Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars73
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 September 2004
I am a huge fan of True Crime books but with a limited interest of "ganster" and "underworld" type novels and, having never even heard of Dave Courtney before, actually only purchased this book based on other customer reviews which raved about it so much. Thank God I did. This book is probably the most entertaining book I've read in the last few years and I couldn't put it down. The stories from Dave's past actually made me laugh out loud and are they type that you recount to friends the next day. Bloody brilliant and totally hilarious (often in a grusome way) from start to finish.A real "people's hero" from the old school of organised crime, Dave Courtney comes over as a truly likeable geezer but one which you wouldn't ever wanna get into a row with, of course. Don't think twice about buying this book no matter what genre your normal tastes are - I can guarantee you WILL enjoy every page!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2015
George Orwell said: "Autobiography is only to be trusted when it reveals something disgraceful. A man who gives a good account of himself is probably lying, since any life when viewed from the inside is simply a series of defeats. However, even the most flagrantly dishonest book can without intending it give a true picture of its author."

Courtney paints himself as a bad boy done good, who always comes out on top, and makes sure the real nasty guys get what they deserve. To say this book is full of s*** is, frankly, an understatement, and should be treated as a work of complete fiction.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
As other reviewers have said , it is not very well written (unles you consider Tabloid newspapers great literature.) but to its credit it does move along at a fair pace , and it is quite an entertaining read. Dave has one interesting point to make - that he was born , not made , bad (or naughty in his terms). Unfortunately he thenuses this an an excuse for some truely horrible behaviour. OK , he is funny at times , but these are real people he spends his time carving up. And after a while it gets boring and he becomes more and more smug. I paid 1p for this book - it was too much.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2000
Something about the life of Dodgy Dave doesn't ring true, in all fairness the book is an entertaining read, but in truth, i too find it hard to believe that Mr courtney is not inside for the things he's done.......but then he lives in a different world to me...sorry dave, don't give up the media lifestyle for a life of crime, its not worth it is it?
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2000
Oddly enough all the murder victims of Mr Courtney only have names like 'Blondie'- some are not even reported. There is no Detective who is always on his tail for these crimes and the way they are so dramatically described, leaves one wondering if there is a shred of truth in them. Entire pages of the book are taken up by names of 'people' in pubs or elsewhere Mr Courtney may be. Tedious, self indulgent and a book which is difficult to believe-not for logical people.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2009
I read about thirty pages of this book and then gave it to the charity shop. On reflection I should have actually thrown it away instead of inflicting it on someone else. I couldn't understand any of his grammar -a ten year old child could write better than this. Perhaps he should have got someone to write this book for him - instead of all the repetitive waffle we are subjected to. I have read lots and lots of criminal autobiographies and all 100 times better than this. At least you could understand them. This is a book you HAVE to put down (or throw away).
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2001
This is an easy to read book taking you on a journey showing the egotistical side of a self proclaimed 'hard-mans' life. This book allows you to not only learn about South East Londons criminal underbelly, but allows you the chance to examine the authors' mind and thinking. Anyone who is interested in true crime, how 'real' criminals think, or just enjoy reading a book which brings to life dark elements of our society, then this is for you. Once you start reading you will not put this fast flowing and interesting book down.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2001
I saw the documentary on t.v. and was interested enough in the man to buy the book, it is excellent, brutally honest, funny, horrifying, scary and tenderly written in parts, this man loves his family and friends and knows who his enemies are. His escapades are like our everyday lives only more interesting to read, and also far more dangerous to live with. My admiration goes to his wife jenny also, a super-strong woman behind the man. eagerly awaiting the sequal.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2000
Mr. Courtney excludes many convincing details of his 'exploits', but then adds details which prove they are false. For instance he claims to have been sentenced to three and a half years imprisonment by a 'Magistrate', when a Magistrate only has the power to sentence a person to six months maximum for each offence. At this stage of the book, Mr. Courtney tells us he was facing an attempted murder charge, an offence a Magistrate has to refer to the Crown Courts. For me, the book is full of such 'errors', the entire account just does not ring true and I'm certain, some journalist somewhere, is already on his trail...
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2007
the only people who believe dave is a genuine gangster still believe in santa and the tooth fairy.Although a running joke in gangland uk as the great pretender, dave can spin a great yarn and makes a decent fiction writer.The only thing dave has killed is the credibility of "true"crime books.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)