Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mother's love
My Boy is Philomena Lynott's personal account of the life and death of her only child- legendary rocker Phil Lynott.
Aside from being a story about triumph, Phil's rise from being an illigitimate black boy in catholic Dublin during the 1950's to being leader of the world renowned rock band Thin Lizzy, it is also an account of a mother's love for, and tragic loss of,...
Published on 27 Aug. 2003 by Gearoid Fogarty

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars My Boy:The Philip Lynott Story
Really enjoyed this book. I am not a music fan of Thin Lizzy. Much of the detail was lost on me, but for any fan this is a must read.
I was interested in Dublin of the 1950's. Phenomena told her story well l found it interesting how her children found her. It was very touching how she describes her own feelings
A must read for fans.
Published 11 months ago by Dibb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mother's love, 27 Aug. 2003
By 
Gearoid Fogarty "instrumann" (CLONMEL, Tipperary Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Boy: Philip Lynott Story (Paperback)
My Boy is Philomena Lynott's personal account of the life and death of her only child- legendary rocker Phil Lynott.
Aside from being a story about triumph, Phil's rise from being an illigitimate black boy in catholic Dublin during the 1950's to being leader of the world renowned rock band Thin Lizzy, it is also an account of a mother's love for, and tragic loss of, her only child.
Philomena Lynott wrote this book as if she were speaking to you personally, giving an honest, bones and all, account of her son's life.
Her account of his death through heroine addiction is one of the most poignant and heart wrenching stories I have ever read.
The book leaves one with the mixed emotions of joy and sadness but I would thoroughly recommend this book to any music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best book ever !!!!, 20 Sept. 2007
This review is from: My Boy: Philip Lynott Story (Paperback)
philomena lynot tells this story so clearly that the reader is with her every step of the way, she pulls no punches and gives a clear insight into what the early years was like bringing up a black illigitimate child in dublin, then the years when phil went to the top, when he was in a position to return all what philomena had done for him....this mother fought tooth and nail to keep phil when all was against her....the church, bigoted people,men getting the wrong idea of her,in fact she took on more than anyone could imagine.........and even now all these years after his death, her love for him still shines so bright it brings a lump into your throat......the title of this book seems it all up.....my boy(a love story) a very well written book , a must to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book about a mothers love for her son, 19 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: My Boy: Philip Lynott Story (Paperback)
This book is a must read if you love a good book even if you're not a fan of Phil Lynott or Thin Lizzy. It's a truly touching story about the love Philomena Lynott has for her son. It gives you a history of her earlier years before her son was born and a feel of what it was like to grow up in Ireland during those times. The book continues through the life of Philip Lynott and the things him and his mother went through on there own and together and finally the depressing years that followed his death. If your looking for a book with hundreds of facts about Thin Lizzy you won't find them in this book although it still is a must read, what you will find is a love story like no other and i guarentee you will not be able to put this book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 25 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw Philomena on the TV recently promoting her book she had written it some years ago but had added further information which she had omitted from the original. I was drawn to her and wanted to read the story. This is a very honest account of her life and I immediately bought Thin Lizzy's album and remembered all their great songs and terrific music. I was deeply moved by the book and would recommend it to anyone that likes reading about people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute must for the Lynott fans, 8 Nov. 2009
By 
T. Bien "meanbien" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Boy: Philip Lynott Story (Paperback)
I've read this book in one breath. Heartrending and in all aspects a must for the Lizzy fans, but also for those who want to know more about this unique relationship between a equally unique mother and son, and for those who want to know how it was in the early fifties to raise a (black) child on your own. Chapeau for Philomena, who did a marvelous job. A friend of mind recomended the book, and so i bought it on Amazon.com and it was worth every penny. Go on buy it and enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book most interesting, a very sad end for such a talented man. I will be reading another book about Philip Lynott
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very honest and emotional account of a life in which many battles were fought to protect family.Well done Philomena.Amazing work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars My Boy:The Philip Lynott Story, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this book. I am not a music fan of Thin Lizzy. Much of the detail was lost on me, but for any fan this is a must read.
I was interested in Dublin of the 1950's. Phenomena told her story well l found it interesting how her children found her. It was very touching how she describes her own feelings
A must read for fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Enjoyable!!, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Boy: Philip Lynott Story (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this book. Opened my eyes a little to some of the early stuff and the hotel in Manchester. Always have to bare in mind it's his mother so pinch of salt sometimes. Find in a few gaps re Philip's Dad. Thanks you. great read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting to read & well written., 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Boy (Paperback)
Great to finally get some REAL information as to the life of Phil Lynott. I also really enjoyed finding out more about Philomena too! Overall, the book was very interesting to read & well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Boy: Philip Lynott Story
My Boy: Philip Lynott Story by Jackie Hayden (Paperback - 21 Nov. 1996)
Used & New from: £0.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews