Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great insight
Loved this book...goes to show women can make it in the big smoke! Well worth a read x x x
Published 3 months ago by Damion P.

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written cliche
A city girl myself, having started work in 2004 in very similar jobs and with (girl) friends of the same age doing very similar jobs, this book is a cliche, written to cash on the back of the city boy image which I can not say is much more interesting,better written, better researched book and more thought out book abuot the city, but at least city boy puts some of his...
Published on 8 April 2010 by Girl in the Square Mile


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 14 Aug 2009
This review is from: Confessions of a City Girl (Paperback)
I have to say, I've never particularly read cityboy or citygirl's columns in the paper, and I suspected this would be a bit of an average read... so I was pleasantly surprised to find it very entertaining and (for an American writer) surprisingly witty! Sure, it's not Ulysses, but then it's not trying to be. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly enjoyable!, 14 Aug 2009
By 
P. Conlon "PC" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Confessions of a City Girl (Paperback)
A frank, honest and enlightening insight into a young woman's struggle to 'make it' in the city. I really enjoyed this book. I had no idea of how hard it would be, the constant knock backs she had to overcome before she got her break. I loved her honest approach, self reflection and no nonsense way she details the darker side of the city. She makes clear how hard is was to have and maintain a career as a trader, not just in the boom times but when the financial markets are tumbling around her. Credit to her for realising her ambition against all kinds of obstacles and adversity and credit to those who still grind out a career in such a stressful environment!! Recommended reading!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulously enjoyable insight into city life, 7 Aug 2009
By 
C. L. Frayne (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Confessions of a City Girl (Paperback)
A thoroughly enjoyable book, which I romped through in no time (would be excellent for holidays too). It provides a very intersting persective of a woman working in a very male dominated world. And it's great to read about such a ballsy woman taking the men on at their own game! Ha. She sounds fab. Very well written - who would have thought that anyone could make an interesting read from working in financial institutions! I would definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really enjoyable read, 10 Aug 2009
This review is from: Confessions of a City Girl (Paperback)
This is a really enjoyable read. It is a very fun, down to earth account of someone in the City just trying to work hard and do well. It is not full of finance jargon, but a very readable account - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars City Girl Gets in Right, 15 Aug 2009
This review is from: Confessions of a City Girl (Paperback)
City Girl gets a lot right in her book. The city has long been a destination for sexy GQ-type personalities - fit, confident, fashion-obsessed, and sexy. Why should it be any different for women? It seems perfectly natural for Cosmo-type women to compete with men by playing by their own rules rather than falsely trying to play by men's rules in a man's world. City Girl provides a great insight on how to best apply women's rules to win the city game. And hopefully she's right that women will help revive the battered financial cities around the world and take their rightful place in world of business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Confessions of a City Girl
Confessions of a City Girl by Barbara Stcherbatcheff (Paperback - 13 Aug 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews