Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars13
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2013
It's always instructive to discover an author's roots.
Here in this RRetrospective (gettit GRRM!), you will discover Haviland Tuf, an ecological engineer; scripts from the TV series " The Twilight Zone, " which he wrote, during his Hollywood years and
to me, the outstanding feature in this volume is the novella " The Hedge Knight." this is a pre-quel to his " Song of Ice and Fire " series; which you will know as 'A Game Of Thrones. "

All in all a splendid body of work. Gives invaluable insights into George Martin's creative process.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2012
This collection of short stories/novellas (scifi and fantasy) is good but bear this is mind:

THIS IS NOT DREAMSONGS 2, IT IS THE SECOND HALF OF THE DREAMSONGS HARDBACK PUBLISHED IN PAPERBACK.

The actual stories are really good, worth buying for the Hedge Knight alone.

In summary, buy it if you didnt buy the hardback Dreamsongs.

Yet another Martin partial duplicate purchase, must remember next time I get an Amazon alert to check better. At least I didnt buy Dreamsongs 1 in paperback, Im not quite that dumb.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
A really good collection of stories here, showing a wide range from Martin. I do, however, seem to prefer his science fiction to his fantasy, but even the fantasy tales were interesting enough. Highly recommend for those who aren't just interested in A Song of Ice and Fire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
Bought this after reading fevere dream - (which I thought was excellent btw)

This feels a bit like a lash up of leftover bits and peices , different times and themes and quality. I skipped skipped one section of 60 pages or so as it was an unused film script complete with instructions for camera angles and his / her dialogue captions. Might be of interest to some but not me.

Think I will put it down as as one for the die hards
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2012
It seems like many a writter, George Martin has struck gold with his Game Of Thrones series however this patch work collection of short stories is very hit and miss. Some of it is quite good, however the others lack quite a bit. There are certainly better collections of short stories out there.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
As per usual with Mr Martin, his work takes you to another world as easily as you change channels with a tv remote. 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
not yet read this book yet,but has it's by g r r martin,bound to be good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2015
Great starts, always dies in the middle. Ends smell like rotten chicken.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
Wondefully varied stories from the master - well worth reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
Yet another A1 publication by George RR Martin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.44
£9.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.