Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Good dirty fun!
I enjoyed the first book, but commented on the matter of fact way a lot of the sex scenes were written. Of course, it's an erotic memoir as opposed to a fictional novel, but still I didn't find it particularly horny. This book, however, has changed my mind. I'm not sure if it was done intentionally, but this book feels a lot more intimate - like Portnoy is telling us the...
Published on 28 Oct. 2009 by Lucy Felthouse

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Porn or erotica?
Either way, this is it. It details the sexual exploits of a late 40's mum of 2. A decade or two ago this would have been 'racy' or even 'outrageous' but today its good, old fashioned soft porn. Credit to Ms Portnoy's frankness and openness but, like most current sex bloggers (Abby Lee for example), the novelty has worn off.

Take away the...
Published on 18 Mar. 2008 by st_files


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Porn or erotica?, 18 Mar. 2008
This review is from: The Not So Invisible Woman (Paperback)
Either way, this is it. It details the sexual exploits of a late 40's mum of 2. A decade or two ago this would have been 'racy' or even 'outrageous' but today its good, old fashioned soft porn. Credit to Ms Portnoy's frankness and openness but, like most current sex bloggers (Abby Lee for example), the novelty has worn off.

Take away the oh-my-god-she's-a-mum-of-two factor and what you are left with is a list of expolits of a modern swinger. There's nothing liberating here and despite her protestations you get the distinct feeling that she isnt very happy. Its a good non challenging read for anyone who's lived a sheltered life or who wants some cheap vicarious thrills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 31 Mar. 2008
This review is from: The Not So Invisible Woman (Paperback)
I really liked Suzanne's first book, `The Butcher, The Baker, The Candlestick Maker', but this book seems very repetative with many of the stories re-told.

Disappointing - buy the first book but give this a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener!, 16 Feb. 2008
This review is from: The Not So Invisible Woman (Paperback)
This booked isn't for the fainthearted or the shy.

Its addictive, witty and honest and gives a graphic account of the sexual encounters of a successful woman who is balancing her life between parenthood, business and her very active love life.

Its refreshing in what is still perceived as a male dominated world, to read that a woman is taking control of her sex life, making the most of it and getting exactly what she wants.

Good for her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good dirty fun!, 28 Oct. 2009
By 
Lucy Felthouse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Not So Invisible Woman (Paperback)
I enjoyed the first book, but commented on the matter of fact way a lot of the sex scenes were written. Of course, it's an erotic memoir as opposed to a fictional novel, but still I didn't find it particularly horny. This book, however, has changed my mind. I'm not sure if it was done intentionally, but this book feels a lot more intimate - like Portnoy is telling us the story because she wants to make us horny, rather than just because she feels like it. The sex scenes seem to have more erotic descriptions, and they draw you in.

The tale is more of the same - our beloved Suzanne getting up to no good with men from all walks of life. And, quite rightly, she doesn't care what anyone else thinks. She works hard and looks after her kids well, why shouldn't she play hard? Nobody is getting hurt. Portnoy is honest about what she wants and is practising safe sex - so I say go for it!

The not-so-small matter of Mr. Right crops up again in this book, but to find out whether or not she finds him, you'll just have to read it, won't you?

Overall, my comment is if you've read and enjoyed the first book, this is a no-brainer. If you weren't keen on the first, still give this one a go. The writing is more polished, the narrative more involving and it makes me want to read more. Well done Suzanne!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A cracking good read, written by a pioneering sexual adventurer, 21 Feb. 2008
By 
Tania Glyde (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Not So Invisible Woman (Paperback)
Suzanne Portnoy has the kind of sexual adventures most people, male and female, only dream about, and her second memoir takes things to another level. But this isn't some Hollywood fantasy. I've known her for several years, and this 45-year-old businesswoman and single mother is living proof that anyone who wants a sex life like hers can have it if they really want to.

This book - whose backdrops range from a naturist sauna to backstage at a fetish party to a Travelodge at Heathrow, to name only a few of them - is guaranteed to turn you on. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review from an Erotic Novelist in the making, 18 Mar. 2008
By 
C. Thorpe (London Female) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Not So Invisible Woman (Paperback)
This book is mouthwateringly addictive! It has wit, intelligence and pure erotic sexual encounters...what more can a woman want?

Suzanne Portnoy is fantastic! I have read both of her books and she is a blessing to women around the world who want a grippingly sexy read!

If you ever read two books in your life make sure it's these ones!

Pure genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Girlfriend Experience says - she's a sex maniac! :), 21 July 2010
This review is from: The Not So Invisible Woman (Paperback)
The Not so Invisible Woman...

This is a sample book I was given from Virgin, so I'm not sure if this was changed on publication. I haven't read the first book so I'm not sure how this leads on.

Firstly the positives, Suzanne writes with great wit and her writing style is easy to read. What I like about Suzanne is that she exudes independence, and is a modern woman. She enjoys sex and she's not afraid or ashamed to say what she wants and go out and get it. In some ways I'm rather envious.

Many ladies would find this a great holiday read, if they like the `sex exploits' kind of books.... Girl With a One Track Mind, Confessions of a Working Girl etc...

Personally I found it slow to get into and it's taken me about 3 weeks for me to read, which is not usual for me for such a small book. But I reiterate, that's just me, others may find it `unputdownable'.

Towards the end it picked up for me. From a personal view; I think it was because I could relate to her experiences and things she said rang true with me, `I realised that he defined me by my book and blog, which he told me he read daily, and not by who I was. I was an author, or a character, and not a woman.' As an ex escort having written my autobiography, I understood exactly what she meant by this, when you have people that you meet that go out and buy your book and how they prejudge or discount and/or change their opinions of you.

And also her friend `Pat suggested that, if I was going to meet him, I omit certain details of my life. `You don't want to tell him about your book,' she'd said. `Better for them to find out on date 4 or 5, so it gives them a chance to find out about the real you.'

It's a dilemma I can relate to because I've had it myself for men I have dated since being published.

From reading the book I genuinely like the author, but for me I found the subject of sex dull and monotonous. I don't know if this was because I worked previously as an escort and sex with strangers has lost its appeal.

It is in effect just a horny woman whose quest for sex takes over her life, and I couldn't help but wonder if her obsession was slightly out of control, and I felt sad that there wasn't anything else in her life exciting enough to write about. The book for me personally lacked depth. Surely Suzanne has more about her than sex stories? I wanted to know more about her outside of her sex life. I don't know if this was covered in the first book? Maybe it's written that way because that's what the majority of people want to read and I'm somewhat an anomaly. I like to know why, how, who....

I really don't like to be critical because I know how hard it is to write a book, and that's why I'd say that others should read it, because just because it's not my cup of tea so to speak, doesn't mean it won't be others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this writer, 21 Mar. 2008
By 
This review is from: The Not So Invisible Woman (Paperback)
If you enjoyed Suzanne's first book, `The Butcher, The Baker, The Candlestick Maker', then you will love this book too. If you haven't read it then go and buy both of them together.
Its funny, heartwarming and I read the whole thing cover to cover in two days. Suzanne shares the kind of experinces and life lessons that we don't all get to live but would maybe like too.... 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Not So Invisible Woman
The Not So Invisible Woman by Suzanne Portnoy (Paperback - 7 Feb. 2008)
£6.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews