Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously chilly horror thriller set in the past and present
I've said it before and I'll say it again, and many times more I'm sure, Alex Scarrow has a fine imagination. He is also a remarkable storyteller with the power to pull the reader into the tale alongside characters who are not only lifelike, they are extremely intriguing as well.

In October Skies, one of Scarrow's books for adults, the author turns his...
Published on 2 Feb 2012 by Kate

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars overly long, and quite repetitive
Overly long, and quite repetitive. I had as much interest in the modern day part of the storyline as in the latter day part, unfortunately the modern day part was fairly superficial. The dual personality part of the storyline was not really to my liking.

Should add that I have thoroughly enjoyed all other books that I have read from this author. I started...
Published 2 months ago by Ter


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously chilly horror thriller set in the past and present, 2 Feb 2012
By 
Kate (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: October Skies (Paperback)
I've said it before and I'll say it again, and many times more I'm sure, Alex Scarrow has a fine imagination. He is also a remarkable storyteller with the power to pull the reader into the tale alongside characters who are not only lifelike, they are extremely intriguing as well.

In October Skies, one of Scarrow's books for adults, the author turns his attention to parallel tales, one taking place in the 1850s in the Sierra Nevada Mountains, California, and the other set during the presidential elections of 2008. When journalist Julian Cooke comes across the wheel of a wagon, lost in the woods, he realises that he may have found another `Donner Incident', the remains of another wagon trail that vanished to history and became lost in myth and folklore, which here focuses upon a figure known locally as the Rag Man. Julian's suspicions and interest are increased when he also finds buried a journal.

This novel, then, moves between the technoworld of the present day journalists and the past world of the journal, written by Ben Lambert, a man searching for adventure and inspiration among the pioneers of the wagon trains. He travels with a group that mainly comprises Mormons who have left others of their religion and instead have chosen to follow their charismatic leader Preston into the unknown. When winter draws in earlier than expected, the mountains prove impossible to cross, and so the travellers must become settlers, surviving in the most inhospitable of environments while trying to maintain civility. This all falls to pieces when a woman is found brutally murdered in the woods. Something is let loose.

This gripping story, which is so vivid you can almost share the intense cold, hunger and fear of the travellers, is told alongside that of Julian Cooke and his friends. As he tries to hold onto his exclusive, Julian slowly becomes aware that forces are as much at work against him as they were against Ben Franklin. As the mystery grows, and its significance increases, the danger becomes more intense, especially when it becomes clear that Cooke's discovery may have an impact on the presidential election currently underway.

October Skies is horror, thriller and historical fiction combined. We can be in no doubt that something terrifying has gripped the camp of suffering settlers as they try in vain to keep the other world of the wood from their camp and keep a grip on their religion. While these scenes from the 1850s are scene stealers, I did find myself continually wanting to remain in whichever of the stories I found myself at the time. With twists and turns, madness and ghosts around every corner and behind every tree, Ben and Joseph are in great danger. While I admit that I may be easier to frighten than many, October Skies is deliciously chilly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly Dark, 12 Jun 2011
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: October Skies (Paperback)
October Skies is another exceptional thriller from Alex Scarrow, he is book by book establishing himself as one of the best thriller writers around.
Check out his other titles Last Light & A Thousand Suns
His use of the time slip style is second to none, each chapter building the story and tension until the amazing conclusion. The mark of a good thriller writer is to keep you guessing, and October Skies does just that all the way to the end. The characters are as usual Alex's strong point, he develops each person brilliantly, no thriller works unless you care what happens to the character and Alex makes you do just that.
I also think the book delivers a scary image of just what could happen in the US, thanks to the power of religion in US politics.

I can't wait to see what Alex produces next.
(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alex Scarrow has written another winner - his best yet!!, 6 Nov 2008
By 
Mr N Forbes-warren "author of RESURGENCE and ... (Newport, South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: October Skies (Paperback)
I first discovered Alex Scarrow through stumbling across his peak oil apocalypse thriller LAST LIGHT, which was for me, both riveting and gripping - not to mention life-changing with the issues it raised. Then read A THOUSAND SUNS and now his new novel OCTOBER SKIES goes beyond these to a whole new level of brilliance.
In OCTOBER SKIES, Julian Cooke, an ambitious young media flyboy who owns a reality/documentary TV station is in the Sierra Nevada mountains when he discovers the remains of a pioneer wagon train buried in the forests. Also there is a diary of one Benjamin Lambert, one of the travellers, which forms a parallel historic plot set in 1856 when the wagon train becomes stuck in severe snow. Then people begin to die, and strange things begin to occur - who is The Rag Man, why are the local Native American Indians involved, and what secret is religious zealot William Preston keeping?

In the present day, Julian investigates the 1856 events and it soon becomes apparent that someone wants to keep the lid on things, even if it means committing murder!

The plotting of the 1856 and 2008 timelines and what linked events was spot on, especially loved the vivid detail and no-holds barred gruesome murders during the 1856 scenes. Real old-school horror in parts reminiscent of Graham Masterton! I have to say that William Preston's character was suitably menacing and misguided what with the "angel's voices" he heard in his head, you could feel the chill of the mountain winter too!!

Altogether, great to read something with an original twist and the timeslip techinque worked a treat. Along with THE FINAL RECKONING by Sam Bourne, best read of 2008!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: October Skies (Kindle Edition)
Another great Alex Scarrow book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars overly long, and quite repetitive, 8 May 2014
By 
Ter (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: October Skies (Kindle Edition)
Overly long, and quite repetitive. I had as much interest in the modern day part of the storyline as in the latter day part, unfortunately the modern day part was fairly superficial. The dual personality part of the storyline was not really to my liking.

Should add that I have thoroughly enjoyed all other books that I have read from this author. I started out thinking that I was also going to enjoy this one - but it was just not quite right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very interesting subject matter, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: October Skies (Kindle Edition)
A great story set in two time periods. One covers the trek from East to west USA by a varied bunch of people in the 1800's the other in modern day where some reporters stumble across their story.
in the 1800's the story centres around the Mormons who have some very dark secrets amongst them. Once the wagon train is held up by snow the mood becomes very dark and events quickly turn gruesome.
The modern day story is more political and a little less interesting. I'm not sure why the two main characters have this apparent 'will they won't they' thing going on. It really doesn't work and seems totally unnecessary.
The ending is a little contrived for my liking and how someone manages to escape the wilderness with a broken femur is beyond belief. Still, a gripping tale and well worth a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting and chillling, 19 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: October Skies (Kindle Edition)
I found Alex Scarrow by chance trying to find a good read. Well, Mr.Scarrow you definitely rate up there with the best. I just cannot get this story out of my head. How brave those pioneers were to take on the journey that they did comes to life with this story, you are there with them, unbelievable, scary, chilling, haunting and realistic. I was unable to put this book down. Even five stars doesn't do this author or book justice but that is only how much you can rate it, it really should be a ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but flawed..., 24 Jan 2010
This review is from: October Skies (Paperback)
The book is split between present day (2008) and 1856. Our modern day protagonist, finds a diary from 1856 chronicling the journey through the Rockies by a group of settlers. A mixed bunch (Mormons, Irish etc) the diary of English Gentleman, Ben Lambert tells of the stresses and strains as the different groups struggle to pull together through the harsh journey and the tragedy that befalls them all.

The book reads fantastically well, is gripping and suspenseful. However, for me personally, the inclusion of the Presidential candidate in the present day time-line completely ruined it for me, it was clumsy and unnecessary and actually detracts from the book as a whole.

So for that 2 stars....disappointing as the idea was fantastic and started off so well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, 27 Oct 2008
This review is from: October Skies (Paperback)
Scarrow has really put the boot into the Mormon church. It's inevitable then that some readers will love it and some will really loathe it for that reason. As a result I expected to see a slew of five star and one star reviews, and already it seems that pattern is taking place.

For my money, religion-bashing aside, October Skies is a chilling historical/present day thriller with a sort of creepiness that reminded me at times of Thomas Harris' Red Dragon. Pretty good stuff. I couldn't put it down!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea but flawed, 4 Sep 2009
By 
Jonathan Clark "Great Black Hawk" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: October Skies (Paperback)
The idea behind this book was interesting.
The setting presented the author a rich vein of decsriptive text which was highly evocative.
There is increasing popularity with solving crimes buried in the past like "Waking the Dead" which has proved very popular.
This novel switched seamlessly from the 1850's to 2008 and this worked alot better than I imagined.
However it did become somewhat tedious at times and the main character Julian seemed a bit gormless.
For example the author introduced key clues during the book which Julian seemed slow to cotton on to and in some cases not at all.
There was also the incident with Dr Tom Grifiths which seemed to go completely undetected after the event happened.
It seemed like either superficial padding or the author not joining the dots.
I crawled to the end and whilst there was a final twist felt slightly let down by the end of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

October Skies
October Skies by Alex Scarrow (Paperback - 24 Sep 2009)
5.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews