Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2010
Bought this to help my daughter with revision of what can be a fairly dry subject.
She loves the artwork, and by 'personalising' each elememt it is much easier to remember the properties.
Useful 'alternative/accelerated' learning material.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
The elements are given a character and voice.
My 9 year old son really got captivated and so did
did I (his mom). Fun illustrations with clear and informative
texts written in story like way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
I bought this book for my 8 year old. It makes learning fun & easy thanks to the brilliant element characters & clear concise information. He is already very knowledgeable on the periodic table.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Excellent help to anyone trying to make out what this table is about... I have given this to quite a few to young people who are studying the subject at school...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
as an aid to kids memories I'm not sure the abstract characters are any worse than photos of lots of grey metals - your choice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
Very pleased with this book. Bought to help my son with his KS3 science. Presented in a friendly way, easy to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
Simple little book and easy to read, it's meant for kids but adults can enjoy it too, I certainly do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
Pre-owned - not a problem. However, disappointingly without Periodic Table.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2007
The concept behind this book is quite appealing: present cameo portraits of the elements of the periodic table as if they were personalities (Lead: "Don't let my heavyweight status fool you---at heart I'm a totally malleable softie...") accompanied by fun, manga-style cartoon characters. This kind of approach has the potential to appeal to older children.

Where it falls down is that of the 111 elements shown on the folded 9.5" x 13.5" poster at the back of the book, only 54 (i.e. less than half) are actually written up in the book proper. Thus, for example, Cadmium, shown on the back cover, and Polonium---intriguingly shown on the front cover no less---are conspicuously absent. The Boron elements mysteriously stop after Aluminium; missing are Gallium, Indium and Thallium. The entirety of the Lanthanoids and Transactinides has been given short-shrift.

These are disappointing omissions. The end product is frustratingly superficial, redundant (who cares about Lead---tell me something interesting about an element I may have never heard of e.g. Gallium, Europium, Astatine etc) and incomplete.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
My son is really into chemistry, and he specifically asked for a "fun, easy to understand chemistry book." Well, this is the one. It gives a brief and creative description of the element, and how it interacts with other elements. What he loves the most is the cool-looking periodic chart, which really lays out the different elements and their "characters" -- noble gases, metals, etc -- really well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse