Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings another light onto the Everest Rescue theories
For those that have watched the Discovery Everest Series 1 DVDs, this book brings to light a lot events that occured and not shown by the documentary. However, more importantly, it adds context to the 2006 North East Ridge Everest year and some of the accounts are quite grim if not extremely worrying. I have to admit that the opening chapter really does bring home the...
Published on 30 Aug 2010 by Mr. I. Roberts

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thin on detail
Don't get me wrong- this is a good read and actually quite a page turner. (I read it comfortably in a weekend). If like me you are fascinated by all things 'Everest' you won't be too disappointed but like some of the other reviewers I rather lost faith when I realised the author wasn't even there on the mountain! No matter how good the story - it rather loses credibility...
Published on 24 May 2011 by Gapmax


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, impossible to put down, 28 Sep 2008
This is a well written account of an amazing year on Everest but climbing the highest peak on the planet is only half of it. This book opens the door into the darkest recesses of the human mind and shows the extraordinary determination, mental strength and overriding will to survive that we as humans are capable of. Perhaps strange but it made me want to climb a mountain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 6 Aug 2011
By 
S. Lewis "Sash" (Belgique) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Summit: The Extraordinary True Story of Everest's Most Controversial Season (Paperback)
This is a very clear, fair-minded account of the multiple deaths on Everest in 2006. It's presented as if it sets out to be sensational and shocking, but that isn't at all the case. Heil describes what happened simply and precisely. His book makes it very easy to understand how disasters of this kind can happen even to skilled mountaineers, but without trying to blame or judge. One very pleasant surprise is that Heil is an exceptionally good, literate writer - the book is far better written than many academic publications it's my misfortune to read. All in all, a book to recommend both to climbers and to those who, like me, would never set foot on a mountain but are interested in how humans behave in extreme situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 15 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read a few climbing books I bought this one on the basis of the reviews hoping for another gripping account. Whilst it is a reasonably good read, there was none of the excitement, inner thoughts, self doubt and endurance of other books I've read. The aim seemed to be more about speculating on blame for the deaths during that season and logistics of organising a trip and so, for me, not very interesting.

If you're looking for a book that takes you onto the mountain and gives you a peek into the whole experience go for Facing Up or No Way Down instead. They are both cracking reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Summit: The Extraordinary True Story of Everest's Most Controversial Season (Paperback)
Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Summit: The Extraordinary True Story of Everest's Most Controversial Season (Paperback)
Brilliant read, I don't wan't to say, "been there, done it" but used to be in the mountain rescue services, can relate to big time to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really well written account of a tragic tale., 18 May 2014
By 
M. A. Reeves - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Summit: The Extraordinary True Story of Everest's Most Controversial Season (Paperback)
To some this will be a shocking story of how climbers stepped over the dead and the dying to stand on top of a mountain. Summit fever? Lack of humanity and compassion for fellow human being? You decide. What would you have done? In the death zone you are already dead.

This book really makes you think....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark Summit, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book made me want to read more on the whole subject of high altitude mountain climbing, the people who do it and the risks they take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars we'll researched, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bit too much detail on the death in the middle otherwise very good clearly lots of research has gone in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has to be one of the greatest mountaineering books out there, I absolutely loved its honesty and the whole debate about the morality of mountaineering, a definite must if you love the mountains and high altitude, whether its reading about it or doing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible stories, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this because I am fascinated by mountain climbing stories with high risk, tragic components. This is certainly that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Summit: The Extraordinary True Story of Everest's Most Controversial Season
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews