Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book for Toddlers and Preschool Children
I got this book for my 3 year old daughter. She is a bit of a tomboy (having older brothers I guess) and loves cars, trains and planes!

This book was definitely a hit from her point of view. Lovely bright and clear pictures with text that is just about right for the 3-5 age group. Nice big size but not so big that it is hard for little ones to hold...
Published on 16 Nov 2010 by Crafty Marie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but no cigar
I gave this to my 5 year old son and he looked through it but it really didn't engage him for long.

Strange really as he loves books and normally can't wait to read/look at new ones and tell us about what he's seen in them.

Personally I thought this was a a good book - but then I'm not 5 (or maybe it was just him on a bad day) - definitely worth a...
Published on 19 Nov 2010 by Cambridge Ian


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining for little ones, 19 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Flip the Flaps: Things That Go (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are only 7 double pages in this book, which at first I thought could be a negative, but in hindsight I think this is the perfect amount in order to be able to keep your little one entertained but not go on too long so they get bored. Each page has a big picture with some information about the vehincle featured and then has a flap which lifts us and will show a slightly different side to the vehicle, so you will see the inside and more about the purpose or how it works, for example.

There are nice engaging questions on the pages, to which the answers are revealed under the flap, which will allow your child to have a think and learn something new about their favourite modes of transport.

From on land, to under the sea, to up in the air, the range of vehicles means there is a nice scope to this book for learning just the right amount about a variety of common transportations in the world. It is short enough, with just the right amount on each page, to keep the attention of children and mean they will like the book. This means the information there is well picked and concise, so if does not have unnecessary reading fo your child.

With nice bright fun pictures, a slightly interactive element and a little learning thrown in too, this is a pretty perfect book for young children and one which they will not tire of looking at, particularly if they like vehicles anyway. It is more informative than anything else and will make sure your child is learning whilst they read and enjoy, even if it is only little bits and bobs about planes, trains and cars, this is presented well and not boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Things that Go, 27 Sep 2010
By 
xenofan "xenofan" (Kansas, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Flip the Flaps: Things That Go (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A great book. Its seems quite sturdy and has the 'flip the flap' format for that extra added interest. Clear writing. Short informative sentences with the pages not too cluttered. Well drawn and labeled images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking book, 23 Sep 2010
By 
B. Smyth "smyth86" (Crawley) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flip the Flaps: Things That Go (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The "Flip The Flaps" range is excellent for kids in their first couple of years of primary school. There are many different subjects available, but on this occasion I got the "Things That Go".
This book is very informative and lets your child get a lot from it. By the time they have read this, they'll be testing your knowledge on the subject!

This books makes the topic fun for a youngster to read as it is interactive. They get the questions presented to them on a flap on the page, underneath storing the answer as well as a description.

This isn't the first book I have got from this range and it certainly won't be the last. This makes reading and learning fun for your younger children and the more topics that are released like this, the more I shall be buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More advanced than the title sounds, 12 Sep 2010
By 
M. Marikar (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flip the Flaps: Things That Go (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Because of the title "flip the flaps" I was expecting the book to be slightly more babyish, as others I have had with a similar title have been geared to a slightly younger age, however the book is really good and makes a good step up from the more babyish "things that go" books as it contains a lot of information while still including pictures of all the different kind of transport and vehicles. My 2 year old was interested in opening and closing the flaps to see how the pictures changed and looking at and naming all the different vehicles on the sides of the pages, and I am sure that he will get even more out of it as he gets slightly older. I like the format of having the questions on the page and the answers behind the flaps, it makes it interactive and educational, it is a really nice book. I just took off one star because I feel the name of the book really makes it sound younger than it is, which could be confusing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BIG Machines, fun, & educational, 8 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flip the Flaps: Things That Go (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A book for your young children that love machines and want to know more about them.

Lots of great pictures on each of the 7 double pages covering a section:
- On the Road = car, motorcycle, articulated truck, delivery van, & bicycle.
- On the Water = submarine, sailing boat, container, hovercraft, & fishing boat.
- In the Air = passenger jet, propeller plane, glider, & helicopter.
- Plus 4 other categories; on the rails, building site, race track, & emergency.

Each of the double pages has 3 interesting questions, with answers revealed over the flap. Plus the flap will also reveal the a new picture ie the inside of the passenger jet. The questions On the Road include;
- What makes a car go?
- How does a bicycle slow down and stop?
- Why do trucks have lots of wheels?

The book has pictures, words, and questions & answers to explore and enjoy. So it is fun for your children , especially boys and educational for them and you as well! Good value. I preferred this book to a similar styled Explorers series Explorers Oceans and Seas.

There are more books in the series if you enjoy this format including; Animal homes, Baby animals, Dinosaurs, Farm animals, Jungle animals, Minibeasts, Pets, Planet earth, Seashore, Weather, and Whales & Dolphins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real actual l fun earning for 4+, 31 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. R. D. Turner (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flip the Flaps: Things That Go (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is all about vehicles but that doesn't really matter. Others in the same series are about dinosaurs, pets, farm animals, insects and plenty more. What is clever about this book is that on each page there is a large picture and next to it a half sized page with some simple questions. So for cars the question might be what makes a car go? Turn the flap and the answer is of course the engine. But - as the flap is turned over it changes the picture on the first page. Magic! So a speeding train becomes a train at a station with people getting on. An aeroplane in flight becomes a cutaway showing the people inside.

My 4 you old just loves this and I will be buying more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A little different format, but not bad, 31 Aug 2010
By 
Pizor (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Flip the Flaps: Things That Go (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this for my 3 year old twin boys. They were very excited to flip through the book but I think they are a little young for it (they turn three in 6 weeks). This book falls into a very narrow category; it's more detailed then a My First Lift the Flap Book, but isn't as in depth as typical car and motor books get for older kids. I would say it's probably just right for 3.5 to 5 year olds.

But maybe I'm getting ahead of myself. First, let me explain the format. I was intrigued to find out what they meant by 'flip the flaps.' Basically, picture a 2 page spread across a book. Each spread features a different type of vehicle, such as airplanes, another page has diggers, another one fire engines, etc. There are not flaps to lift like a traditional lift-the-flap book. This definitely isn't a book where you see the car from the outside, then you lift the flap, then you see the engine underneath. Instead, in the middle of the 2 page spread, is another page that's a third of the size of the other pages. The illustrations match the other two pages perfectly. When you first turn to that spread, you see this smaller 'flap' which has 3 questions on it about the type of vehicle you're looking at. So for airplanes, it might have something like 1) How do airplane's wings work? 2) Who flies a plane? 3) What makes helicopters fly? Flip the flap over and now you see inside the airplane. You also get three answers. The answers are usually 1 sentence long, so they're not very detailed, but they get the point across. 1) The wings use the air around them to push the plane up as it flies along. 2) A pilot flies a plane. He or she makes it take off, go up and down, turn left and right, and land. 3) A rotor on the top of a helicopter spins very fast, and pulls it up into the air.

Aside from the flap in the middle, there is one big blurb about the type of vehicles and then 3 different pictures of such vehicles. So if it's air vehicles, they might have 3 pictures of an airplane, helicopter and a glider (1 picture of each). There are no photos in the book, everything is made up of nice handmade drawings (no computer artwork). As I said, the info is still pretty basic but is certainly too detailed for under 3, though they might like looking at the pictures anyway. I would say it's a nice move from the simple lift-the-flap books to the more in depth books your child may be getting ready for. My twins certainly like to 'read' it on their own. The book didn't do much for me, but it could be that I'm far from a motor-head. Still, I think this will probably be a very nice series for the 3-5 age range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Runs perfectly, 28 Aug 2010
By 
Adam "Say something about yourself!" (Dunton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flip the Flaps: Things That Go (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My lad is nearly 5, and this, to say that he loves trucks, trains, racing cars, building sites, and emergency vehicles, is right on the money. Each section, drawn in vibrant engaging colours, has a lift the flap addition that literally unfolds an articulated truck, hoists the sails of a boat and the ladder of a fire engine and puts a formula car in the pit, to give some examples. The lift the flap section also shows cut-aways of the vehicles in question, and gives the answers to 3 direct questions posed on each page which will draw out your little tyke's understanding. The text is clear and pitched perfectly for those around 5.

I read it through with my boy who was rapt, and he immediately wanted a re-reading. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Things that could go better, 6 Nov 2010
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
An obvious title for the youngsters (especially my grandson) plus a little bit of hands-on activity with half-pages to be turned revealing more about each type of transport. It's a pity though that the publisher's didn't go the extra mile and create a much more visually interesting book.

I found the illustrations very dull looking, competent but lacking in any kind of creative sparkle. The design and typography is nothing special either. Put the title into Search and two other books come up on the same subject: Big Book of Things That Go and My First Things That Go: Let's Get Moving! (My First (DK Publishing)). Both are produced by Dorling Kindersley who have much higher production standards than Kingfisher. The DK books also have the advantage of using photos, much more truer to reality for youngsters to relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Boys, 26 Aug 2010
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flip the Flaps: Things That Go (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Despite having two older sisters who have covered him in pink sparkles since birth, my three year old son is most resolutely a boy with boys interests. He is just at the stage where he is beginning to be fascinated by vehicles, anything that goes vroom is a winner in his book.

This book has been a palpable hit with him from day one. It has bold, bright illustrations with enough information to engage him, but not enough to bore him. It has flaps that are easily manageable for his motor skills and which I don't have to help him with when he prefers to sit in rapt contemplation of it than have me read it to him, and it has an excellent selection of suitably exciting wheeled vehicles which make him very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flip the Flaps: Things That Go
Flip the Flaps: Things That Go by Anita GANERI (Hardcover - 16 Aug 2010)
Used & New from: £1.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews