain" detail of how Facebook grew from dorm project to one of the most influential companies on the globe. It also provides some revealing insight into how the Zuck thinks, the culture of Facebook and where they might be going. I bought this to get some insight for my startup, flomohq.com which relies on the Facebook API and it has not disappointed. This book provides valuable perspectives for anyone who has an interest in Facebook and wants to go beyond the vague / incorrect portrayal in "The Social Network" movie.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
A well written and researched book David K. Enjoy reading it but I doubt whether Facebook would become the world's fastest growing company looking at the much hyped initial public offering of its shares now worth 50% of its $38 per share offer. Glad I did not buy those shares knowing that it was a social network with no opportunity to attract would be advertisers as it is only an intangible product with limited benefits to the users worldwide. Nonetheless this book is worth reading this Christmas and beyond.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Quite a fascinating description of how one of the most groundbreaking companies of our time was born. The author had access to the primary subjects directly, thus can give a good insight into the minds of the most important players, especially MZ himself. A great book to read for Facebook lovers as well as ambitious entrepreneurs.

The only downside is that it is quite old now, and you will not find any information about the IPO and other progress that Facebook made since.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2011
This book provides a fascinating insight into the ethos behind the company! As more and more of us are using facebook to connect and to grow our businesses it's really helpful to have this 'insider knowledge'.
It helps to know why facebook do the things they do and what they do and don't like us to do. We may all feel like we own facebook but we don't so it's good to keep on the right side of those who do!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
The riveting parts to this book are when the author describes how Facebook grew, the stories behind the deals, the decisions etc. Too often however the book rambles, the author gets preoccupied with the implications of Facebook, interesting but felt like a different book and the cutting from one perspective to another made the book disjointed. Overall a disappointing read and already out of date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2012
Im presently reading this book and finding it an enjoyable read. I've seen various documentaries about Facebook and this follows a similar line, its not too biased either despite being an authorised book. If your interested in the whole Facebook story and how Mark Z and other people became so rich / known, this is a good read.

Not too heavy in writing style either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Much as been said and written about the phenomenal success, since it's start-up in 2004, of the ubiquitous social networking site, Facebook. From humble beginnings, but with hindsight inspirational foresight and determination,and whilst in his first year at Harvard, Mark Zukerberg and his coterie drove through with almost a religious fervour his concept of the future of global communications, into a mammoth modern technology company.

That company Facebook has now been morphed into a massive concern with upwards of 500 million of us having joined up to socialise among family and friends, make new acquaintances, and 'rubber-neck' other's lives and goings-on. It also allowed us a freedom and flexibility of instant communication and networking that hitherto had not been available to the great unwashed masses.

David Kirkpatrick's most competent and engagingly attention-holding book 'The Facebook Effect' does an excellent job in tracking the growth of the Google Business from the early days at Harvard through until 2010, including all of it's teething troubles and growth pains, warts and all. He was given extensive access to Zuckerberg and his team which helped him build up a very clear and concise understanding of how 'Facebook' bludgeoned it's way into our affections. That the company is now valued at $15 billion is testament indeed, to this contemporary geek culture.

So what happens now? Quoting from the eminent Science Fiction Author Timothy Zahn " For a change, lady-luck seemed to be smiling on me. Then, again, maybe the fickle wench was just lulling me into a false sense of security while she reached for the hard rock." The international newswires are claiming that subscribers to Facebook have very recently started witnessing reduced subscription levels which does not auger well for the rapid growth experienced so far. Could it be that the 'fickle hand'of fate has already started to erode Facebook's subscriptions,and thus the beginning of a spiral downturn? You only have to look at the rapid decline of subscribers in "Friends Reunited" to witness the fickleness and transient nature of social networking sites. It could prove that getting Facebook to where it is today might be considerably easier than keeping it there.Let us hope that lady-luck does not rain down hard rocks but only time will tell, with the real 'rough and tumble' not yet begun.

This book charting the rise of Facebook is highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
As title shows l bought this as a gift for my 21 year old son for xmas, as he enjoyed watching the programme on tv about Facebook. Son has finished reading the book already and he said it was a great book, that is about as much conversation l get from him, so can not give you anymore about the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
If you are into Silicon Valley culture and how the inner workings of the successful tech giants operate, this is for you. It also provided a fascinating insight into the starting of Facebook and gave you a real understanding of Zuckerberg. I would highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
At least on my Kindle it will periodically jump to the end of the book and is difficult to get back to the page you were on.

Fair overview of the history of fb but I don't feel any wiser of Zuckerberg's motives or what drives him on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)