Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How much tinned food do you have?
I love Alex Scarrow's brother's (Simon) Roman novels and I discovered Alex via Simons website while seeing if there was another Macro & Cato coming soo. What I found- a thousand suns- was a pretty good pageturner set in WW2 & the present day. Not a book that made me think by any means but well worth reading.

'Last Light' is different, not least because its set...
Published on 13 Aug. 2007 by Peter Symonds

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great and thought provoking idea but not quite the real deal
There's no doubt that Alex Scarrow researched the Peak Oil topic at length to the point where he seems to have become an evangelist on the subject.

The threats of the issues Scarrow addresses are well, and poignantly made, which makes you wonder especially with some of the Middle East States in some degree of turmoil.

So full credit to Scarrow for...
Published on 22 Mar. 2011 by Jonathan Clark


‹ Previous | 19 10 1116 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A glimpse of the future, maybe., 2 Dec. 2007
By 
Clive Willet "Clive Willet" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Light (Hardcover)
The end of civilization (as we know it), the oil dries up. The action concentrates on the 'Sutherland Family', Andy in Iraq, with the rest in England. Andy Sutherland goes from 'War Zone' to the energy-starved anarchic society which remained. At the same time Andy's daughter Leona is stalked by the dangerous and mysterious Mr Ash. The tension is tangible and is evident through this thriller. Well-worth the reading experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cant put it down, 10 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Last Light (Paperback)
Ive not even finished this book yet, I cant put it down and I have to rate it as 5 stars already!

As the Telegraph says it is very plausible, it is also very well written. I dont want to say too much else as I dont want to ruin the plot for others.

A note to the author though - have you thought about making this into a film, it would be excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scary, 4 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Last Light (Paperback)
A fast read due to being unable to put it down. One night I had to as it was too scary and had to wind down doing something else. Problem is the situation is very real though the speed at which it happens is probably questionable. Still a very good read to find out likely outcomes in such an event perhaps in a different timescale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling because it's possible...., 28 Sept. 2008
By 
Mr. D. J. Walford (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Last Light (Paperback)
In one word.... fantastic !!

The story of Andrew Sutherland.... a man trapped in Iraq when the flow of oil begins to dry up..... however, is Andy really that surprised at sudden world upheavel ?? Maybe, maybe not. He, Jenny his wife and his two children, Leona and Jacob, fight for survival in a changing Britain and world.

Mr. Scarrow captures your imagination from the very start, from the blistering heat of the hostile Iraqi desert, to the dangers of snooping around a large suburban supermarket after order has been destroyed to the fear of a motorway service station siege, terror and fear are abundant throughout. I was reading on the edge of my seat with a nervous tension. I could not put it down, I had, had, had to find out what happened next, how Andy gets to his wife and kids, how Jenny avoids getting raped and why that man is following Leona !!!!

Smoothly written, Mr. Scarrow expertly builds up the image of a Britain at war with itself, where you're not safe ANYWHERE !! Where gangs of youths murder, loot, maim and rape their way through suburban London,
Mr. Scarrow's "Last Light" presents a bleak, bleak portayal of a collapsing world, a book which recreates the post-apocolyptic atmosphere of the 1950s classics of Wyndham, Orwell and Huxley.

If you love that kind of literature then you will love "Last Light". Mark my words, this is going to be a classic... more please Mr. Scarrow...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mostly unputdownable, 18 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Last Light (Paperback)
This was one of those books I bought cheap in a supermarket not expecting much from it.

I have to say I did not put the book down til I had finished it late that evening and have to say I found it mostly enjoyable.

It made me think about a lot of things mostly how fragile life is, how everything is connected and it made me want to live a simpler life. Incidentally I found myself buying extra supplies at the supermarket the following week without realising it ( as did my mother after she read the book)

I have one or two problems with the book for instance an military unit taking orders from a civilian yeah of course that would happen!

People just hiding behind closed doors awaiting their fate or rescue just peeping behind the curtains at the horror of it all and ignoring everyone else. Again I just dont believe that would happen ( the recent winter weather showed me just how helpful complete strangers are not to mention reports of people helping others out after muggings attacks etc)

The mention of rape, yeah society has broken down i get it evil stuff is gonna happen no need to reapeat it. Also not every man will turn into a rapist as soon as there is no moral/legal restrictions.

And as for the new world order stuff interesting but please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great concept, but pity about the execution...., 17 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Last Light (Paperback)
Orchestrated moves see the world's oil supplies dry up overnight. With it comes obvious international chaos. At this level, I'm very interested because no-one can rule out the scenario.

But the novel then focuses primarily on 3 members of the same family (Andy, Jenny and Leona) who try to reach home and therefore each other. Strangely, and somewhat unbelievably, police forces and food vanish overnight too causing further mayhem.

The book concentrates on the separate plights of the 3 almost on a chapter by chapter basis - i.e. we're with Andy in Iraq for one, then Leona and then Jenny, and so on. But there is frightfully little explanation of who is behind the mess and very little of `the why' too. A little is explained by an assassin trying to kill Leona, however, towards the end.

I would also have to say that the writing and characterisations are unexceptional.

This could have been a great book if the author had developed its potential by adding intrigue to the action. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 25 Jun. 2010
By 
Alexander Haynes "alex_haynes" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Light (Paperback)
Last light is for the most part the story of the downfall of oil based civilisation. The book is based around 3 separate characters: An Oil engineer stuck in Iraq with a decimated platoon of British Marines trying to get home to London to see his family; The oil engineer's soon to be ex-wife trying to get back to London to see her children and finally, the children themselves. Throw in an over-arching conspiracy plot about a global organisation that controls the ebb and flow of civilisations, a smaller organisation trying to counter them, and a very good description of the breakdown in society that would occur should the oil tap every be turned off. The best parts of the book occur in London, where a realistically depicted breakdown progressively turns ordinary, middle-class people into savages. It is chilling to think that it could occur, and after reading it, the thought of how unprepared we all are for such a cataclysm does stick with you long after you've put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 18 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Light (Paperback)
Started off a bit slow, but this books gains and gains momentum! bought the sequel and its waiting for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars last light by Alex Scarrow, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Light (Paperback)
Excellent Alex Scarrow is one of my favourite authors. I have also read after light and two His e books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. S. Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Light (Kindle Edition)
Really engaging book, occasionally implausible in some respects but overall, scary food for thought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 1116 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last Light
Last Light by Alex Scarrow (Hardcover - 25 July 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews