Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Introducing Physics, 24 Nov 2009
By 
A John (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I bought this as an "airplane book" for my 10 year old. He spent nearly the entire holiday reading, re reading, and discussing the contents.

It's a small sized book - about half the size of a paperback. Each page contains a simple description of a physics concept, with a corresponding cartoon on the opposite page.
If you are looking for detailed, in depth explanations, then this isn't the book for you. But if what you want is something straightforward which deals with all those "why" questions, then this is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have to buy this!, 7 April 2008
This small pocket-sized book is simply wonderful - both 'Why Matter Matters' and the previous 'The Periodic Table' were picked up by my son (12) and read from cover to cover without stop because he loved them so much. They are equally good for short periods of reading as each page is a different subject, written usually as two short paragraphs with cartoon pictures, with all necessary information printed in a very easy to read manner. Also extremely useful for parents wanting to sneakily gen up so they don't appear stupid in front of said offspring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome!, 29 Sep 2011
I LOVE this book and thoroughly enjoyed reading it because it teaches fun Physics in a interesting and easy-to-understand way. It does this by making each element a character which writes in the first person about itself, for e.g., Light would introduce itself with - I am the fastest thing in the universe - ...

Other good features:

Glossary
Reference
Poster included

Reviewed by Luke Sherriff-Meyer (aged 13)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Physics, 13 Nov 2009
A lovely little book for young and old. Humourous, and simply put for easy understanding. A good home education resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great for all ages, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an easy to read book with humour for all ages. my teenager approves! highly recommended to any age from 7 upwards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This makes Physics physical!, 11 Nov 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basher Science: Physics (Paperback)
I bought this as a stocking filler for my grandson (three years old) and to help fill his bookshelves with interesting, enjoyable and educational books which convey information in a simple way. Socrates said education is not about filling a vessel but fanning a flame, and he knew how to inspire the youth. Basher and Green have good ideas too.

This is a simple framework - a small size (half a normal paperback) with a physics concept on one page (simply explained) and a drawing/cartoon on the other helping to explain it.

I bought this and other presents to engender not only a continued interest in books but science and mathematics books. As an Arts graduate who has always had an interest in books, arts, science and the rest, I know how important it is to fan the flame early and keep it glowing. Science is a way of thinking, a way of looking at the world and this "fun-sized" book is ideal for beginning the process; small enough to put in a pocket but large enough to fill the mind. This is a great little series I hope my grandson will grow into; it certainly will not be for the want of Socratean fanning.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basher Science: Physics (Paperback)
we love the basher series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Basher Science: Physics
Basher Science: Physics by Dan Green (Paperback - 17 Dec 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews