Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was worth the money
This book has the underline - a study in the psychology of violence - which I would like to point out for starters.
For those of you who want to know more about the actual psychology behind serial killers, this is the book to read! It's a great book, but the authors still seem to be more interested in all the gory details. But it also describes different syndromes...
Published on 14 Dec 2000

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down
I was disappointed in this book because I was looking for much more in the way of psychology rather than just written descriptions of fairly well known cases (well I'd heard of many of them). There was some interesting stuff in the book, but by the end I thought a lot of it was padded out with just descriptions of crimes and this made me think "Maybe there isn't that much...
Published on 26 Aug 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down, 26 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serial Killers: A Study in the Psychology of Violence (Paperback)
I was disappointed in this book because I was looking for much more in the way of psychology rather than just written descriptions of fairly well known cases (well I'd heard of many of them). There was some interesting stuff in the book, but by the end I thought a lot of it was padded out with just descriptions of crimes and this made me think "Maybe there isn't that much to profiling these killers and the National Centre for the Analysis of Violent Crime just contains a big white board with "White male + head injury + interested in porn + absent father = possible serial killer" scrawled on it. :) (Anyway, just ordered another book to find out. There must be more intricate detail to find out about these people, not just what they did.)

The book also needed editing in another way. For instance, the chapter on 'murderers that have accomplices' had only just got under way when I found myself reading a description of a killer who worked alone. What was the point of that? The rest of the book was littered with killers working alone, this section was supposed to be about dual killers. Some one needs to cut and paste this part to another chapter. (I think this 'going off point' happened a lot.)

Lastly the updated section was very disappointing. Even less psychology the original book - Harold Shipman features in the bumph on the back cover, but all they do is describe his crimes and make a very superficial summary that he may have done it `because his mother died of cancer.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was worth the money, 14 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This book has the underline - a study in the psychology of violence - which I would like to point out for starters.
For those of you who want to know more about the actual psychology behind serial killers, this is the book to read! It's a great book, but the authors still seem to be more interested in all the gory details. But it also describes different syndromes and behavioural patterns, which I find really interesting. I would have given this book five stars if it wasn't for all the gory stuff, that I can manage without. Still, maybe it is necessary to include it, in order to accurately describe why the killers did what they did. Nevertheless, it's a good book and worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of interest but not the psychology I'd hoped for, 11 May 2001
By 
duncan.williamson@tesco.net (A Brit in Tbilisi, Georgia) - See all my reviews
Like the book Legal Blunders, this is another book that you can read from cover to cover or just dip into as you wish. I dipped it!
Firstly, I found the stories in this book interesting and revealing: there were crimes here that I did not know about before I read the book and there were crimes that I did know of but I learned more from the book.
However, given that my focus was the psychological aspect of the book, I was disappointed. The book is structured according to a variety of classifications such as sex crimes, the profile of a serial killer, the Jekyll and Hyde Syndrome and so on; but I didn't get enough of the psychology out of it that was promised.
I have reviewed books on such murderers as Harold Shipman, the murdering GP from England in which I called for greater insights into the psychology of such people: I really want to know what makes them tick.
As with Legal Blunders, The Serial Killers is a mutli national book in that we are treated to evil people from all over the place. The Fred and Rosemary West utter depravity are documented in greater detail than I have read before: as one comedian in the UK once asked, "How do we breed these people?" Not funny is it? They were perverted people to the nth degree and I can only hope that there like cannot exist again.
The story of Brady and Hindley, the Moors Murderers, gets no easier in the telling; and don't forget that there is still one poor child, tortured and killed by these evil people, still lying unfound out there on Saddleworth Moor: his parents and the rest of his family desperately want the boy home. Brady and Hindley were as evil as the Wests and are rotting in jail as they ought to do.
I'm sure everyone who reads this book will raise an eyebrow or two at the case of the 'girl in the box' who was abducted and then kept 'prisoner' for SEVEN years or so. In the middle of the case, though, the girl was allowed out to work, to shop and even to go home ... definitely spooky given that her captor abused her, beat her and goodness knows what else.
Definitely readable, definitely interesting, but some of the stories are just terrible: what one person can do to another beggars belief. If you are looking for psychology, you will find some here and may be partly satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy on case facts, 9 July 2011
By 
L. Davidson (Trondheim, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Serial Killers: A Study in the Psychology of Violence (Paperback)
Although this book is a bit dated (originally published in 1990, this is the updated 2007 version) it is a very interesting read. The book can be slightly repetative in that it brings up the same points from the same cases (i some times felt i was even reading the same paragraph)over and over again. The book is very detailed but still brief on many of the serial killers we have all heard of. It does, however also include many cases from outside the UK and US which is refreshing.

One of the more interesting chapters was (chapter 3) about the profilers themselves and the way the Behavior Analysis Unit came to be. I thought this chapter helped to show how Psychology is used not only in finding out why these people did what they did, but also in helping to identify the "types" of people. I also found the "evolution of killing" and the comparison with Maslows needs theory very interesting.

All in all, I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the Psychology of serial killers and profiling.

(a word of caution.... some of the crime details are fairly graphic)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, 2 Aug 2009
By 
N. Whitehouse (Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Serial Killers: A Study in the Psychology of Violence (Paperback)
Wilson is an extremely good writer. His smooth and literate writing style remains readable despite the often horrific details recounted. His reports of the crimes are fully fleshed out and his accounts of the killer's lives are often enlightening. However, his accounts of the victims are, in most cases, thumbnails at best. Wilson's analysis leaves much to be desired and, for a crime writer and sometime occult researcher, Wilson is astoundingly prudish. He dwells on the sexual habits of some of his subjects in a way that suggests he sees their exploits as much more scandalising than they actually are and his views on homosexuality are just plain factually wrong.

In conclusion: Approach with caution. An excellent recounting of the details of the crimes but the analysis can be skimmed over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little too sensationalist, 21 Dec 2007
I found this book a little strange. Described as the story of how behavioural profiling developed in the FBI through the study of serial killers the book is a rather shocking litany of the work of those serial killers. While not quite glorifying in their achievements the sheer volume of graphic detail of their crimes contrasts with the lack of content concerning developments at the FBI making the book an uncomfortable read. The randomness of victim selection becomes scary when so many cases are detailed in one place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely insightful and interesting!, 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Serial Killers: A Study in the Psychology of Violence (Paperback)
Brilliant book! Extremely insightful and interesting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was disappointed by his study into the psychology of violence as it does not present much insight into the mind set and motivation of those that commit such heinous acts. This book is rather more of a potted criminal history of this with some international coverage but with its main focus on the United States. Not one of Colin Wilson's best.

Chris Allen is a Technical Author and writer with the following books available through Amazon:
The Beam of Interest: Taken by Storm
Hypnotic Tales 2013: Some Light Some Dark
Call of the Void: The Strange Life and Times of a Confused Person: 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars quick delivery, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serial Killers: A Study in the Psychology of Violence (Paperback)
A good read and very useful for the criminal psychology course l am studying for. Good reference book that l can use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good review of cases going back to Jack the Ripper., 18 Mar 2014
By 
Catherine Braine "Cat" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serial Killers: A Study in the Psychology of Violence (Paperback)
This book was very interesting and sparked my initial interest in forensic/criminal psychology. It has comprehensive reviews of the main cases over the past century and also goes into how these crimes have changed along with society. It does give some quite gruesome details so be prepared but it was definitely a good read and one I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Serial Killers: A Study in the Psychology of Violence
The Serial Killers: A Study in the Psychology of Violence by Donald Seaman (Paperback - 8 Nov 2007)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews