Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sequel Is On It's Way, So Buy A Lion's Tale Right Now~!, 12 April 2008
By 
C. A. O'Sullivan "Breffni O'Sullivan" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is superb. It's the most entertaining wrestling book I've ever read, and as a journey there are few as unique as that of Chris Jericho. If you are looking at this page and therefore have a modicom of interest in this book, buy it immediately.

The purpose for this review is actually to address one issue. In a number of the reviews you'll read on this page; the principle gripe is with where the book ends; i.e. with the countdown to Jericho's August 1999 WWF debut. There is good news. A second book is in development.

Jericho has confirmed the release of a second book via Lance Storm's official website, StormWrestling.com. He wrote an article on Storm's website regarding his book and the reaction to it thus far. Jericho said the first book left the book open for a sequel because the first one only focuses on the stage in his life in which he is trying to achieve his dream of joining WWE. Once he got to WWE, that stage in his life was over. He has signed a new book deal for the second book with Grand Central. The second book will be called "Undisputed Attitude," which as you would imagine, will be an indepth look into his WWE tenure. The title is a reference to both the Attitude Era and his Undisputed Championship reign. It is also an homage to the Slayer compilation album of the same name. The second book will be released in the US and Canada in Autumn 2009, with a UK release following shortly after that.

Hope that helps you guys out. In the meantime, pick up this book. Even if you've never watched professional wrestling, this book will entertain you. Jericho's writing style is very inviting, witty and down to earth, with more Spinal Tap references than you can shake a stick at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU WILL BECOME A JERICHOLIC!, 17 May 2009
By 
nin/ja77 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
There's no doubting that Chris Jericho is one of the biggest names in wrestling right now, but it always wasn't that way. One read of this book will tell you that. For people expecting a full account of his wwe run will be disappointed as this book stops just as he makes his debut on raw is war in 1999 (he is writing a second book to cover that part of his career).

This book covers his early career from his time in Canada, Mexico, Japan and finally getting a chance in the United States with Paul Heyman's ecw. You will learn of his frustration of been in wcw and being wasted because he wasn't big enough. You will learn about his personal life and how he dealt with his mother being a paraplegic.

But what stands out most is that this is one of the funniest books you will ever read and that Jericho has a funny story for every event that takes place.

What becomes obvious from this book is that Jericho is part of a dying breed of wrestler, one that has to pay his dues and doesn't get to main event status in six months. You will learn of his friendship with Chris Benoit and Eddie Guerrero and how their careers took similar paths.

This book is highly recommended and when your done reading this you will be counting the days to his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lion's Tale: Around The World In Spandex, 28 Feb 2008
By 
Wrestling superstar and heavy metal singer Chris Jericho has seen it all and done it all, and until now we assumed he had done it in style. He climbed the ladder in the WWF/WWE, capturing every title (save the Women's) the company had to offer and eventually defeating The Rock and "Stone Cold" Steve Austin on the same night to become the first Undisputed Champion. He is known throughout the world as The Ayatollah of Rock 'n' Rolla, our party host, and one of the few wrestlers in the WWE today who can pull off a bloody good wrestling match.

But "A Lion's Tale" barely bats an eyelid at this. Instead the focus of the book is on Jericho's rise to fame as he tackles through the hardships of life, love and the wrestling business, and Y2J spares no details. If he's not being held at gunpoint or hounded by Japanese "dogs", he's simply learning the harsh facts that will only push him further towards his dream. That or he has the squits.

What separates "A Lion's Tale" from other Autobiographies is that it's almost impossible to put down. Deducting time for eating, sleeping, working and travelling, the longest I put this book down for was about five minutes, and it took a lot of restraint to do it too. Jericho has an amazing knack for storytelling, and with each passing chapter you feel compelled to read on regardless of what time it is or why the police are outside.

If you like the wrestling business or not, A Lion's Tale is one book you have to buy. Jericho tells his inspirational story of a young boy's dream with brutal honesty and brilliant humour, and is quite possibly better then Mick Foley's. I guess only time will tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Break down the walls!, 2 Mar 2009
By 
Having been a wrestling fan for around a decade now and grown up with it, Chris Jericho has always been a favourite of mine, whether he's a fan favourite or a heel. It was also wrestling that turned me back to reading books as a teenager, with great autobiographies such as those written by the Kurt Angle, Ric Flair, The Rock, Stone Cold, Edge, The Hardys, Jerry Lawler and of course the literary God that is Mick Foley. However A lion's tale by Chris Jericho is by far the most entertaining wrestling literature I have read thus far, and it is great news to hear that a sequel is indeed in the works.

Starting with the infamous countdown, the story begins and as with any Chris Jericho match, there are many twists and turns that always leave you second guessing just what will happen next. The book then ends with the countdown clock once again ticking down as Jericho prepares to finally realise his life long dream of performing in the WWF as it was then called! This sets us up perfectly for the sequel (which in case you haven't noticed, I can't wait for JUNIOR!).

Overall, if you're a wrestling fan, you will absolutely love this book! If you're not a wrestling fan, well, I'm afraid you'll also love this book! A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the undisputed champ of wrestling bio's!, 17 Oct 2009
This review is from: A Lion's Tale: Around the World in Spandex (Paperback)
This is such an entertaining book from start ti finish i had me hooked. Like most wrestling bio's it tells the story of how he got into the business and how he got to where he is, in this case he takes us up up until the moment he debuts with wwe. It is full of great backstage stories that are both interesting and funny. Jericho knows how to tell a story and how to keep you entertained one story in particular involving a red neck fan made video is very funny. In the end he has you in the palm of his hand demanding more! Its good to hear then that he is in the process of writing the follow up i cant wait to read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ayatollah indeed..., 30 Mar 2009
By 
R. Gilbert (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thought this book was brilliant, even managed to finish it in two days with about 15 hours of complete reading. I've always like Jericho, but to be fair knew very little about him before his debut in WWF, so this book was very insightful in to his career prior to that point. Reading about his honesty about past events, his meetings with future colleagues and funny uses of words he precedes with Jeri made this book definitely worth reading for me. I actually felt excitement when I read the final chapter and I hope he writes a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destination WWF/E, 18 Mar 2008
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the funniest wrestling books out there. I always find it strange when some of the best promo people in wrestling always say that they are shy and introverted. Does not sound the Y2J I and millions and millions of people do know. Y2J takes you on a round the world trip of the wrestling territories; he starts and finishes the book with the count down to his WWE début. Which leaves the book open for a sequal for his WWE years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best wrestler auto-biography., 22 Oct 2009
By 
J. Freeman "The Free Man" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Lion's Tale: Around the World in Spandex (Paperback)
I own every single wrestler book out there from Batista to Shawm Michaels and I have to say this ranks up as one of my favourite.

I'm not really one for long reviews but even if you are remotely interested in old school wrestling, Chris Jericho or hilarious tales of around the world travel then buy this book.

A sequel is coming soon picking up where this book left off right at his WWE debut so hurry up and read this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foley was right to worry..., 21 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. I. M. Bowden (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lion's Tale, A (Hardcover)
One of the comments on the back of this book is Mick Foley tongue in cheek wondering if it will be regarding funnier than his. It is. The only reason I have put this book down since picking it up is time constraints. It is in depth without being long winded and covers his life and career up to his first WWE debut - a great place to start a sequel if he chooses to write one, and if he doesn't, "reaching his dream" is also a good place to finish this book. It is funny throughout but serious where necessary. His descriptions on fellow wrestlers are full, i.e. he doesn't always go on first impressions. It gives an insight into the wrestling business worldwide. He shows confidence in his abilities throughout but is not afraid to critique himself either. Overall a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a must-read for all jericoholics, 25 Mar 2008
I love this book - funny, insightful, touching, and inspiring.

Y2J is clearly a wrestling fan and comes across as a fan of the business, which is great. Jericho doesn't sugar coat anything in this book, and discusses his travels and life on the road with an honesty that is lacking in other autobiographies. This book covers Jericho until his count down to 'the millenium' i.e. joining the wwe with the familiar clock countdown.

My only gripe with this book (and I stress this is my ONLY issue with the entire book) is that is did not cover his WWE (then WWF) days. The book stops as the countdown hits zero and Jericho walks through the WWE curtain for the first time to interupt the rock (and if you didnt see it look for it on youtube - very funny segment).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Lion's Tale: Around the World in Spandex
A Lion's Tale: Around the World in Spandex by Chris Jericho (Paperback - 13 Nov 2008)
Used & New from: £12.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews