Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rude and funny!
Black Beauty- According to Spike Milligan is a hilarious book that tells the story of Black Beauty- a horse. It is written by the horse and tells of the different owners, stables and names that it has been through. It has some strong language and it is very violent, so it is definetly not a book for children. It has short chapters and that makes it light reading. The...
Published on 3 Dec 2000 by bhamas@connectfree.co.uk

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK But Not Brilliant
This is a re-telling of Anna Sewell's classic tale. I've given it three stars because although it's just Black Beauty with swear words, it was funny in some places. It's an OK book but won't be staying in my collection for long; I'm definitely going to swap it.

By Redips (21st October 2010).
Published on 21 Oct 2010 by Redips


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rude and funny!, 3 Dec 2000
By 
bhamas@connectfree.co.uk (Solihull, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Beauty According to Spike Milligan (Paperback)
Black Beauty- According to Spike Milligan is a hilarious book that tells the story of Black Beauty- a horse. It is written by the horse and tells of the different owners, stables and names that it has been through. It has some strong language and it is very violent, so it is definetly not a book for children. It has short chapters and that makes it light reading. The poems at the start of each chapter are very amusing, and every chapter is hilarious. But be warned!-This book could be offending. Black Beauty- According to Spike Milligan is definetly a must buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Speedy Read, 23 Feb 2006
By 
deadteddy (Bridgend) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Black Beauty According to Spike Milligan (Paperback)
Black Beauty according to Spike Milligan is an ecclectic book by most standards. I found it to be very funny in parts but slightly lacking in others which is why I've only given it four stars. The problem is that the actual story is all over the place, although that is because of Beauty moving homes a lot it's also because sometimes it gets a bit too farcical for it's own good and the actual story gets slightly lost in translation. As i said earlier though, when Spike does jump onto a good joke it is definetly going to make you laugh out loud and at only around 100 pages long it's a book you will speed through easily and enjoyably.
The basis of the story is obviously Black Beauty and his life with different owners as he moves from home to home and also job to job. Written in Spike's own style with plenty of comedy on route.
On the whole a very good read although I did feel it could have had more to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hahahahahah! Heheheheheheheh! Hohohohohoh! Funny!, 6 Dec 2003
This review is from: Black Beauty According to Spike Milligan (Paperback)
This book is one of Spike's finest. It is hard to explain but somehow just his wording of things can leave you in fits of laughter. While it does contain strong language it is unlikely to offend people; the violence is so unlikely and incredible that it is not going to affect children.
I made the mistake of reading this book at school: my teacher got quite annoyed at frequent outbursts of laughter, sniggering and me reading bits aloud. If you are knew to Milligan, what kept you? If you are a veteran, this is one of his finest.
I must for anyone who appreciates his unique brand of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK But Not Brilliant, 21 Oct 2010
By 
Redips (Wisbech, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Beauty According to Spike Milligan (Paperback)
This is a re-telling of Anna Sewell's classic tale. I've given it three stars because although it's just Black Beauty with swear words, it was funny in some places. It's an OK book but won't be staying in my collection for long; I'm definitely going to swap it.

By Redips (21st October 2010).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Beauty According to Spike Milligan
Black Beauty According to Spike Milligan by Spike Milligan (Paperback - 18 Sep 1997)
6.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews