Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Read
This has to be one of the best autobiography's I have read. I am a huge formula one fan and it gives you an insight into how hard these drivers really push to get where they are now.
he may not be one of the front runners in formula one but any formula one fan should give this one a read.

5 stars - brilliant
Published on 3 July 2008 by Mr. James R. Williams

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad...but not great
As a Scot I really wanted to read this book because I was a fan of Coulthard....but it wasn't all I hoped for.

I actually look at him in a different light. Not necessarily a bad light, but he's not up where I used to place him. I've always classed him as a mediocre driver with occasional sparks of brilliance. His book seems to show this, but then contradicts...
Published on 12 Jan 2010 by Mr. W. M. Riley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 11 May 2011
This review is from: It Is What It Is: The Autobiography (Paperback)
i felt that this book was a very good read that took you deep into the life of a very level headed and interesting persons life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On David, 27 April 2011
This review is from: It Is What It Is: The Autobiography (Paperback)
Nice to read , DC is very open on all kind of topics and gives also a unique insight
on his years at McLaren and his relation with Ron Dennis .
If you are a diehard F1 fan than this book is a must read , if not you probably
will miss a lot of what is DC writing about .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars INTERESTING, 3 Feb 2011
It's the 1st biography I've read of a racing driver. I found it really interesting to have an insider's point of view, though I don't believe everything David Coulthard has told in this book to be true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book and insight to DC, 1 Sep 2010
This review is from: It Is What It Is: The Autobiography (Paperback)
This is a great motor racing autobiography. Really enjoyed it. DC is a good character and this book delves into some of the highs and lows of his career whilst giving you an idea of what goes into being a racing driver, and what comes with it! A great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read..., 18 Aug 2010
This review is from: It Is What It Is: The Autobiography (Paperback)
Really good book, lots of funny stories about a great driver with a strange yet logical outlook on life. Really good value to...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is...Great!, 13 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an avid fan for a number of years this was just what I needed to fill in an interesting and diverse range of informative background. Also provided a good 'fan's fix' as he announced his racing retirement. Interesting information about the process of racing through to F1 and reflections on his private life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A frank and honest account about life in the fast lane, 12 April 2008
By 
S. Fenwick (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It Is What It Is: The Autobiography (Paperback)
An honest, no nonsense account from an honest, no nonsense man.

This book is easy to read and flows nicely from the boy in rural Scotland to a Monaco residing top racer!

A thoroughly enjoyable read and with rumours of a second 'warts-and-all' edition after DC retires I am looking forward to that one aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars where's the story and the glory?, 26 Mar 2008
Not much insight into the life and deliberations of the F1 circus I'm afraid. What earns this book the two stars are the first chapters on DC's early years, his childhood, family and bumpy road along the way to the higher formulae.

The words here really bring to life what it was like for a middle class scottish family supporting one of their children in pursuing his ambitions.

However the F1 section is pretty vacant, and for the oldest, most experienced driver on the grid, one feels that the insight, emotions and dealings could have been better explained. I'm not talking about dishing the dirt or blowing the lid on some libellous secrets, but some sort of "colour" is missing. There are a few page-turning chapters, such as the episodes with Mika Hakkinen and Ron Dennis, but I felt the rest of it was a turn-off.

It's altogether too navel gazing and more about DC trying to work out how he should behave or be perceived to be behaving. He's clearly got some psychological issues having been at the pinnacle of the sport for a number of years. The celebrity status that F1 brings clearly doesn't sit well with him, but an autobiography is not the place to explore that.

A good first few chapters, but overall there are better books for F1 fans out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was expecting much more...., 28 May 2008
This review is from: It Is What It Is: The Autobiography (Paperback)
Having recently read this book, I was a bit disappointed. The book has some interesting bits but by and large reads like DC trying to justify and explain that has happened in his career and life. It is pretty negative with DC blaming someone else for everything...whether it is his stint with McClaren, his relationships, media coverage etc etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is indeed what it is, 21 Oct 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not taken to reading sports biographies, but I quite liked this one. David Coulthard (DC) describes his life as a racing driver from kart racing right up to his present job with Red Bull. I shall spare you any extensive review of the book's content, as you can read this up yourself. I read this book in a day largely because I am a fast reader but also because I enjoyed the refreshing style it is written in.
What struck me is, how much determination, drive, an ability to constantly raise money and a bit of luck one needs to make it into Formula One. Although Formula One drivers are more often than not millionaires, most of them appear to start their careers (deeply) in debt. DC is fairly detailed on this ordeal.
The most hilarious bit of the book is where DC is trying to convince the reader that he is not a lady's man. He manages to contradict himself so often that whatever point he was trying to bring across it didn't happen.
This book is lots of fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It Is What It Is: The Autobiography
It Is What It Is: The Autobiography by David Coulthard (Paperback - 2 April 2008)
7.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews