Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fairacre Stable
Excellent series as are all Miss Read series. A way of life I remember only too well in my childhood and the whole is well penned describing life just, as indeed, it was. One cared about the characters and it's good to know that when the last page of the last book was turned over, all the characters were not gone but simply within the covers of those books to open again...
Published on 21 Sept. 2011 by Reading Girl

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fed up
The parcel came on time,and was in good shape on arrival didnt play as a second hand tape so i was pleased with that,thoughtafter it was a bit expensive for a 3 hour story,would i do it again no.
Published on 12 Dec. 2011 by mary


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fairacre Stable, 21 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Farewell to Fairacre (Paperback)
Excellent series as are all Miss Read series. A way of life I remember only too well in my childhood and the whole is well penned describing life just, as indeed, it was. One cared about the characters and it's good to know that when the last page of the last book was turned over, all the characters were not gone but simply within the covers of those books to open again whenever one wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic escapisim, 2 Dec. 2001
By 
This review is from: Farewell to Fairacre (Paperback)
Miss Read does it again with her writting about village life. She is back in Fairacre with all the usual characters, Bob Willet and the usual Mrs Pringle with her bad leg when things don't go her way. In this book Miss Read must decide if to take early retirement as her health has not been as good as it should have been. After a few sleepless nights she decides that she will retire.
The local grapevine is working overtime and the village gossips are doing what they do best. Also in this book, much to her annoyance, Miss Read has two gentlemen wanting her attention. If you loved the other Fairacre books you are sure to love this one too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fairacre Series, 2 Aug. 2012
By 
S. Coverdale "Library Lady" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farewell to Fairacre (Paperback)
I have just finished reading the Fairacre series by Miss Read, and have enjoyed all the books. They are gentle and nostalgic, and for people of a certain age, evoke memories of childhood. Miss Read (Dora Saint) died this year, but leaves behind her a wonderful legacy, in both the Fairacre and Thrush Green series, and all her other books. The book arrived very promptly, and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful as ever, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic Miss Read - it is a pity they don't do a Fairacre collection of Miss Read's books like the Thrush Green ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutly great, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Again goo reading that is light and easy to read no dreadful deep depressions as you find in a lot of books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Farewell to Fairacre, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I eagerly awaited the arrival of this book and when it arrived I was not dissapointed, from the first sentence to the last full stop I was transported to a village, earwigging on conversations all based in a simpler time where life takes a slower pace. My only wish is that the books were longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read as always. Perfect for a relaxing hour before bed time. Reading these is like reading about old friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dora Saint, 22 Jan. 2013
By 
Ursula Osborne "Ursula" (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Miss Read's stories, very sad that there will not be any more. I attended a village school and the image of the tortoise stove and the pile of coke, plus the ticking off for mountaineering, brings back a myriad of happy memories.

Her books are gentle and give an amazing insight into village life; the undercurrents and gossip and the genuine care that people show for one another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Farewell To Fairacre, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farewell to Fairacre (Paperback)
A lovely story, written superbly. "Miss Read" always wrote her characters with integrity, and used the most beautiful English. The writing is unsentimental, yet affectionate; cannot recommend her work highly enough. She should have been made a Dame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars farewell to fairacre, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Familiar names and places transported me instantly into this time and place that is fairacre. Miss Read has made her characters so believable in her village which too is reminiscent of just such in my childhood memories. A delight from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Farewell to Fairacre
Farewell to Fairacre by Miss Read (Paperback - 7 Jan. 2010)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews