Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, stylish, thoughtful and funny stuff!
Those of you who love well-considered musings on motoring, mechanical gadgetry, male middle age, and the design of all the stuff around us, will love James May. His regular column in the Daily Telegraph's Motoring section is a must-read, freeing him from the limitations of getting a word in edgeways in yet another of Jeremy Clarkson's increasingly egocentric rants...
Published on 15 April 2006 by What the Dickens

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Qick reads in a quiet room.
I bought this because I am a fan of James May and enjoy his gentle, understated style. The rating I gave reflects the fact that this is a collection of articles written over what appears to be quite a few years and simply put together with no real cohesion. In fact, James has clearly changed his opinions over the years on several topics. The articles are enjoyable and...
Published on 5 Mar. 2009 by JJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, stylish, thoughtful and funny stuff!, 15 April 2006
This review is from: May on Motors: On the Road with James May (Paperback)
Those of you who love well-considered musings on motoring, mechanical gadgetry, male middle age, and the design of all the stuff around us, will love James May. His regular column in the Daily Telegraph's Motoring section is a must-read, freeing him from the limitations of getting a word in edgeways in yet another of Jeremy Clarkson's increasingly egocentric rants.

James May's contribution is the perfect item for seated, solitary moments (if you follow me) but is not remotely dour or glum. His gentle, cerebral wit and deft, wodehousian turns of phrase make him one of the very best writers for the English-speaking chap.

A joy from start to finish...and recommended without reservation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May's life - with funny bits thrown in too, 4 May 2007
By 
David (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: May on Motors: On the Road with James May (Paperback)
A fantastic book and a great laugh. He writes about everything, from how his love of cars began to how American Hard Gums should make a comeback. Its full of subtle humor too, his sort of humor, funny humor. It will keep you hooked for hours, because once you get stuck into this book, you just want to see whats on the next page. If you like cars (or even if you don't) and like a good read (or even if you don't) then this is the book for you. I just hope he writes more, because this is a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for short sharp bursts of humour, 7 Dec. 2006
By 
Mr. K. J. Santi (South England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: May on Motors: On the Road with James May (Paperback)
James May's personality from Top gear is evident all the way through this collection of his newspaper columns over the last few years.

He is less angry than Clarkson, more worldy wise than Hammond and can cover the most unusual of subjects and link it to motoring with considerable ease.

A good read for those who enjoy motoring at a more relaxed and unstressfull pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun with Cars, 21 Aug. 2007
By 
Wyvernfriend (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: May on Motors: On the Road with James May (Paperback)
This book reads like James May sounds on Top Gear, in fact I could almost swear I could hear him speaking as I was reading. It's a series of articles he has written.

This book is mostly about cars, not surprisingly, but it's also about motorbikes, driving, his fellow presenters on Top Gear, about driving in foreign countries and about life in general. It's funny, irreverent, touching and wry and I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Top Toilet Read, 6 Aug. 2008
By 
Simon Hale (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: May on Motors: On the Road with James May (Paperback)
I must start off by saying that I love Top Gear, and if i were to admit to having a favourite presenter, it would be James May.
This book is made up of articles from James May's Daily Telegraph Column. they are thoughtful, funny and intelligently written, and because the book is made up of short articles, each one is a perfect length read for that essential 10 minutes of piece and quiet most men can only get in the smallest room.
It isnt a book I would neccessarily buy for a holiday, as unlike a novel, its not a gripping, cant put it down sort of book, because there is no plot, it does not develop to reveal 'who done it'. But saying that each entertaining bite size snippet of Mays view of life and motors makes up for that.I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read..., 28 Mar. 2006
By 
S. BARRATT "Currer Bell" (YORKSHIRE, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: May on Motors: On the Road with James May (Paperback)
Much humour abounds in James May's first book.
Its dedicated to his cat and is recommended best read on the loo by May.
Great read, buy if a May fan, you love cars and like a laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Sept. 2008
This review is from: May on Motors: On the Road with James May (Paperback)
I absolutely love Top Gear but this is the first time I have read anything written by May. I took it on holiday and it was a joy. I now feel like he is my mate from the pub. He is witty, intelligent and great company. I shall definitely be buying his other book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A hoot!, 21 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: May on Motors: On the Road with James May (Paperback)
If you like wordplay, irony, self deprecation, humour (but not of the laugh-or-I-shoot kind) etc. this is for you. Don't be afraid, it's not about cars really, although they do come into it a bit, but it's mostly about the slightly foggy, clumsy, man-in-shed kind of bachelor, in short, May himself and the many non-adventures in his life which, apart from a few trips to places like Iceland, isn't very eventful or adventurous. Which makes it all the more fun to read about his battles (of sorts) with tools, pets, officialdom, colleagues (you know who), vague friends, someone called 'woman' and yes, cars and motorcycles. Delightful, wordy and inventive entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James May with his usual style, character, and plain humour, 21 Aug. 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: May on Motors: On the Road with James May (Paperback)
(Amazon have a cheek. 1'm 12..."A Kid's Review"? Damn! Oh well. This book, then, is a compilation of May's unmissable columns.

It's a compilation of James May's life, but with all those funny bits left in. James manages to extract some humour from anything he looks at.
That curtain over there, by the way...hahaha! (If you're getting my drift).

If you want to take James May on holiday with you, then you're going to be disappointed. I doubt customs would let you past with him in your rucksack anyway.

But don't despair! You can still take him on holiday if you want.

In paperback.

- 5 star *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing enough, but outstayed its welcome, 11 July 2013
This review is from: May on Motors: On the Road with James May (Paperback)
May has perfected an amiably blokeish 'tell it like it is' TV personality through Top Gear and innumerable spinoffs. I was quite surprised though how amusing and often quite clever his writing is. Mostly observational stuff concerning the weird subculture of motoring (car buying, motorway services, crap cars, crumbly old classics, car vs motorbike, petrol vs diesel...that sort of thing) but has lots of good and often quite funny ideas. My problem with this book was actually that there was too much of it; 87 newspaper articles and some out-takes, I'm afraid I got a bit bored with the tone by the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

May on Motors: On the Road with James May
May on Motors: On the Road with James May by James May (Paperback - 6 April 2006)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews