Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best collection
I have read (as far as I know) all of Bukowski's stuff. I love a few of the poems but a lot of them drift over me. It is with the stories that he has won me over. All the novels (especially Post Office and Ham on Rye) are wonderful, but his writing is best suited to short stories (and I would say the novels Factotum and Women, great as they are, are basically a...
Published on 20 Oct 2005 by Biffer Spice

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Nasty
Pornographic, badly written by a carefree Bukowski. Elements were okay, but I couldn’t read it all because it was repetitive, filled with anger of the same kind throughout. This is nothing clever, unlike his other books Eg Women, Ham on Rye and Post Office
Published 5 months ago by James Frankland


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best collection, 20 Oct 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read (as far as I know) all of Bukowski's stuff. I love a few of the poems but a lot of them drift over me. It is with the stories that he has won me over. All the novels (especially Post Office and Ham on Rye) are wonderful, but his writing is best suited to short stories (and I would say the novels Factotum and Women, great as they are, are basically a novelised series of short stories...) The best collections of short stories are The Most Beautiful Woman In Town and this one, with this one the more consistent. There are examples of the short story in this book that I firmly believe could not be bettered, enough to make you put the book down for a minute, just to think about what you've read, and just marvel at the sheer word-economical perfection, and how his incredible turn of phrase can sum up inner thoughts and philosophies with a paucity of words. As long as you're not easily offended, there is plenty here to blow you away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anything but Ordinary, 3 Oct 2000
By A Customer
In TALES OF ORDINARY MADNESS Charles Bukowski does what very few can. He finds the poetry in real people who live miserable lives in miserable conditions, mostly by their own doing. There is very little to recommend in these characters. Like Bukowski, most of them are unemployed drunks, dirty old men, sexual degenerates, and morally stripped souls. They form a subculture that perpetuates and sustains itself as long as the liquor keeps flowing (and it does), the women keep giving (and they do ... and do), and the men continue indulging (and they do ... and do ... and do). And yet, the reader is transfixed. For better or worse (usually worse), the reader chooses to enter Bukowski's world, takes a perverse delight in the goings-on, lingers and tarries, knowing that he or she can escape from the pits of hell at will, revisiting when the urge strikes. Better yet, there is no hangover in the morning. TALES OF ORDINARY MADNESS is a collection of short stories, united by themes of desperation, loneliness, dead-end jobs, sexual perversion, and a need for real connection in an alienated, disturbed world. In these stories there is truly something of the profane and sacred, irreverent and holy, indifferent and feeling. The stories stay with one long after the reading is over. Bukowski's writing style is as nonconforming as his person. He doesn't always adhere to the rules of syntax, but this only serves to visibly, or tangibly, underscore the more abstract originality of the stories and situations themselves. Bukowski isn't for everyone. The writing is fierce, sexually explicit, unforgiving, and yet so totally true to the characters and their lives that it never seems overdone, affected, false. Through his words, Bukowski manages to transform the ordinary into something great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I consider this book a psychic litmus test., 3 Mar 1999
By A Customer
I recently loaned this book to my girlfriend. I haven't gotten a review from her yet, but if she likes it, I just may marry her. This is the best of all of Bukowski's great works. The words are so powerful and prophetic they have driven me to drink on several occasions. This book illustrates Bukowski in his best medium, the short story. A .45 To Pay the Rent is beautiful, and Animal Crackers in my Soup blew me away. READ THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bukowski At One Of His Best., 26 Mar 1998
By A Customer
Here is one of those wacky collection of stories from the master of the street-printed word.Described in explicit detail are the honest remarks of a man insistently wounded by life & himself but still manages to gulp that last pint of strength to get through another day.The common themes of drunkenness,women,sex,bad jobs,bad apartments & roominghouses,scathingly biting attacks at society equaled with moving ones of tenderness etc.(mirrors of his life)are blurted in stabbing narrtives of world weary wisdom that makes the downtrodden character seem better off than anyone else.And theres even a modern take on the supernatural in the last tale.The quality of Hank's writing in this is him at his peak,showing the work of a man inspired compared to the mellow superficial tones of boredom that dopminate his last works.Modern society has never really had a poet to really call it's own;& in this book,together with his best,Hank stakes claim to his throne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tales of ordinary madness, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Ordinary Madness (Paperback)
purchased as a present and he is very pleased with it arrived quickly and the packaging was perfect so all fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the perfect 5/5 Charlie, 20 Oct 2013
This review is from: Tales of Ordinary Madness (Paperback)
A nice collection of stories between reality and fantasy. I really enjoyed some stories, while some one else bored me a bit.
The godo thing about Bukowski is that he's not lengthy - sometimes he's always too much concise.
A good book in the sum, 4 stars imho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why We Love Hank, 23 Aug 2013
This review is from: Tales of Ordinary Madness (Paperback)
There's a richness to old Hank's flirtations with insanity on the edges of skid row. Some of the short stories contained are the manic old man at his absolute best, some are so chaotic and dense that the true value will only be unearthed with multiple readings and others are written for magazines for money. He's a writer unlike any other, polarising sure but intense. He feels every word and doesn't just ponce around in the shallow waters of fashionable genres like so many writers who got/get fat and rich and lazy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Nasty, 28 July 2014
This review is from: Tales of Ordinary Madness (Paperback)
Pornographic, badly written by a carefree Bukowski. Elements were okay, but I couldn’t read it all because it was repetitive, filled with anger of the same kind throughout. This is nothing clever, unlike his other books Eg Women, Ham on Rye and Post Office
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bitter-sweet, 20 Oct 2014
By 
B. Potter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A champion book, though you best not be expecting the cover that is advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rip-roaring madness, 13 Feb 2000
By A Customer
The moment where our hero Hank meet's the zen master is a rich delicacy to be taken only on a belly full of hard drink good god this is one of the funniest chapters ever written by man or beast hats off to the german swine charles bukowski for making me roar and bawl like a beaten child .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales of Ordinary Madness
Tales of Ordinary Madness by Charles Bukowski (Paperback - 7 Feb 2008)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews