Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy addition to the series
I must admit, I was a little disappointed with 'Soul of the Fire,' and thought perhaps that the series was waning. Not so. 'Faith of the Fallen' returns with the distinctive imaginative flair that has become Goodkind's trademark.
This installment in the series sees Richard captured and separated from Kahlan and dragged into the very heart of the Old World. Meanwhile,...
Published on 2 Nov 2000 by Daniel Woods

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The series is slowing down...
I was eagerly looking forward to the latest in this series, one which I really enjoy. Unfortunately, this installment like the previous one, Soul of the Fire, is beginning to lose focus. There just isn't much plot development in this book. It feels like Goodkind took 500+ pages to write half the story. Also missing was much in the way of development of the world,...
Published on 12 Sep 2000 by ezorick@essex.ac.uk


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy addition to the series, 2 Nov 2000
By 
Daniel Woods (East Kilbride, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must admit, I was a little disappointed with 'Soul of the Fire,' and thought perhaps that the series was waning. Not so. 'Faith of the Fallen' returns with the distinctive imaginative flair that has become Goodkind's trademark.
This installment in the series sees Richard captured and separated from Kahlan and dragged into the very heart of the Old World. Meanwhile, Kahlan holds the D'Haran armies together as they fight a hopeless battle against the advancing hordes of the Imperial Order.
The writing and story leans away from the increasing 'touchie-feelie' nature of the previous books, a change which I personally found heartening; Richard and Kahlan's near constant professions of love were beginning to detract from the quality of the story. Goodkind's personal political beliefs seem to play a part in the depiction of the Imperial Order's homeland, heavily communist as it is. In my opinion, however, this only strengthens the quality of the book, painting a more believable picture of a foe that previously had remained a largely unknown quantity.
Why not five stars? It's not the sweeping type of epic fantasy found in 'Wizards First Rule,' 'The Stone of Tears' or 'Temple of the Winds.' Some of the material seems a little re-hashed (Kahlan leading an outmatched army against the Order? That seems familiar...), and nothing really new appears.
But it's still excellent. The writing style remains fluid, the new and existing characters are still believable and deep, and the series looks to be back on form. Looking forward to the seventh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can you say Objectivism?, 15 May 2007
I have read all the series so far and have very much enjoyed them, however not so long ago I read Atlas Shrugged and both books use exactly the same compelling yet ultimately unrealistic arguments to Promote capitalism (not that I am particularly against capitalism).

I would recommend anyone who enjoyed the social commentary in this book read 'Atlas shrugged' (or even if you didn't and just enjoy reading very long books which are basically novelised philosophy)

But other than the Overt Ayn Rand influence the book carries through the plot it's quite enjoyable and carries the story on very well.

That Richard! .... He's a lad isn't he!!! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The series is slowing down..., 12 Sep 2000
I was eagerly looking forward to the latest in this series, one which I really enjoy. Unfortunately, this installment like the previous one, Soul of the Fire, is beginning to lose focus. There just isn't much plot development in this book. It feels like Goodkind took 500+ pages to write half the story. Also missing was much in the way of development of the world, no interesting new magical curiousities, new places, etc. Also, the right-wing libertarian/capitalist flag-waving was very tiring. I mostly agree with his sentiments, but they are portrayed so simplistically and grossly that it is really tiresome. It is also completely unnecessary for the story. What is it about the latest series of fantsay epics (notably the Wheel of Time) that authors get going well, then feel that they have to drag things out at the end? One interesting thing about the Sword of Truth series was it was constantly changing and inventing, now it is becoming rather stagnant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faith of the Fallen (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant addition to the SoT series, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faith of the Fallen (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
Terry Goodkind outdid himself with this spectacular addition to the series. I loved every word, it had me hooked from the first paragraph and it just wouldn't let go. Absolutely marvelous.To anyone interested in the SoT series, I dearly recommend reading this book, when you have read the previous books of course.
You won't regret spending the time to read this wonderful book. Absolutely fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faith of the Fallen (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
Ordered this for my boyfriend who is a massive fan of the series. Shame its not on kindle yet but still, its kept him quiet for a bit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From a fan, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read this twice now and I love the series so what can I say? This book is a good one - if you like the earlier books - go for the whole story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still very much enjoying this series, 25 July 2013
This review is from: Faith of the Fallen (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
This book had a bit of a slow start. I'm used to this series always marching forward at a good speed and progressing. However I don't think it was such a bad thing in this situation. We get to learn a bit about Richards old homeland, the people in it and it gives Kahlan time to heal after what happened in the previous book. It also gives more meaning to Richards 'prophesy' about the war with The Old World. So I think it was necessary to the overall story.

I enjoyed this book very much. Richard and Kahlan get separated again and the war with the old world really moves up a gear.

I can't say too much without giving away the story line!! All I can say is that it was another entertaining read that I really enjoyed. A brilliant series so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book., 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faith of the Fallen (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
I am slowly getting through all the Sword of truth series -very skilled and engrossing writing as the books go on, they seem to get better and better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faith of the Fallen (GOLLANCZ S.F.) (Paperback)
This series of books are a treat and a must buy to anyone who is into love and adventure. I am thinking of reading them all again when I have finished the last book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Faith of the Fallen (GOLLANCZ S.F.)
Faith of the Fallen (GOLLANCZ S.F.) by Terry Goodkind (Paperback - 10 July 2008)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews