Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another split book
This collection of short stories/novellas (scifi and fantasy) is good but bear this is mind:

THIS IS NOT DREAMSONGS 2, IT IS THE SECOND HALF OF THE DREAMSONGS HARDBACK PUBLISHED IN PAPERBACK.

The actual stories are really good, worth buying for the Hedge Knight alone.

In summary, buy it if you didnt buy the hardback Dreamsongs...
Published on 3 April 2012 by woody

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great
It seems like many a writter, George Martin has struck gold with his Game Of Thrones series however this patch work collection of short stories is very hit and miss. Some of it is quite good, however the others lack quite a bit. There are certainly better collections of short stories out there.
Published on 15 April 2012 by Liam


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another split book, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamsongs - 2 - A Rretrospective (Gollancz S.F.): Bk. 2 (Paperback)
This collection of short stories/novellas (scifi and fantasy) is good but bear this is mind:

THIS IS NOT DREAMSONGS 2, IT IS THE SECOND HALF OF THE DREAMSONGS HARDBACK PUBLISHED IN PAPERBACK.

The actual stories are really good, worth buying for the Hedge Knight alone.

In summary, buy it if you didnt buy the hardback Dreamsongs.

Yet another Martin partial duplicate purchase, must remember next time I get an Amazon alert to check better. At least I didnt buy Dreamsongs 1 in paperback, Im not quite that dumb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Precious material from the back catalogue, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's always instructive to discover an author's roots.
Here in this RRetrospective (gettit GRRM!), you will discover Haviland Tuf, an ecological engineer; scripts from the TV series " The Twilight Zone, " which he wrote, during his Hollywood years and
to me, the outstanding feature in this volume is the novella " The Hedge Knight." this is a pre-quel to his " Song of Ice and Fire " series; which you will know as 'A Game Of Thrones. "

All in all a splendid body of work. Gives invaluable insights into George Martin's creative process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a lash up, 24 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. Peter A. Gillon (Warrington England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamsongs - 2 - A Rretrospective (Gollancz S.F.): Bk. 2 (Paperback)
Bought this after reading fevere dream - (which I thought was excellent btw)

This feels a bit like a lash up of leftover bits and peices , different times and themes and quality. I skipped skipped one section of 60 pages or so as it was an unused film script complete with instructions for camera angles and his / her dialogue captions. Might be of interest to some but not me.

Think I will put it down as as one for the die hards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 15 April 2012
By 
Liam (REDCAR, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamsongs - 2 - A Rretrospective (Gollancz S.F.): Bk. 2 (Paperback)
It seems like many a writter, George Martin has struck gold with his Game Of Thrones series however this patch work collection of short stories is very hit and miss. Some of it is quite good, however the others lack quite a bit. There are certainly better collections of short stories out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dreamsong, 10 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamsongs - 2 - A Rretrospective (Gollancz S.F.): Bk. 2 (Paperback)
This book is just what it says, if you like Martin it will be up your street, came in plenty of time and was a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My wife loves all the George RR Martin's novels, 5 Dec 2012
By 
J. Higham "Jack Higham" (Warrington Cheshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamsongs - 2 - A Rretrospective (Gollancz S.F.): Bk. 2 (Paperback)
Since the Game of Thrones came on TV my wife has been a huge fan of Mr Martin's novels and tells me about different parts of the story. If you liked the movies you will probably like the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamsongs - 2 - A Rretrospective (Gollancz S.F.): Bk. 2
Dreamsongs - 2 - A Rretrospective (Gollancz S.F.): Bk. 2 by George R.R. Martin (Paperback - 15 May 2008)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews