Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAVE AN OCD ABOUT THE CHARTS!!! THIS IS A MUST!!!
i do love chart statistics...always have and probably always will!

this book lists every single that made it into the top 75, the chart positions the weeks on chart...as far as i know this is the most recent comprehensive guide of chart positions to date...it is a lot harder these days with downloads being incorporated into the lists (for example...if somebody...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. Nathan Armstrong

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars stop the rot
I used to buy the Guinness books but got frustrated when they started adding albums and downloads.
Now virgin have taken over and thankfully albums are not included but downloads have to be.
The 'singles' charts these days are not valid, full of tv promoted junk and album tracks which were never intended as singles.
songs appearing in the chart much too...
Published 9 months ago by Victor Preston


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Hit Singles, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Book of British Hit Singles: Volume 2 (Paperback)
Facts galore great for quizzes and a mind of information as to when the hits were hits. Great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD Collectors, 23 April 2013
By 
B. A. C. Bricknell (South of France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Book of British Hit Singles: Volume 2 (Paperback)
A good guide to all the hits in Britain since the inception of the Hit Parade which used to replace the old Guinness book - unfortunately not published annually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed!, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Book of British Hit Singles: Volume 2 (Paperback)
Just started co-presenting a show on a community radio show and needed to 'update' myold Guiness Book of British Hit Singles - and this fits the bill just perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Guinness Book Of Hit Singles, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Book of British Hit Singles: Volume 2 (Paperback)
i am using this book to put dates on my music collection and when the edition of the Guinness Book of UK Hit Singles ran out I decided to give this a try. I wasn't let down I find it better and slightly easier to use. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Book of British Hit Singles: Volume 2 (Paperback)
Having used a different reference for my music before this, thought I'd try Virgin's tomes and am quite pleased with them. Easy enough to navigate and full of the information I need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Book of British Hit Singles: Volume 2 (Paperback)
I bought it as a present for my husband together with the Volume 1(The Virgin Book of British Hit Albums). I was a bit concerned about the lack of pictures and a really small print of the text as my husband's eyesight is not that 100% and he struggles to read some small prints. But he was so delighted with those volumes that doesn't mind to use magnifying glass - he says that all what he wanted are there in both volumes- just to recollect the songs, artist and albums through the past years. The price is very good too. So, it’s five stars from me and my husband.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Virgin Book of British Hit Singles Volume 2, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Book of British Hit Singles: Volume 2 (Paperback)
Brilliant Christmas present for hubby been looking for it for ages. It used to be Guinness book of hit singles. Very pleased you stocked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Facts at your finger tips, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Book of British Hit Singles: Volume 2 (Paperback)
This book is packed full of British Hit Singles facts and very easy to read. A great source of reference for any music fan. Well worth the money. Have always bought the Guiness Book of Hit Singles but this book compares just as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Would buy if only it weren't for..., 28 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. M. Clegg "Matt Clegg" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Virgin Book of British Hit Singles: Volume 2 (Paperback)
This sounds like a great buy, except for the ridiculous notion of referring to the last six years as official singles charts, purely because of the Christmas period (perennial re-downloading of old Christmas faves and purchasing of already heavily downloaded hits for new mp3 players people got for Christmas); Love The Way You Lie, Poker Face and Empire State of Mind had well over a month (two in LTWYL's case) before the official release purely because the album has just been released and, therefore, readily available to download as single tracks rather than wait for the official date and get included on the top 40 unfairly; famous icons' death; the odd BGT, X-Factor or Olympics performance propelling an old song back to the top 40 when they're NOT official singles at the time (There You'll Be, Sex on Fire (Sept 2009), One Day Like This and Fast Car to name a few); the greedy mass-releases of GLEE cover versions; and the extra-long drawn out trips of many singles (ie Sex On Fire, Rock Star, 4 Minutes, Patience, Valerie, Just Dance, I Gotta Feeling, Firework, Only Girl (In The World) and Apologize) which, particularly when they have been top 10 since October one year, people are STILL downloading in April, when there have been enough new songs to get the record buying public interested to forget the songs from the previous year. Fair enough, Two Little Boys by Rolf Harris was still languishing in the lower reaches of the top 40 by the end of April 1970, despite having spent SIX weeks at number one, even over Christmas. And as for the Christmas 2009 vendetta... don't get me started!
Until the compilers make the rules much tighter, like that of pre-2007, the chart stats are a joke, and thus, I record things as they ought to be, and where a long-running song has finally taken their bow, they are discredited thereon, to be fair to more newer releases. Anything up to 2007, fantastic, but since the above mistakes have happened, because the regulators have been too relaxed with the rules, I find it incomprehensible to call what has been referred to as the Official UK singles chart exactly that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comparison with the Guinness British Hit Singles and Albums, 13 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. J. O. Savage (Bournemouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Book of British Hit Singles: Volume 2 (Paperback)
This comparison with the Guinness book applies equally to both the Hit Singles and Hit Albums. There is an advantage in having the Singles and Albums in the same book since it gives a more complete picture when researching the history of an artist. The most colourful part of these Virgin books is the cover since the internal print is monochrome. However, this not detract from the main information presentation. Where is does suffer however is where the added information about Silver, Gold or Platinum gains in the British or American charts. Colour does help in this respect. The additional information about certain highlighted artists is better and an additional section relating to downloading has been included. All in all a very comprehensive tool for any Music Programme Presenter to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Virgin Book of British Hit Singles: Volume 2
The Virgin Book of British Hit Singles: Volume 2 by OCC (Paperback - 4 Nov 2010)
£18.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews