Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 24 November 2009
I bought this as an "airplane book" for my 10 year old. He spent nearly the entire holiday reading, re reading, and discussing the contents.

It's a small sized book - about half the size of a paperback. Each page contains a simple description of a physics concept, with a corresponding cartoon on the opposite page.
If you are looking for detailed, in depth explanations, then this isn't the book for you. But if what you want is something straightforward which deals with all those "why" questions, then this is perfect.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2008
This small pocket-sized book is simply wonderful - both 'Why Matter Matters' and the previous 'The Periodic Table' were picked up by my son (12) and read from cover to cover without stop because he loved them so much. They are equally good for short periods of reading as each page is a different subject, written usually as two short paragraphs with cartoon pictures, with all necessary information printed in a very easy to read manner. Also extremely useful for parents wanting to sneakily gen up so they don't appear stupid in front of said offspring!
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2011
I LOVE this book and thoroughly enjoyed reading it because it teaches fun Physics in a interesting and easy-to-understand way. It does this by making each element a character which writes in the first person about itself, for e.g., Light would introduce itself with - I am the fastest thing in the universe - ...

Other good features:

Glossary
Reference
Poster included

Reviewed by Luke Sherriff-Meyer (aged 13)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 November 2011
I bought this as a stocking filler for my grandson (three years old) and to help fill his bookshelves with interesting, enjoyable and educational books which convey information in a simple way. Socrates said education is not about filling a vessel but fanning a flame, and he knew how to inspire the youth. Basher and Green have good ideas too.

This is a simple framework - a small size (half a normal paperback) with a physics concept on one page (simply explained) and a drawing/cartoon on the other helping to explain it.

I bought this and other presents to engender not only a continued interest in books but science and mathematics books. As an Arts graduate who has always had an interest in books, arts, science and the rest, I know how important it is to fan the flame early and keep it glowing. Science is a way of thinking, a way of looking at the world and this "fun-sized" book is ideal for beginning the process; small enough to put in a pocket but large enough to fill the mind. This is a great little series I hope my grandson will grow into; it certainly will not be for the want of Socratean fanning.

Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2009
A lovely little book for young and old. Humourous, and simply put for easy understanding. A good home education resource.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
an easy to read book with humour for all ages. my teenager approves! highly recommended to any age from 7 upwards
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
My genius of a god daughter said that there were a few mistakes in there. Will ask her to define errors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
we love the basher series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.