Customer Reviews


168 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional read
I'm not a lover of books that are 500+ pages long so when I first received this book I was a little put off. After reading the first few pages though I was gripped and couldn't put it down. At a very early age, Branson seemed to have that drive that has stayed with him and has made him what he is. His lifestyle in the early days is not what you imagine and he has had his...
Published on 25 July 2002 by Mr Dewi Jones

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read but too worthy at the end...
I'm a bit of a junky when it comes to biographies, especially ones concerning business or politics. This book did not disappoint. For a Virgin virgin this book is a really interesting insight into the creation of the Branson Empire.

My only negative is that the last quarter really bored me. The business bit is so much more intersting than hearing about how he's...
Published on 31 Aug 2012 by Adam Lake


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional read, 25 July 2002
By 
I'm not a lover of books that are 500+ pages long so when I first received this book I was a little put off. After reading the first few pages though I was gripped and couldn't put it down. At a very early age, Branson seemed to have that drive that has stayed with him and has made him what he is. His lifestyle in the early days is not what you imagine and he has had his fair share of bad luck. The book takes you step by step through his life up until he is 40. He is a very likeable, genuine and considerate man and he seems to be into everything, literally!. If you think being dislexic might set you back, think again. I admired Branson's drive and enthusiasm before I read this book, now it's got me hooked and I want to find out more about him. A totally gripping book start to finish and this is the first book that I can honestly say that I couldn't put down. It has my recommendation and if I had the chance of working with him I'd jump at it ! Brilliant - well worth a buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guts and determination and a living legend!, 8 Oct 2003
By 
M. O'connor (Darlington United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Trust me, this book is highly informative and very interesting. Branson is a determined and corageous man who believed in something and achieved it. He worked hard for success and his background had nothing to do with it. I certainly don't remember a part in the book which refers to him getting anything on a plate.
The disgraceful behaviour of British Airways towards Vigin Air is riveting reading. I bet most readers would question whether they would fly BA again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read but too worthy at the end..., 31 Aug 2012
I'm a bit of a junky when it comes to biographies, especially ones concerning business or politics. This book did not disappoint. For a Virgin virgin this book is a really interesting insight into the creation of the Branson Empire.

My only negative is that the last quarter really bored me. The business bit is so much more intersting than hearing about how he's trying to save the world, cure disease and stop global warming. Less candid and more dreamy.

All in all though very happy to recommend what has been a really good read on the whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Down to Earth and Inspirational, 27 April 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book catalogues a series of truly impressive achievements, but does so in a very down to earth way. At no point do you feel that Branson is exaggerating his input into any of Virgin's achievements - credit is given where it's due, and blame accepted where appropriate.

Through understanding what has gone on behind the scenes in Branson's life, it becomes clear that this hasn't all been an easy ride, nor has anything been handed to this man on a plate. He and his fellow workers have built the Virgin empire through hard work, a lot of forward thinking, learning vital lessons from big mistakes, and by never being afraid that they might have to pick themselves and start over after a big fall.

If you're looking for a bit of inspiration, whether you're a business-head or a regular Joe, there will be something for you here. Branson's determination and enthusiasm in both his business and personal life are inspiring, but it's nice to know he's not completely perfect; really he's just like the rest of us, just a little more daring (and at times, one might suggest - daft?!)

I look forward to reading about the next ten years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and interesting autobiography of Richard Branson adventures, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Losing My Virginity (Paperback)
‘Losing My Virginity’ by Richard Branson is an autobiography of this prominent businessman who thanks to his unique philosophy succeeded in everything he touched turn into a successful business, even managing to enter into the Guinness Book of World Records due to his passionate love for ballooning.

When Richard Branson together with his friends decided to start his first business, they agreed that since they are complete virgins at doing business, they should call themselves like that. Lot of time passed since then, and in meantime inside his business empire called Virgin Group more than 400 companies are incorporated dealing with all possible kinds of business ventures such as publishing, record business, transport companies, health care, telecommunications, tourism, food and beverages.

Since his beginnings Branson had a different philosophy and views on business management - he wanted to be globally present, and yet not to be a slave to rigid forms of business, avoiding the bureaucracy, hierarchy, centralization, and encourage innovation, entrepreneurship, creativity and ideas that seemed difficult or impossible to achieve.

In his book, that is quite extensive and filled with many interesting stories, just like his life, ordered in a chronological order, reader enjoys from the beginning to the end, while even those readers who may not be familiar with his life or conglomerate which he established will become interested for his story at very beginning of the book.

