Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual coming of age story
Having now read a few of his Rebus novels, I picked this book up looking for something different by Ian Rankin. I wasn't disappointed.

The Flood is an unusual coming-of-age narrative that takes place in a small Scottish ex-mining community over two generations. It handles a range of themes including small town prejudice, alcholism, bigotry, incest, abuse, guilt...
Published on 8 Oct 2008 by B. C. Rost

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing tale
This is the first of Rankin's novel and shows great promise. The story is dark and tense, the characters complex and the narrative engaging. The story is about finding one's place in the world and growing up. Superstition and suspense are well mixed to create a disturbing plot.

On the negative side, the plot felt forced at times and the novel itself could have...
Published on 31 Jan 2010 by Dona Rendell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual coming of age story, 8 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: The Flood (Paperback)
Having now read a few of his Rebus novels, I picked this book up looking for something different by Ian Rankin. I wasn't disappointed.

The Flood is an unusual coming-of-age narrative that takes place in a small Scottish ex-mining community over two generations. It handles a range of themes including small town prejudice, alcholism, bigotry, incest, abuse, guilt and social isolation. It tracks two generations of a family from the 1970s to the present day as the social infrastructure of their surrounding community gradually disintegrates and self-destructs.

Mostly the narrative is taken from the view of a boy as he comes of age in a bigotted community that shuns his mother and questions his parenthood. This is a richly painted narrative full of sensitive insight and deep characterisation.

I won't say more - I found the novel moving and interesting. Although there is partial resolution at the end - one of the central mysteries is clarified - it does feel incomplete as if more is to come.

Nevertheless a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing tale, 31 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Flood (Paperback)
This is the first of Rankin's novel and shows great promise. The story is dark and tense, the characters complex and the narrative engaging. The story is about finding one's place in the world and growing up. Superstition and suspense are well mixed to create a disturbing plot.

On the negative side, the plot felt forced at times and the novel itself could have been shortened; while reading the book, I often thought that omitting parts of it would have made it much better.

Overall, a good story with complex characters, nostaligic and dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Must-read for fans only, 22 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Flood (Paperback)
This edition of the first published novel of the later creator of Edinburgh police inspector John Rebus, is introduced by Rankin himself bemusedly, but highly interestingly, which surely adds value to the tale he now describes as a young man’s book. It is situated in 1969 and 1985 in a small coal mining town in Scotland’s Fife county endowed with plenty of mutual support in good times and bad. But also with stifling social control, gossip, superstition and exclusion of persons considered intolerably different (gypsies) or called witches. [Rankin ranks Fife as one of three counties with strong historical records of witch hunting and –burning].
Mary is 10 when some bigger lads push her into the drainage channel of the local mine’s coal washing plant, and almost drowns. Overnight her hair turns from black to silver white. Soon after, one of the lads is killed in a freak mining accident. From then on, Mary is shunned and considered a witch. She becomes pregnant at age 15 and has a son, Sandy, black-haired, bright in school, even making friends in the town where the mine has closed down, future prospects are dim and many people are bitter. The town assumes Mary’s older brother Tom, who left for Canada early in 1970, is the father. The plot thickens when Sandy (15) falls in love with gypsy girl Rian…
Readers and reading clubs (there is an Annex with discussion points) are on their own now. But not without some final comments. It is a family history, sometimes quite harsh on the “culture of poverty” of miners and the unemployed. A bleak intimation of Rankin’s later work, with its youth gangs, drunken Saturdays, poor health and dysfunctional families and individuals and his love of Scotland. Also, with so many allusions to Scripture, it is easily Ian Rankin’s most spiritual, “religious” novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars pedestrian, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flood (Paperback)
slow! slow! slow! gave up in the end 2/3 of the way through the book kept on thinking some thing might happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Flood, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flood (Kindle Edition)
I have now read all the Ian Rankin books and this is the only one that I really did not enjoy. I found it confusing and the ending quite unsatisfactory and inconclusive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well pleased, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flood (Kindle Edition)
Well pleased with this download. Read it twice while out in Africa.. I am pleasently suprised as i normally only read books and this kindle book is some thing new to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An early Rankin story, 6 May 2012
By 
Avid reader "Janet" (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Flood (Paperback)
This was Ian Rankin's first novel, before he embarked on the Rebus series. I found it to be a good read, which showed promise of the future novels from his more experienced pen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Flood doesn't happen, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flood (Kindle Edition)
The ending was a bit of an anticlimax, as if Rankin became bored with the story himself and couldn't be bothered continuing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The flood, 13 Jun 2013
By 
J. M. Shaw - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flood (Kindle Edition)
Not what I expected from an Ian Rankin book. I didn't enjoy the story line at all. Much prefer his Rebus stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flood (Kindle Edition)
Rankin always gives good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Flood
The Flood by Ian Rankin (Paperback - 7 Aug 2008)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews