Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well researched read.
Having been a fan of Miss Collins for many years now, and thus having either read or seen many aspects of the actress that she personifies in public, my opinion is that whilst not containing any startling new information, this book is a fair and balanced synopsis of the life of a person who is both a 'star' and yet mortal too.
Often biographies of people 'still at...
Published on 20 Sep 2007 by J. Fillingham

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hatchet Job
Since Joan Collins refused to co operate with the author and told her friends to do likewise she can hardly complain at the finished result.Given that the author was only able to conduct a few interviews this became largely a scissors and paste exercise.However since the subject has barely ever been out of print this is not a difficult job.the book is fairly entertaining...
Published on 9 Feb 2011 by Wingate


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well researched read., 20 Sep 2007
Having been a fan of Miss Collins for many years now, and thus having either read or seen many aspects of the actress that she personifies in public, my opinion is that whilst not containing any startling new information, this book is a fair and balanced synopsis of the life of a person who is both a 'star' and yet mortal too.
Often biographies of people 'still at large' can be just plain 'homages' for fear of the author being sued. This book however appears balanced and truthful. Whilst delving into some of the less flattering aspects in the life of the subject the book also highlights her very real devotion to her children. The absence of vanity, despite perhaps popular opinion to the contrary.
Above all, a very good read. I suspect the author is enamoured of Miss Collins!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kindle book, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very enjoyable book to read could not put it down will look for more books on joan Collins in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hatchet Job, 9 Feb 2011
This review is from: Joan Collins: The Biography of an Icon (Paperback)
Since Joan Collins refused to co operate with the author and told her friends to do likewise she can hardly complain at the finished result.Given that the author was only able to conduct a few interviews this became largely a scissors and paste exercise.However since the subject has barely ever been out of print this is not a difficult job.the book is fairly entertaining for the period up to the 80s but then runs aground on a sea of dates names and places.It begins to read like Collins diary and becomes rather boring.the author really should have called a halt in the 90s and cut the book short by about 60 pages.For the last part i was bored and pleased to finish the book so that i could go on to something rather more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 11 Sep 2007
By 
I like first person accounts from actors and actresses and have read both Joan's autobiographies, which I found hugely entertaining. But there was nothing new in this biography and I don't think the author had a nice word to say about Ms Collins. It actually left me feeling quite sorry for her. It was also repetitive and monotonous to read as all the stories were from third parties, most of whom I'd never heard of, and the only ones from Joan were from interviews I'd already read. Sometimes biographies can be well researched and well written but, sadly, this is not the case with this book. When it comes to Joan Collins, however, I'd rather read about her life in her words. The second part of her biography - Second Act - is much more engaging.

Lynn Calder, Bromley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Riddled with envy of its subject, 16 Sep 2013
By 
A Reader (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Collins: The Biography of an Icon (Paperback)
Ultimately, a rude, patronizing, condescending derogatory,put-down based on numerous negative newspaper articles. The authorial tone is one of envy. I've learned to approach Graham Lord's books with caution over the years as so many of his books appear to be based on newspaper stories instead of enjoying the involvement of the person he's writing about.

Joan always puts a smile on my face.

Mr Lord's book made me groan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Collins: The Biography of an Icon (Paperback)
this book is so full of useless info. goes into all the nitty gritty if u want a book on Joan get past imperfect that she herself wrote
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present, 22 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't read this myself but I bought it as a present for my mum and speaking for her, she was very satisfied and happy with it! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joan Collins: The Biography of an Icon
Joan Collins: The Biography of an Icon by Graham Lord (Paperback - 16 Oct 2008)
11.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews