Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars55
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 12 April 2008
This book is superb. It's the most entertaining wrestling book I've ever read, and as a journey there are few as unique as that of Chris Jericho. If you are looking at this page and therefore have a modicom of interest in this book, buy it immediately.

The purpose for this review is actually to address one issue. In a number of the reviews you'll read on this page; the principle gripe is with where the book ends; i.e. with the countdown to Jericho's August 1999 WWF debut. There is good news. A second book is in development.

Jericho has confirmed the release of a second book via Lance Storm's official website, He wrote an article on Storm's website regarding his book and the reaction to it thus far. Jericho said the first book left the book open for a sequel because the first one only focuses on the stage in his life in which he is trying to achieve his dream of joining WWE. Once he got to WWE, that stage in his life was over. He has signed a new book deal for the second book with Grand Central. The second book will be called "Undisputed Attitude," which as you would imagine, will be an indepth look into his WWE tenure. The title is a reference to both the Attitude Era and his Undisputed Championship reign. It is also an homage to the Slayer compilation album of the same name. The second book will be released in the US and Canada in Autumn 2009, with a UK release following shortly after that.

Hope that helps you guys out. In the meantime, pick up this book. Even if you've never watched professional wrestling, this book will entertain you. Jericho's writing style is very inviting, witty and down to earth, with more Spinal Tap references than you can shake a stick at.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 17 May 2009
There's no doubting that Chris Jericho is one of the biggest names in wrestling right now, but it always wasn't that way. One read of this book will tell you that. For people expecting a full account of his wwe run will be disappointed as this book stops just as he makes his debut on raw is war in 1999 (he is writing a second book to cover that part of his career).

This book covers his early career from his time in Canada, Mexico, Japan and finally getting a chance in the United States with Paul Heyman's ecw. You will learn of his frustration of been in wcw and being wasted because he wasn't big enough. You will learn about his personal life and how he dealt with his mother being a paraplegic.

But what stands out most is that this is one of the funniest books you will ever read and that Jericho has a funny story for every event that takes place.

What becomes obvious from this book is that Jericho is part of a dying breed of wrestler, one that has to pay his dues and doesn't get to main event status in six months. You will learn of his friendship with Chris Benoit and Eddie Guerrero and how their careers took similar paths.

This book is highly recommended and when your done reading this you will be counting the days to his next book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 13 April 2013
A Lion's Tale: Around the World In Spandex.

By Chris Jericho.

Published by Grand Central Publishing.

Released October 25, 2007.

432 Pages, paperback.

A record setting 9 time WWE intercontinental champion, the first ever undisputed WWE heavyweight champion, 3 time world heavyweight champion, author of two autobiographies, lead vocalist for the heavy metal band Fozzy, radio show host, and a 22 year professional wrestling veteran who has entertained millions of fans across the globe. That is just some of Chris Jericho's many accolades, many of which he doesn't accomplish in A Lion's Tale, this is his story along the long and winding road to what he considered growing up, the promise land.

Canadian born Chris Jericho is well know as one of the most charismatic performers in recent memory, as you would imagine this transcends through his words for the entire read. Jericho naturally starts by telling the reader of a life growing up as the son of a famous National Hockey League player, Ted Irvine, and the reason he has such a passion to lead him to pursue a dream of being apart of what appears to be the glamorous scene of professional wrestling. Recounting applying for the training undertook, where he would meet Lance Storm, with members of the famous Hart wrestling family, only to find out things aren't quite what they seem. The story really begins to accelerate when Chris leaves Canada and America to go to Mexico where he would start to meet up rising talent such as Rey Mysterio Jr. and Eddie Guerrero, the humour in the events that occur really excels from this point forward also. Jericho subsequently takes us from CMLL, Mexico over the oceans to Germany, back to America to fly you all the way to Wrestling Association 'R' [formerly, Wrestling and Romance] in Japan, before finally settling in America with a little company rocking the world of professional wrestling called Extreme Championship Wrestling. Bluntly discussing his relationship with Paul Heyman with an apparent openness, Jericho would then venture to one of the two big companies in Northern America, World Championship Wrestling. The chapter on his stay in Atlanta is the longest and possibly the most interesting as it covers arguably the most exciting time in wrestling history over the period known as the Monday Night Wars. Chris holds nothing back when discussing his tenure with WCW or what he thinks of certain superstars, leaving it all on the table. There are countless stories included in all these chapters letting the reader into the life of Chris Jericho behind the scenes with his colleagues and friends. Finally finishing off after the negotiations are complete with the World Wrestling Federation in Stamford Connecticut and the clock hits zero on Monday Night Raw ready for the debut of the Ayatollah of Rock 'N' Rollah.

A Lion's Tale: Around the World in Spandex is a crescendo of a read, starting off slowly building the readers interest as you read each page, until the ultimate climax and the achievement of a life time and it ends on the ultimate cliff hanger leaving you almost gasping for the second volume. The Chris Jericho charm secretly draws you further into the story subconsciously without you even realising it, a witty but slightly long read, however it is worth persevering past the slow start to reach the action packed, entertainment rich bulk of the autobiography.

4/5 Stars

By Jimmy Wheeler
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 28 February 2008
Wrestling superstar and heavy metal singer Chris Jericho has seen it all and done it all, and until now we assumed he had done it in style. He climbed the ladder in the WWF/WWE, capturing every title (save the Women's) the company had to offer and eventually defeating The Rock and "Stone Cold" Steve Austin on the same night to become the first Undisputed Champion. He is known throughout the world as The Ayatollah of Rock 'n' Rolla, our party host, and one of the few wrestlers in the WWE today who can pull off a bloody good wrestling match.

But "A Lion's Tale" barely bats an eyelid at this. Instead the focus of the book is on Jericho's rise to fame as he tackles through the hardships of life, love and the wrestling business, and Y2J spares no details. If he's not being held at gunpoint or hounded by Japanese "dogs", he's simply learning the harsh facts that will only push him further towards his dream. That or he has the squits.

What separates "A Lion's Tale" from other Autobiographies is that it's almost impossible to put down. Deducting time for eating, sleeping, working and travelling, the longest I put this book down for was about five minutes, and it took a lot of restraint to do it too. Jericho has an amazing knack for storytelling, and with each passing chapter you feel compelled to read on regardless of what time it is or why the police are outside.

If you like the wrestling business or not, A Lion's Tale is one book you have to buy. Jericho tells his inspirational story of a young boy's dream with brutal honesty and brilliant humour, and is quite possibly better then Mick Foley's. I guess only time will tell.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 17 October 2009
This is such an entertaining book from start ti finish i had me hooked. Like most wrestling bio's it tells the story of how he got into the business and how he got to where he is, in this case he takes us up up until the moment he debuts with wwe. It is full of great backstage stories that are both interesting and funny. Jericho knows how to tell a story and how to keep you entertained one story in particular involving a red neck fan made video is very funny. In the end he has you in the palm of his hand demanding more! Its good to hear then that he is in the process of writing the follow up i cant wait to read it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 2 March 2009
Having been a wrestling fan for around a decade now and grown up with it, Chris Jericho has always been a favourite of mine, whether he's a fan favourite or a heel. It was also wrestling that turned me back to reading books as a teenager, with great autobiographies such as those written by the Kurt Angle, Ric Flair, The Rock, Stone Cold, Edge, The Hardys, Jerry Lawler and of course the literary God that is Mick Foley. However A lion's tale by Chris Jericho is by far the most entertaining wrestling literature I have read thus far, and it is great news to hear that a sequel is indeed in the works.

Starting with the infamous countdown, the story begins and as with any Chris Jericho match, there are many twists and turns that always leave you second guessing just what will happen next. The book then ends with the countdown clock once again ticking down as Jericho prepares to finally realise his life long dream of performing in the WWF as it was then called! This sets us up perfectly for the sequel (which in case you haven't noticed, I can't wait for JUNIOR!).

Overall, if you're a wrestling fan, you will absolutely love this book! If you're not a wrestling fan, well, I'm afraid you'll also love this book! A must buy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 30 March 2009
I thought this book was brilliant, even managed to finish it in two days with about 15 hours of complete reading. I've always like Jericho, but to be fair knew very little about him before his debut in WWF, so this book was very insightful in to his career prior to that point. Reading about his honesty about past events, his meetings with future colleagues and funny uses of words he precedes with Jeri made this book definitely worth reading for me. I actually felt excitement when I read the final chapter and I hope he writes a sequel.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 18 March 2008
This is one of the funniest wrestling books out there. I always find it strange when some of the best promo people in wrestling always say that they are shy and introverted. Does not sound the Y2J I and millions and millions of people do know. Y2J takes you on a round the world trip of the wrestling territories; he starts and finishes the book with the count down to his WWE début. Which leaves the book open for a sequal for his WWE years.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 22 October 2009
I own every single wrestler book out there from Batista to Shawm Michaels and I have to say this ranks up as one of my favourite.

I'm not really one for long reviews but even if you are remotely interested in old school wrestling, Chris Jericho or hilarious tales of around the world travel then buy this book.

A sequel is coming soon picking up where this book left off right at his WWE debut so hurry up and read this!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2010
This was one of my first forays into wrestling or indeed any kind of autobiography. Y2J has been one of my all time fave wrestlers and knowing his skill on the mic i decided, hey if he can write great promos why not a book? I am so glad i was right.

It is hilariously funny! You can hear his wrestling promo voice sometimes as u read which shows this was indeed chris irvine/jericho's work. The wrestling business insight was great and the personal story was heartfelt. Also how, to make it to the big time, he sacrificed and trained with laser focus.

How his wrestling style was molded in Canada, Mexico, Japan, Germany, ECW, WCW and, of course the WWE are all shown in Lionheart's CV. I've always loved how his hybrid style worked in storytelling in the ring and you find out here how he learned promos, catchers catch can, lucha libre and traditional american wrestling styles.

Hats off to one of the greats and one of the best autobiographies ive ever read. Also recommend Mick Foles Have a Nice Day. I just ordered Mick's 2 follow ups!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Have a Nice Day: A Tale of Blood and Sweatsocks
Have a Nice Day: A Tale of Blood and Sweatsocks by Mick Foley (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Oct. 2000)

Undisputed: How to Become World Champion in 1,372 Easy Steps
Undisputed: How to Become World Champion in 1,372 Easy Steps by Chris Jericho (Paperback - 6 Oct. 2011)

The Best in the World: At What I Have No Idea
The Best in the World: At What I Have No Idea by Chris Jericho (Paperback - 13 Aug. 2015)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.