Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh BEHAVE! Dodgy Dave and Clubland mayhem!
Absolutely storming review of Dave's progress through the rave and fetish scene. For someone who lived and worked in clubs, it was the little observations (and how spot-on they are) that Dave makes which made the book for me!
A total no-holds-barred account of Dave Courtney takes on Clubbing and how he became a tastemaker in the UK dance scene. Totally believable as...
Published on 15 April 2002 by Roy A Ellor

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars View the reviews before purchasing this book...
A somewhat disappointment to the previously published autobiography " Stop the Ride... ". If you have had the pleasure in reading Courtney's other book, this book may prove to be less of a thrill. At times during this book you may feel yourself saying " Did I select this book from the Fiction Section ", as some of the antics become a bit too...
Published on 26 Jun 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars View the reviews before purchasing this book..., 26 Jun 2001
By A Customer
A somewhat disappointment to the previously published autobiography " Stop the Ride... ". If you have had the pleasure in reading Courtney's other book, this book may prove to be less of a thrill. At times during this book you may feel yourself saying " Did I select this book from the Fiction Section ", as some of the antics become a bit too unbelievable to imagine. For example, having a rave on an aircraft. But this escapade did not occur, because the British Army were sent to test the aircraft beforehand. Perhaps Courtney's vivid imagination ran a bit too far ahead of himself with some of the ' adventures ' he describes in this farce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars mr walther, 13 May 2012
This review is from: Raving Lunacy: Clubbed to Death - Adventures on the Rave Scene (Paperback)
STOGGY DAVE what a waist of space this (i was going to say man ) thing is i have known him personally
he like his dvd's & books is on big lies bully mug sack for fat lard big mouthed waist
of space i watched him cry like a baby when lenni had to chastise him & smack his bum
for being a big mouthed peace of trash he is ,the atempted murder charge was not for
serious villiany but for being mob handed on one single normal living guy that owed a few
pounds , this man would never have a strightener in his life , he has been a lier & bully
through & through & any when he was away he was a real villans bitch this is not a man but
a blood sucking leach & as for the so called singer he's shacked up with enough said about
her , i can testify that all he writes if his fairy tail dreams , dont waist the one penny
asking price on this book unless you need it for lighting a fire .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thankgod I didn't pay good money for this..., 6 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: Raving Lunacy: Clubbed to Death - Adventures on the Rave Scene (Paperback)
Picked this up in a hotel reception before a flight home and my god I wished I picked up the Barbabra Cartland that was next to it. This has been in my recommended to me list on here a while as I bought the Hacienda story so I thought it's be an entertaining journey back to the mad weekends clubbing I used to be part of.
It's not often I review a book, but for some reason I feel I must dissuade you from buying this if you're anything like myself, a time served member of the 90's rave scene with a handful of brain cells remaining because it's dire, really dire.
The entire book is based around Dave's club 'empire', his 'naughty' mates and his many feeble pranks.. oh and some really crap jokes too. There's no real entertainment regarding door staff or dealer turf wars, no insight into the organising of illegal raves.. just a load of egotistical Jackanory-esque yarns from what would seem to be a bit of a ligger on the scene.
Avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh BEHAVE! Dodgy Dave and Clubland mayhem!, 15 April 2002
By 
Roy A Ellor "Roy Ellor" (Salford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raving Lunacy: Clubbed to Death - Adventures on the Rave Scene (Paperback)
Absolutely storming review of Dave's progress through the rave and fetish scene. For someone who lived and worked in clubs, it was the little observations (and how spot-on they are) that Dave makes which made the book for me!
A total no-holds-barred account of Dave Courtney takes on Clubbing and how he became a tastemaker in the UK dance scene. Totally believable as the accuracy is impeccable, and a laugh a page.
Just buy it and trust me. You'll love Dodgy Dave and his 24 carat missus!
Never mind five...Dave deserves six stars for telling a totally believeable tale and sharing his sense of fun so effectively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dodgy Dave strikes again!, 30 July 2001
By A Customer
Ever wanted to live your life to the full? Ever wanted to push yourself to the very limit of human endurance? For about fifteen years 'ravers' have been doing just that and Mr Courtney clearly didnt want to miss an opportunity to make money whilst this was happening! This book speeds along like an avalanche and if you feel able to keep up, then jump in with both feet. Maybe Dave's ego got the better of him in some parts of this book, but its a cracking read and will keep you enthralled to the end. If You want to know about the rave scene this book will blow your mind. Dont remember the launch of the rave scene becuase you were living it? Well read this book and it will all come 'RUSHING' back! This book will flow through you like the beat of any decent rave music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth of life in the rave era., 21 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This is one of the best books I have ever read. Very humorous and well written. Mr C tells it how it is and gives outsider a look into the murky world of club life and the rave scene. A must for anyone is to check out the london marathon story. Dave`s costa hell sol. So many to even mention but look up any former respectable members of society wishing to try out the naughty stuff.
This book will have the reader on the edge of their seats wanting more. By the time I finished the book I couldnt help thinking "I cant wait for his next book". very frank book. A must read for anyone of any age. I give it a five star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's done it again..!, 24 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Another classic. I never thought 'Stop the Ride...' would be equalled, but this must rate alongside it in terms of entertainment and amusement.
The key to Dave's success (probably in many ways) is that for a man with so much front, he's not pretentious at all. What you see is what you get and that's exactly the way he writes.
Books that hype violence, for example, do so in order to hype interest in a lightweight story. With Dave it's matter-of-fact - one of a number of things that come occasionally with the territory - but it's not an end in itself. Yes, he's a flash bastard, but as he says 'a nice flash bastard', living life to the full and doing everthing that half of us only wish we had the nerve to do.
When all is said and done, he's an honest man. Honest to himself and to us about who he is. And let's face it, isn't that the only thing that matters? Buy, read and enjoy. And do the same with the next one that he writes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Stuff Of Legends, 11 Feb 2009
This review is from: Raving Lunacy: Clubbed to Death - Adventures on the Rave Scene (Paperback)
This book is so hot it should come with a fireguard. Dave Courtney is a living legend and this book explains why.
He is the Artful Dodger meets Al Capone and this book is funnier than Only Fools And Horses, more dramatic than Minder and more stylish than an Armani suit.
Mr Courtney has many imatators, a few detractors ( who I call jealous cowards ) but he has thousands of fans and a loyal army of dedicated followers.
I cant wait for the next book...coz as top writer Garry Bushell says "Dave Courtney is a gent, a loveable rogue and a living legend"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars who is dave courtney?, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have no idea, I didn't until now anyway.

I bought this book because I was a bit of a raver back in the day, from 89 to 2000, thats how many pills i had per night.... Nah, a few more sometimes, anyway, being all misty eyed as some of us my age get now (39) at a time when dance music was new and exciting and going out was actually a full scale rebellious mission to have the time of your life.

So imagine my surprise when i begin to read this book. It begins with a story about some raver who took out his glass eye and plonk it in a drink. This may have seemed a tad far fetched for some, and the book had just begun, but by jove, i remember some raver once popping his false eye out and ploking it in a drink, i do, i really do!

Now, when i read an autobiography, i read it in the voice of the person who wrote it. In this case it was Terry Tibbx from Fonejacker, simply because i do not know what Mr Courtney sounds like, but he looks like terry tibbs, much love, goodnaaaayt!

Anyways, simply funny book, i laughed out loud lots reading this, he is very funny and very naughty, likes slapping people, and was a repo-man, or whatever their called, big time gangster who likes E's and spliffs. Definitely recommend you read this, i may even read his other books at a later date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a cracker! It had me in stitches all the way through!, 5 Sep 2001
This book was recommended to me by an old raving friend. If this is your era, youll love it. I have briefly met Dave and his girlfriend Jen. They are a wicked pair and Dave just has a knack of telling it like it is. It goes into great detail of exactly how the rave scene came about. Dave describes each colourful character with zest and accuracy. If I shut my eyes I was there again! I can even remember certain nights. Its a great book for ravers and non-ravers alike. Dave has such a nack of telling a story! Catch him on sky one presenting a show on the worlds dumbest crims. Its a scream!!!!! Fab book, read it and pass it on!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raving Lunacy: Clubbed to Death - Adventures on the Rave Scene
Raving Lunacy: Clubbed to Death - Adventures on the Rave Scene by Dave Courtney (Paperback - 7 Mar 2002)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews