Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars31
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 15 July 2010
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A beautifully coloured, brightly illustrated, non-fiction reference book.
Reviewed by a Primary School Teacher (family member)

This is a perfect book for anybody interested in the oceans. It combines interesting facts with colourful, vibrant pictures. The language is `child-friendly'. Although the book is aimed at older children, younger children would enjoy this book just as much if read to them or by just looking at the pictures. The font is also big and clear enough for children to start sounding the words out themselves. A good page to remember in the book is the index page where it sounds the words out for you - great for adults when reading it to the children!

The coloured 'button' concept used in the book is very interesting. I can see why some people may not like the concept, but I feel it is fun and challenges the children that bit further. The basic idea is that the child would look at the contents page and choose what they want to learn about or choose `their own journey' as the book puts it. Each `button' has a picture on it too.

The book does not tell you where to find the first `button' so you have to flip through the pages to find this. Say the child chooses to learn about `Science' they would flip through the book until they come to page 7 where they would find the first red `button'.

The child would read the information on this page and then look at the red `button' again where they would find the next page number. This would then direct them to more information on the same topic, which is on page 22. This then directs them to page 10 and so on.

The `button' concept purposely encourages the child to flip forwards and backwards throughout the entire book, which could become slightly annoying.

I personally found the `button' concept to be particularly useful when teaching children about the contents page and how it shows you where to find information. The children explained it as a "game" and all really enjoyed following the coloured `buttons' throughout the book.

Obviously, as the `buttons' do not appear on every page, the contents and index page are very useful and it also allows the children to read the book normally if they wish.

Other good factors about this book are the well- labelled, clear, CGI illustrations, the `what is this?' pictures and the big bold text.

In summary; I would recommend this book for a child at any age that enjoys reading.
I am now looking out for the other books in the same range.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I thought this book would be a valued edition to night time stories with a world of underwater creatures to learn about and scenes to explore, but I was diasppointed by the over populated pages that were just trying to do too much.

The book seems to be geared towards children in the 8-12 year old range.

I liked the cover and it really attraced me to the book, colourful and interesting. There follows 27 pages of content from coastal to seashore to coral landscapes to artic waters. Plus there are different coloured squares that flow through the book: red for animals, green for science, blue for explorers, and orange for conservation. Page 30 then completes these different journeys with descriptions and facts of interest.

I applaud the concept but in practice I think the book has too much jumbled on to the various pages and tries to cover too much in too little space. The book should have either concentrated on less or been much longer.

An interesting source of information but it will gather dust on the shelf rather than worn pages through use.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 September 2010
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a brightly coloured, nicely illustrated reference book with both familar and unfamilar concepts to interest children aged 6+. The 'at the seashore' pages can be used as a reference tool for a day at the beach, while double page spreads on 'exploring a wreck' and 'stories under the sea' should fire the imagination of children learing about pirates at school.

The 'button' concept used in the book is an interesting one. I think that the idea behind it is to make the book more 'interactive' to a young audience used to clicking online or using game consoles. They can not disguise the fact that it is still a book though, and might be confusing to children who have just learnt to read books sequentially.

The 'voyage to the deep' section provides just the right amount of weirdness and scary beasties to entertain children who like dinosaurs and aliens, and the 'what is this?' questions are a fun way to learn facts together.

An enjoyable book that would sit well on any child's shelf.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 May 2010
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a super book. Ideal for general reading or helping children with their research skills.

It is well thought out and well laid out. For example, there are four 'buttons' for different areas of study to be found throughout the pages: animals, people exploring, conservation and science. By following the buttons through the book you can find out further information. This is an interesting and novel way to help make a book exciting enough to keep reading.

It has colourful pictures, diagrams and photos throughout and the layout is stimulating and ideal for use in schools. The language is pitched for the appropriate age level and is set out in suitable fonts and sizes.

All in all, an excellent series of books and to be recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 August 2010
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
If you have a child aged 6 or thereabouts with a passion for information, then the Explorers range is an excellent way to get them involved.

In this book about Oceans and Seas, there are lots of little bits of information and trivia about underwater life, including all kinds of marine creatures.

Importantly it never lectures the reader, and invites them to cross reference different pages with trails on a particular topic that run from page to page.

Most importantly, there are loads of lovely pictures to capture the imagination.

There is a whole series of these, which I'm hoping to start collecting!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 June 2010
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I saw this book and immediately knew it would appeal to my 5 year old. I wasn't wrong! When the book arrived and he got his hands on it he was very impressed.

He has enjoyed many a bedtime being read the information on all aspects of oceans and seas from the coast with details on beaches and rockpools to the deepest, darkest depths of the big oceans.

The book is attractive with a clear layout and colourful pages and each double page spread deals with a different aspect of seas and oceans. I particularly like the good blend of photographs and computer generated illustrations (of a similar quality to the illustration on the front cover). Text is clear and written in simple, informative English with a good balance of key words and detailed description. Key facts are presented next to relevant images (helpful to show an inquisitive 5 year old!) and the book offers a gentle level of interactivity by asking simple questions.

The book's 'big thing' is the ability the reader has to 'explore' the book within a certain context such as 'People exploring' or 'Conservation'. It's an interesting concept, getting you to jump around the book finding out more facts. It works to a point but sometimes the links are a bit tenuous and I would expect they would be quite difficult for a child to find. This exploration is only an option though and the book flows much better when read normally.

Overall this book is an excellent starting point for youngsters to get into reference books and I can see it becoming increasingly useful for future homeworks.

I'm off to check out the rest of this series of references books!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 October 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a great book with a wide age appeal, as it includes a large number of beautifully drawn pictures in vivid colour, but, unlike picture books for younger children only, also includes a wealth of detail about the things to be found under the sea.

More than this, it falls into that rare category of book that has something new every time it's opened. A hiding fish, or a detail on the submersible.

A well priced, attractive volume and a good gift for a child with an interest in natural history.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2010
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a lovely little book with just the right mix of subjects, photos and information to keep a 6 year old entertained. The 'journey' idea - following buttons on various pages connects some of the information together in a different narrative - just seemed a little forced; it's like the authors or publishers are trying to make their book have a similar feel to a website. It's not a website, it's a book and no worse for that.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I found this book very attractive to look at. All the pages are full colour and include a range of photo-realistic illustrations of different sea creatures, etc.

The accompanying text is informative and clearly written by someone who knows what he is talking about on this topic.

Unfortunately, it simply did not grab the interest of my 5-year old daughter at all. Generally, she is very interested in animals, nature, etc., but this book lacked much of a thread to draw you through. The arrangement of pages, and the mish-mash of topics, encourages a 'dip in' style of reading. Perhaps that is a bit too sophisticated for a 5-year old?

The addition of some 'journey link' buttons was obviously an attempt to address this, by giving readers something to look out for on each page that was related to other things in the book.

Maybe it is just my kid. If yours is fascinated by the underwater world, this might be ideal. Or if they are just a bit older. If not, then it might be better to look at others in this series (e.g., dinosaurs) which might appeal more viscerally to young readers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2010
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The moment we saw Explorers Oceans and Seas we knew straight away that our children would love this book. And when they saw it their eyes lit up and they were engrossed taking the journey this book provides of the world under the sea.

Whenever there is anything on television about life under the sea our children are engrossed by the different fish, their environment, the colours, how underwater creatures live their lives etc. Whenever something educational fills the imagination of children it often succeeds in helping them learn well and I have no doubt that this book has helped our children learn and appreciate the underwater world much more.

This book has proved to be a real hit with our children and we are sure many other parents will not be disappointed with the reaction this book produces in their children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.