Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy
We Used for a school project. Had all the info we needed. A few pictures too. Black and white. Informative.
Published 5 months ago by Amalia R.

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars John Shatfords Autobiography
This is a waste of money and time. The only thing this book does is perpetuate the myth of John Shatford and his collosal ego. The spotlight is on shatford and the police and how fantastic they are but misses the point. Shatford, if you are reading this, you are the biggest thief because you are taking money from royalties on a book that is selling under false...
Published on 9 Sep 2009 by David Moore


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars John Shatfords Autobiography, 9 Sep 2009
By 
David Moore "dbjmoore" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dome Raiders: How Scotland Yard Foiled the Greatest Robbery of All Time (Paperback)
This is a waste of money and time. The only thing this book does is perpetuate the myth of John Shatford and his collosal ego. The spotlight is on shatford and the police and how fantastic they are but misses the point. Shatford, if you are reading this, you are the biggest thief because you are taking money from royalties on a book that is selling under false pretences. Its not about the robbery but about you. This should be under autobiography. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY...BUY DIAMOND GEEZERS INSTEAD> That book is about the robbery and the gang. This is a book that, once you put it down, you will never pick up again. Buy bent coppers if you want to read about the police...not this pile of rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dome Raiders: How Scotland Yard Foiled the Greatest Robbery of All Time (Paperback)
We Used for a school project. Had all the info we needed. A few pictures too. Black and white. Informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking book, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dome Raiders: How Scotland Yard Foiled the Greatest Robbery of All Time (Paperback)
Good condition
Ideal for a book worm who likes to read about real life events.
I would re-order similar and recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic, well written, gripping book that I could not put down.
Nicely put together with the build up and background prior to the exciting main raid.
Easy to read, very interesting and not at all dramatised.
I was recommended this book by a work colleague and I too, would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jan's Review, 27 Oct 2004
By 
Jan (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
It's always with anticipation that I pick up a new book to read especially in the "real crime" category. "Dome Raiders" is certainly a book that immediately gripped this reader from beginning to end. The book moves along at a fast pace and I couldn't put it down. I had to reminding myself that I was reading about real life events and that it wasn't a fictional action packed adventure. After the media attention back in November 2000 when the Dome robbers and the Flying Squad's exploits became known worldwide, I knew the ending of the story but not the beginning. This book tells all, and it was at times with nail biting suspense that I read the detailed description of the months of hard work and covert operations leading to the eventual capture of the Dome robbers. This suspense was relieved by intermittent interspersions of humour to remind me that these policemen are human beings and not fictional. Even knowing the end of the story in advance I still read the book wondering what on earth was going to happen next. I thoroughly recommend "Dome Raiders" as an entertaining and enlightening read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a stunning chance missed ,, 12 Dec 2004
I have been waiting for 2 years for a book to be written about ray betsons gang and the dome robbery,what we have here is all about police, jonshatford,jon shatford again, police,jon shatford how great he is.
how boring the most interesting is ray betson and his tight crew who pulled some of biggest robberys in 20 years.do you hear about them no its all jon shatford why not call the book im jon shatford i think im great,put a picture of yoursef on the book,
go back to being a copper you cant write this book is really bad.
you have be warned please anybody write a book about ray betson and his life of crime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dome Raiders, 7 Nov 2004
An excellent read and a remarkable story of how Scotland Yard prevented the robbery of the Millennium Star at the Millennium Dome, Greenwich, London. The book's short punchy chapters add to the excitement and drama of the plot itself. The language used is wonderful and allows you to share the mixed emotions of those involved with the case caused by the continuous developments, the frustrations, the breakthroughs as well as the odd bit of luck. Dome Raiders provides a superb chronological account of how this large scale, high profile investigation was skillfully managed, thoroughly planned and executed with the utmost precision. The book also pays testimony to the brilliant results that can be achieved through teamwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A totally amazing real-life thriller, 20 Jan 2005
By 
What a great book! It ranks with the best of Ludlum, le Carre, Clancy and Dan Brown, but with the amazing twist that it is all true. The book gives you a second-by-second account of a highly complex, dangerous and historic Scotland Yard armed operation. What's so unusual is that it is written by the detective who foiled the crime, so the depth of detail and authenticity is unbelieveable. I devoured it in one day (mostly holding my breath) and I can't wait to read it again. This is a funny, hair-raising, thrilling and unforgettable read. Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dome Raiders: How Scotland Yard Foiled the Greatest Robbery of All Time
9.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews