Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their truth...
My dear friend Fiona from Newcastle turned me on to the Manics in 1992 and their first San Francisco show that year (in the wake of the L.A. riots) remains one of the most powerful I've seen. How fitting, then, that Fiona should send me this book in my Christmas package. Simon Price makes a compelling story even more so with his riveting writing style, lust for detail,...
Published on 13 Feb 2003 by Rebeca Thorvund

versus
7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Just Not All That
A disappointing book. As a recent Manics fan, I'd been told that this book is THE source, the real deal for information about this band. However, what I found here was mostly information that I had already learnt from various magazine articles and other sources, and lots of speculation, speculation that in my eyes carries no more weight than anyone else's despite Price's...
Published on 7 Dec 2001 by SummerHope


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their truth..., 13 Feb 2003
By 
Rebeca Thorvund (San Jose, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything (A Book about Manic Street Preachers) (Paperback)
My dear friend Fiona from Newcastle turned me on to the Manics in 1992 and their first San Francisco show that year (in the wake of the L.A. riots) remains one of the most powerful I've seen. How fitting, then, that Fiona should send me this book in my Christmas package. Simon Price makes a compelling story even more so with his riveting writing style, lust for detail, insightful analysis, and insider's view. He whisks the reader from Blackwood bedrooms to the world stage and misses nothing along the way, thank God. Who better to even attempt to take on such a task than Price, a gifted writer whose love for the band imbues the story but who can also provide objectivity and constructive criticism?
Buy this book if you're mad on the Manics and just try to put it down. Buy this book if you're a casual fan or have never heard of them and see what you've been missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slightly objecitve view of a great band, 7 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Everything (A Book about Manic Street Preachers) (Paperback)
A great book in itself from a pure history point of view, i have been a fan of the maincs since the holy bible era and have always been keen to pick up info about their early life as a band. Price gives a good account of the early days and betrays - to me at least - a love of those days as opposed to what the band have subsequently become. He appears to gloss over the more recent events of the band which to my mind suggests that he is not as keen on the three piece manics as he was on the full set. This possibly related to his severe crush on richey, who he feels is an extremely beautiful person. This detracts from the book to a certain degree but not so great that it effects it's enjoyment, as long as you take it as the views of someone who was there rather than an objective narrative of the band. the chapters follow well and the insights into the individual memebers of the band are extremely interesting - to me at least more so than the history chapters, as to a certain degree most people are aware of these anyway. Price gives the impression that he is very close to the manics, it would be interesting to see how close to them they thought he was? The irony of the book is that the content suggests that the author could never be as close as he implies because they are a very closed group, however if he was not as close to them as implied how could there be so much insight unless it was invented hmmmm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST!!!!!, 27 Dec 2003
This review is from: Everything (A Book about Manic Street Preachers) (Paperback)
I love this book,if you wanna know anything about the manics this book more or less tell's you,from where they hung around as kid's 'peny fan pond' to the dissapearence of one of the worlds best unknown poets mr 'richard edwards'
It mad me cry,it made me laugh,and got me thinking alot,The manics have to have one of the best told stories in rock music,Its just so intresting to know what these 4 inteligent lad's done as boys here in blackwood,and how the managed to survive here,and grow up to become one of the most meaningful bands to grace this earth.
Some good interview's in this book also,and many fact's about the band that i didnt know,It's also good how the writer 'SIMON PRICE' has actually seen the band many times,and remembers his experience's with the band and seeing them live.
A must buy for manics fans! and people who wanna know more about them,i'd say this is deffinatly the book to buy first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you want to know about the manics?, 3 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Everything (A Book about Manic Street Preachers) (Paperback)
i'm a huge manics fan, and have been for about 10 years. i was really eager to read this book as Price is fairly close to the band. it had lots of interesting (funny) little anecdotes in it, as well as a detailed version of the band's somewhat rocky history. there were a few factual mistakes in the book, which were even pointed out (although not specifically) by Nicky Wire, but as he said "this is your (price's) truth and that's cool", which just about sums it up. the thing about the manics is that no one can have cast iron views of them, they are complex and contradictory, and therefore you can never be entirely accurate of them. it's good to read a book about them which is just the author's personal views - the way he sees them and their history, rather than just a barrage of facts. i really enjoyed reading it, although if you're not a fan, it may be a bit much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all!!!!!!!!, 9 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. J. Cavanagh (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything (A Book about Manic Street Preachers) (Paperback)
Excellent book for any Manics fan it is a must read couldnt put it down. Written by a fan whom we have seen at gigs and approved by the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars like its title says, 11 Mar 2007
By 
Stefano Galli (italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything (A Book about Manic Street Preachers) (Paperback)
If you have to own just one book on MSP, this is the one.

An updated version will be appreciated, but MSP after The Holy Bible are something else, so ...

It is a book with a point of view, but it is a well written and well searched book. Not always a happy one, that's life.

Listen the records, read the book, make up your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written and hugely interesting!, 1 Oct 2004
This review is from: Everything (A Book about Manic Street Preachers) (Paperback)
With all the manics books avaliable to buy, this one has to be the most honestly written and acurate of them all, its the kind of book that once you pick up to read, your hooked and cant put it down! Nicky Wire once said this book is so close to the truth, he finds it hard to read it all without getting too emotional. Not only just a good read but has pictures of the band home and away.
A must have for all die hard manics fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great detail and understanding of the manics' history, 14 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Everything (A Book about Manic Street Preachers) (Paperback)
'Everything' is an excellently worded journey through the complete history of the manics.Almost everything you could dream to know is written here in this book and practically every gig and date is explored in immense detail.However much of this information is widely know by the average fan but keeps your attention by giving you just an extra bit of knowledge on the subject.The book is definitely reccomended and has that spark that just urges you to keep reading.To conclude,brilliant read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most intelliget and beautiful book about the best band!, 19 Dec 2000
By 
Laura Petersen (5500 Middelfart, Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Everything (A Book about Manic Street Preachers) (Paperback)
There are so meny positive things to say about this book, I don't even want to go into them! But it makes you feel...closer,in some way! And that's what I like about it! And it tells you EVERYTHING! It's not just a book for old fans!! And it also lets you know that THIS IS NOT THE END!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute MUST for every Manics follower, 13 Jan 2000
By 
This review is from: Everything (A Book about Manic Street Preachers) (Paperback)
Having bought this book for myself when I didn't have a lot of time to read it may have been a mistake. I found it absolutely impossible to put down. The story of the Manic Street Preachers is certainly a very interesting one, and I feel that anyone who has even a passing interest in the band should take a look at this book. A book written by a very talented author who has personal experiences with the band to draw on, which is written in such a way as to keep you thinking "I'll just read one more page". If only every book I'd read had been as good as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everything (A Book about Manic Street Preachers)
Everything (A Book about Manic Street Preachers) by Simon Price (Paperback - 20 May 1999)
Used & New from: 2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews