Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic inspiring read
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. One of the best autobiographies I have read all year. Beautifully written, fast paced and easy to follow - a real page turner.

This book deals with crack and heroin addiction and Rhea Coombs does not hide the true facts at how terrible and soul destroying an addict's life is. Rhea was not only an adict but a dealer as well and you can...
Published on 26 Dec 2007 by J. WALKER

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars my name is angel
this is a very slow book to get in to i`ve been trying for 2weeks now trying with all the other books i`ve read i`ve been able to get in to them straight away and in most cases not been able to put them down
Published on 4 Mar 2011 by tasha


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic inspiring read, 26 Dec 2007
By 
J. WALKER (YORKSHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Name Is Angel: A Traumatic True Story of Escaping the Streets and Building a New Life (Paperback)
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. One of the best autobiographies I have read all year. Beautifully written, fast paced and easy to follow - a real page turner.

This book deals with crack and heroin addiction and Rhea Coombs does not hide the true facts at how terrible and soul destroying an addict's life is. Rhea was not only an adict but a dealer as well and you can imagine the kind of people she dealt with. Rhea does not hide the fact that she turned to prostitution to pay for her drug habit and her memories of this time are truly heartbreaking. You feel genuine sorrow for the author when she describes the time she ran away from a relative's car and hid in the bushes when she realised her son was sitting in the back, she couldn't bear her son to see her in such a state.

Rhea should be applauded for her strength of character and sheer determination in tackling her withdrawal of drugs, She succeeded where many fail.

AWESOME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful account of street life., 29 Jan 2007
Rhea Coombs' story is an honest and real account of life as a street sex worker. Rhea describes her disrupted childhood and the craving for love and acceptance which led her into exploitative relationships with violent and abusive men. The story then starts to focus on her drug addiction and experiences of prostitution. Rhea exposes holes in a system, which by criminalizing street prostitution, just pushes those who are most vulnerable underground. Luckliy she had the strength to move away from this world and is now an accomplished women's worker in her own right, assisting the very women she used to sex work alongside.

Throughout the book I found Rhea to be incredibly fair and gracious towards others involved in her life, something you don't often encounter in books of this nature. She takes responsibility for her actions and does not allocate blame; even to those who consistently let her down and sometimes abused her in the most terrible ways.

The book is well written, brave, interesting and ultimately inspiring. It will be enjoyed by fans of gritty, true life stories but should also be read by drugs workers, social workers, magistrates, court officials, politicians, those studying women's issues and anyone else who may come into contact with women involved in street based prostitution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put this on the school curriculum, 11 Jan 2008
By 
I. Davis (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Name Is Angel: A Traumatic True Story of Escaping the Streets and Building a New Life (Paperback)
There are many lessons to be learned in the extraordinary book, I feel its honesty highlight the traps of addictions and violent relatioships that draw people in again and again. I think, if done well, it would make an amazing teenage television drama series. The only trouble is, it's so harrowing in places, would you really want to expose teenagers to the fact that some peoles lives can be so wretched at times. Quite amazing, I can't recommend it highly enough, although it did make me very angry at times to see how humans can treat one another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insight into a drug addicts lifestyle, 28 Sep 2007
By 
J. Kisseih (Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Name Is Angel: A Traumatic True Story of Escaping the Streets and Building a New Life (Paperback)
I agree Niki Tapp's review. A moving and thought provoking book. Helps you understand the mindset of drug addicts. I am glad Rhea finally sorted her life out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harowing, tragic but ultimately uplifting, 28 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: My Name Is Angel: A Traumatic True Story of Escaping the Streets and Building a New Life (Paperback)
A fascinating but at the same time harrowing page turner about life for drug addicts and prostitutes marginalized in society
Rhea Coombs in this tragic, heartbreaking, shocking but ultimately uplifting real life account tells of her life as the child of as hippy mother who longed for normality. And how her feelings of isolation led her into the world of crack and heroin addiction, a series of abusive relationships , and ultimately selling her own body to survive and score the drugs that became what seemed to be the only thing that could make life bearable for her.

She tells of her own torment and addiction, her rock bottom feelings of low self-worth, the ruthless dealing of the drug world and of the danger and suffering endured by prostitutes
Ultimately it was her love for her children and the discovery of a great strength in her soul that brought her though to completely drugs, leave the world of prostitution, reclaim her place in society . she works for a London based charity helping disadvantaged people including women involved in prostitution. In addition to have written this valuable highly recommended book that gives a glimpse into the lives of people addicted to drugs and women involved in prostitution.
She condemns the cruel and archaic laws criminalizing prostitution making the point that this only drives these women deeper underground and make it less possible for them to work away from this life. She points out that 'what is certain is that any woman who finds herself involved in prostitution out of desperate economic necessity or another has aright to be safe and protected and to have realistic exit routes out of prostitution.' she points out that 'none of us planned a career in prostitution and a variety of dire circumstances in our lives forced us to converge on the same dire spot underneath the rest of society'.

Prostitutes are human beings, often with bigger hearts than many saints and we can all learn to judge people who have been through so much less harshly and find some compassion. the answer is to ensure no women have to do this.A society is nothing if it does not put at the very heart of its policy considerations, the welfare of the vulnerable in society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-Boggling, 30 Jan 2008
Some of you may remember a book named 'Go Ask Alice', the diary of a teenage girl growing up in the 1960's, and her descent into a life of drugs and promiscuity. That was a grim read, but even that pales next to this, the life story of a woman who was addicted to Heroin and Crack, and worked as a prostitute in order to fund these addictions.

Angel's depression began in childhood, yet her childhood was not unpleasant, but unconventional. Her hippy mother would move from pillar to post, taking Angel with her. During these times, Angel would be exposed to 'soft' drugs such as Cannabis, and a couple of hallucinogens, but no addictive ones.

It was around the time of going to high school that Angel began smoking Cannabis heavily, and at the age of only fourteen, became involved with a man who encouraged her to prostitute herself, which she then did.

A very rapid downward slide follows; as the reader travels with Angel through some of the most horrifying experiences and hopelessness one could possibly imagine. Several destructive relationships are described, along with the birth of her son, and a relationship with a man who endangers the life of her son in unspeakably violent ways. At which point I felt two things towards Angel: firstly anger, that any woman could tolerate anyone harming their child in such a disgraceful way, and secondly, incredible sympathy, that any Mother should have to stand and watch their own son being physically abused.

Angel eventually flees from this relationship, has a daughter, and eventually befriends a crack addict who introduces her to crack. Angel becomes a Crack addict, and decides to hand the children over to their father and Grandmother, since she fears letting her children down.

The story then descends into a pit of mass drug consumption, relentless and fearless. Angel's insights into the mindset and outlook of a drug addict are something we should all learn from, to constantly remind ourselves just how quickly Class A drugs get a hold of someone and how easy it is to let an addiction spiral, whilst constantly living in denial that the drugs are helping in some way. A drug addict either has to come to terms with rehabiliating or resign themselves to certain death/complete destruction of their body. It's as simple as that.

Angel also describes her shocking and dangerous time as head of a Crack House, then her subsequent Heroin addiction, and eventual detox and reconciliation with her children.

There is a HUGE lesson to be learnt from Angel's story, that no matter how enjoyable drugs are at the time, that enjoyment will undoubtedly come at a terrible price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars my name is angel, 4 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Name Is Angel: A Traumatic True Story of Escaping the Streets and Building a New Life (Paperback)
this is a very slow book to get in to i`ve been trying for 2weeks now trying with all the other books i`ve read i`ve been able to get in to them straight away and in most cases not been able to put them down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Books, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Name Is Angel: A Traumatic True Story of Escaping the Streets and Building a New Life (Paperback)
Love reading and more so true to life, it is a very well written book and would recommend it to anyone who likes true to life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Name Is Angel: A Traumatic True Story of Escaping the Streets and Building a New Life (Paperback)
Angel the main character opens up bravely of her account, with drugs, prostitution and her yearning desire to turn her life around for the sake of her children. I won't say anymore.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Name Is Angel: A Traumatic True Story of Escaping the Streets and Building a New Life (Paperback)
i brought this as a gift and the person who has it has said they have enjoyed it so thats all i care about but was happy with it when it came so quick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews