Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James' long Hunt for happiness
Since James Hunts' sudden and untimely death in June 1993 I held certain beliefs and opinions of him, his career and his relationships.
The author of the book, Gerald Donaldson, dispelled some of these opinions through his excellent work.
James will always be a personal hero for me, it was he and the Hesketh team who attracted me to F1 (in the exiting days), his...
Published on 9 Aug 2004 by Philip L. Widdowson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad.
Very boring in the first half if you are not a racing fan. Got a lot better half way through as it was more about his personal life.
Published 6 months ago by kay kerr


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James' long Hunt for happiness, 9 Aug 2004
By 
Philip L. Widdowson (West Hagley, Worcestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Since James Hunts' sudden and untimely death in June 1993 I held certain beliefs and opinions of him, his career and his relationships.
The author of the book, Gerald Donaldson, dispelled some of these opinions through his excellent work.
James will always be a personal hero for me, it was he and the Hesketh team who attracted me to F1 (in the exiting days), his talent was not lost in the commentary box with Murray Walker - he will never be replaced.
How can a man adored by so many live for so long without true love?
When he finally found a true love in Helen Dyson, he was taken from her and us.
Thankyou Gerald Donaldson for this work - truely an excellent and evoking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hunt, Reviewed, 1 April 2003
By A Customer
A thoroughly well-written account of the life and times of a man who brought pop-star fame to a sport previously seen as the domain of stoic gentlemen. The book goes into exceptional detail when looking back over James Hunt's career as a public-school eduacted loner who found himself the subject of mass adulation. The racing side of Hunt's colourful life is superbly dealt with, but I felt that some of the juicier details of the extra-curricular activities that also made Hunt such an interesting character are just alluded in a way that suggests that the author feels embarrassed, or that they could tarnish the image of the subject. To me, these extra stories would further enhance the reputation of a man who was a great racer, but above all one hell of a great lad!
This minor criticism however, should not dissuade any fan of Formula 1 from reading more about a fantastic character who lived through a time when racing was racing and drivers could be cavaliers on the track and off it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-written, interesting account of Hunt's life, 3 Oct 2005
By A Customer
Having also read the author's excellent biography of Gilles Villeneuve I was eager to get my hands on this book. Once again, I was not disappointed.
Donaldson attempts to explore all sides of Hunt's character through the different stages of his development, and succeeds in producing a well-written account of the legend's life. He achieves a good balance between the kind of factual reporting of the driver's career which is available elsewhere, and a probing insight into the complex nature of the man. It is the latter which will probably appeal more to most readers, and the author does a decent job of bringing together the many diverse recollections of those who were close to the subject.
If I have one criticism it is levelled at the publishers, who have left this edition littered with too many small and annoying printing errors. Don't let this put you off though: this book will appeal to anyone who enjoys a colourful story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure to read, 25 Sep 2012
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Hunt: The Biography (Paperback)
I have never been a very big Grand Prix fan but as a child of the 70s, James Hunt (and of course Barry Sheene) was a playboy icon and seemed, certainly to me as a young lad, to be the epitome of glamour ,with a life full of speed, Martini cocktails, girls, danger and controversy.
So,reading the story of James Hunt after all these years was something of a revelation. There was glamour, there were girls , there were thrills and spills but also downs, and very severe downs they were too. Hunt was, as is usually the case,a far more of a complex personality than the public persona suggested and the author explores his character in a sensitive but honest and open fashion.
I found this book to be an enthralling,enlightening, exciting and fascinating read. The thrill and glamour of the races, the determination of the drivers (not just James), the intrigue between F1 racing teams (notably it seems, Ferrari), and of course the ladies, contrasts with the sadness of marriage breakdown, the on set of depression and a sense of loss and isolation but then positivity and redemption through his children.
I came away with not only a new found respect for James Hunt as a driver and as a person but also for F1 drivers in general. A book that's a must for any sports fan,or for those who still wish they could have been just (or even a little bit) like, Hunt the Shunt.
Legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Hunt awsome bibliography, 12 Feb 2008
By 
Ferreira Pinto (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The author describes the life of a man,hated by some , but imortalised by his friends ,and by people who knew him by his achievements as a professional racing driver , and as careful human being devoted to his sons and dogs !
Well writen , intense and detailed description of his life ,in two words , an outstanding book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thorough and addictive autobigraphy, 19 Jan 2004
If you want to know the full truth about the life and times of James Hunt, this is the book to purchase. It goes into tremendous detail about all aspects of his life, without fear or favour. Well-written and comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Racer, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Hunt: The Biography (Paperback)
When racing drivers where real racers with no assistance from technology. A guy with such charisma and who lived the life and who did what many people are afraid to do and speak your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Hunt: The Biography (Paperback)
This book is a superb read - if you have any insight into F1 and really want to get a feel of what it was like both on and off the track then this is a must read....well worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a rush, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this biography after seeing the film Rush about the 1976 world championship but I wanted to know more about the character of James Hunt. This book delivers in spades and I could not put it down. I am not a grand prix fan but this book has made me an unlikely convert. It captures not only the essence of what made a great and unconventional man tick but for those of us who knew little about formula 1 racing it opens up a whole n new world. I totally respect the drivers and applaud their commitment in the face of such dangers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Hunt: The Biography (Paperback)
I bought this book for my husband and he could not put it down excellent read. Would recommend this to all James Hunt fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa6bd75c)

This product

James Hunt: The Biography
James Hunt: The Biography by Gerald Donaldson (Paperback - 2 April 2009)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews