Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars23
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 August 2009
Where was this book when I first started..?

I think this book is a good starting point for anyone wanting to know more about Parkour and freerunning. Plus it will give you enough information to know what parkour and freerunning is and what it is not. It is well written and easy to understand however the drawings were only one level up from stick men. Not sure if this was intentional as the drawings are there to illustrate a movement.

I have been training for about 10 months and I did learn something knew some of the movements I had previously learnt were explained in a much easier manner and because of it I have perfected movements that I was struggling with before.
22 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2009
It's very interesting, it gives a wide range of moves. I have only been doing parkour my self for about 6 months and i have been trying to learn the moves. I got this book and everything jsut seemed to slip into place, a great buy for any parkour enthuisiast.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2012
My son is 11 and has enjoyed this book. It has a section at the back that goes through different moves showing how to do them safely. It's also got some good general information about the background of parkour and some good pictures. Would recommend this for young people just starting to get into it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2009
This is a very clear and informative guide to anyone starting out in freerunning. The tutorials are clear and easy to follow, with drawings to make it easier to understand.
I have read this book from start to finish and realy enjoyed it. I refer back to the tutorials to make sure I am doing the right thing.
This book is a must for freerunners starting out.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2012
A very good book to start you out on your Parkour journey: 144 pages including the index at the back and the title and contents pages.

The book includes a brief history of Parkour, tips on getting started, the basics of Parkour, tips for and information on practicing Parkour including: warming up, warming down, safety, landing, rolls, standing jumps, mounts, vaults, balance, wall runs, clearing, drop jumps, stepping movements, advanced vaults, running and arm jumps, swings and hanging movements. The book also includes picture and text tutorials at the end to demonstrate all the movements described earlier in the book, and some extra information at the end.

It is well worth pointing out, and is also mentioned in the book, that it is always best to get some formal training in any physical art before attempting to go it on your own, however this book is great for newbies to get some vital information on the art and to understand it better. I personally found it very helpful and interesting.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
Loved this book! I'm very excited to start a parkour class and get more benefits form this book. It's got a good intro, anatomy, basics, health and movements involved in parkour and how to achieve what you want from training with basic diagrams explaining each step of each basic movement. Great for beginners and someone generally interested in knowing what's involved in Parkour.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
Being a complete beginner to Parkour, I have found this book very usefull.
It is light weight reading and covers the basics you need to start straight away, and it also covers the importance of learning at your own pace in your own time with out it sounding like a lecture.
If your looking for a great place to start learning Parkour, I would recommend this book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
I found this book to be a wonderful insight into different aspects such as warm-ups, safety and the basic practices as Parkour and free running, the book it's self is an interesting read and has lot of facts and information on the art form and i would highly recommend it to every one who love the sport like i do.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
I really don't know how this could be any better. Explaining principles in crystal clear language, giving a concise introduction to the history and spirit of the art and showing ultra-clear diagrams of the individual moves, this is an absolutely perfect introduction to the art of parkour.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
The book covers all basic aspects of the disciplines of Parkour and Freerunning, how to get into the right mindset, how to structure your training, breakdown of basic skills and how to progress. Advanced aspects such as nutrition and science are excluded from the book so it is geared up for beginners primarily, that said, even those with years of experience in the disciplines should have a glance at it. Most importantly, its writer and collaborators are possibly the single most trustworthy and credible source for the study and practice of Parkour and Freerunning, that have strong connections with the original founders of the disciplines such as Sebastian Foucan, William and David Belle and the Yamakasi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)