During the reading you’ll realize in many ways that Branson is British, rather than coming from another culture, he reveals his honesty, courage and passion for business, but still he is unobtrusive, not blatant and doesn’t put himself in the center, although anyone who listened or watched him can see him as synonym for the new age of entrepreneurship, that is unfortunately still not so common.

The book was written in entertaining style, full of humor that makes it easy to read and interesting even for the people that are not interested in the business part of the story at all; therefore reader should not need to be scared by book thickness because due to the interesting topics from the past that Branson vividly evokes the pages literally go one after another. I read somewhere funny comment about the book – It’s heavy but impossible to put down – and I fully agree with that.

As a great add-on that makes this book even more recommended is more than 100 photos that can be found on the pages of the book, both black and white and in color, which nicely complement to the topics of the author’s story.

The end of story is really a great conclusion when Branson having done everything that could be done on Earth, wants to go a step further and help mankind to travel into space.

‘Losing My Virginity’ is a book that everyone young in age or business experience should read because of plenty of ideas offered on its pages, but primarily interesting are the author’s reflections which are invaluable and provide a lot to think about. Therefore this inspiring and interesting autobiography of Richard Branson adventures can certainly be recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An insight into the business and personal life of a great entrepreneur, 24 Jun 2006
By 
Paz (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
A very enjoyable read, charting the highs and lows of Richard Branson's business and personal life from his beginnings at Student magazine to the hugely successful Virgin Group of today.

Those expecting his philosophy on successful entrepreneurship to be covered in detail may be disappointed, however it still makes very interesting reading - leaving the reader with a good understanding of his business style and his true passions in life.

One of the better autobiographies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly readable, 12 Mar 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is the highly readable account of Branson's life and business ventures to date. He comes across as extremely personable and honest, with a great deal of integrity. His battles with BA make fascinating reading and his various balloon flights and other 'extreme' sports adventures make for exciting interludes to his business life. The picture plates are also very clear and give a good cross section of his life. This is so easy to read and thoroughly engrossing, once you start reading, you can't stop and you're left with high respect for a British business role model.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book from a outstanding guy!, 4 Jan 2008
By 
A very pleasant read with loads of funny stories and inside of the man behind Virgin. It is clear that he came from a priviledged background! not money wise but having wonderful, loving, supportive and warm parents. It's sometimes hard to believe the stories of his parents but it would account for his success in personal and business endeavors. His parents gave him unconditional love and support and that is what "gave" him a great foundation to start with. It gave me another boost to believe that anything is possible for anybody in this world, you do have to work for it! Most people are too lazy and not do what he has done to get where he is now. Again a brilliant book from a great person! very inspiring, very motivating and funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best autobiography ever!!!!, 17 Feb 2004
By 
D. Simons "collectauctionamazon" (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I work for an airline and so could see what Richard Branson was saying later on in the book. This man is a genius. This book could almost be a medical book for anyone going out into business or already in business. After reading this book I was left totally inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected Pleasure, 11 Dec 2014
By 
J. Davies (Bristol, Avon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Losing My Virginity (Paperback)
Richard Branson is one of those public figures that you can't help but hear a lot about. Whether it's from an expansion of the Virgin group in some form or in his explorative endeavours, he's someone that you would have heard of. What is less heard of, or rather what I hadn't known about him, was his early life and the early life of Virgin from the days of Student onwards. For me, the first half of the book was incredibly fascinating as he charmingly charted his rise from the basement of his friend's parents' London house into a tomb where he briefly parted ways with his partner. It seems as though Branson became successful by sheer force of his magpie mind that leapt from one venture to the next and it's easy to see why his partners were hesitant about certain steps - such as creating Virgin Atlantic.

He comes across as funny, clever, incredibly hard working but, most of all, joyful. If I only had one word to describe Branson, it would be joyful. He takes great pleasure in life and in doing what hasn't been done before and the book, particularly the first half, reflects that.

The second half takes a different tone but that reflects his change in age, his children growing up and his businesses maturing. It takes a more political bent that I found quite interesting but none more so than his discussion on the environment and the efforts that he is making to help make Virgin more environmentally friendly. There is, occasionally, the odd bit of name dropping that feels a bit jarring whilst reading but, overall, this is a really interesting book and I would definitely recommend it to anyone with even a passing interest in underdog stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Losing My Virginity
Losing My Virginity by Sir Richard Branson (Paperback - 7 May 2009)
£8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews