Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Feel-good Novel
This is a great book to curl up with on a cold evening. It's one of those books that you can loose yourself in; and come away happy, convinced there's good in the world after all. The characters are believable and you really feel you want to get to know the central protaganists. However, it's not all schmaltzy slush, it's a great read!
Published on 31 Jan 2002 by Abigail Meridian

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Affairs and Strange Places
I'm becoming more and more disappointed in Erica James. Having read a couple of really good books of hers which started me off as a fan, I've started to feel very despondent. This book came across as being totally unrealistic. The main character was yet another "victim" with little spirit and being down-trodden as Ellen - a doormat whom everyone seemed to walk over and...
Published on 28 April 2011 by Penny


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Feel-good Novel, 31 Jan 2002
This review is from: Airs and Graces (Paperback)
This is a great book to curl up with on a cold evening. It's one of those books that you can loose yourself in; and come away happy, convinced there's good in the world after all. The characters are believable and you really feel you want to get to know the central protaganists. However, it's not all schmaltzy slush, it's a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as always, 14 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Airs and Graces (Paperback)
Erica James always manages to bring her characters to life to such an extent that you end up thinking you know them! I loved the batty Hermione and stuck up Duncan and his dreadful mother. Each story Erica James writes manages to be different, fresh and intriguing. Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining and humerous book, 6 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Airs and Graces (Paperback)
Erica James has the ability to bring her characters to life, I feel as though I personally know Ellen, Hermoine and Jo-Jo, and right from the start I wanted things to work out for all of them. An immensley humerous and entertaining book, easy to read and difficult to put down. My only critism is that the end seemed rather hurried, maybe a sequel would be a good idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Affairs and Strange Places, 28 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airs and Graces (Paperback)
I'm becoming more and more disappointed in Erica James. Having read a couple of really good books of hers which started me off as a fan, I've started to feel very despondent. This book came across as being totally unrealistic. The main character was yet another "victim" with little spirit and being down-trodden as Ellen - a doormat whom everyone seemed to walk over and who was quite happy to let them. I kept thinking "for God's sake woman stand up for yourself". Books like this make me feel frustrated. None of the characters came across as real people, in particular the couple called "Bonkers and Susie" a ridiculous pair. La Carter and Hermione are another potty pair. Yes, potty people can be amusing, but not this lot. I'm about to start "Promises Promises" which I had already purchased. If this one continues along the same lines I shall be looking elsewhere for a good author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Fulfilling Story, 6 Nov 2006
By 
A. Rose (Devon & Menorca) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Airs and Graces (Paperback)
A contemporary style story with mostly modern characters and one or two good `old school' characters that fit together really well. The story holds a good mixture of love, good deeds and friendship. Overall, a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Escapism, 23 Feb 2009
By 
Shouna Falconer (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Airs and Graces (Paperback)
I read this book while unwell and it was a good choice for escapism. The main theme is explicit in the title and half the fun of the book is in witnessing these airs and graces being stripped away. The character of Hermione should come with a health warning for anyone with an allergy to laughter - she had me doubled up, and is truly a work of genius.

However to brand this novel a comedy is to sell it short. It carries a message, and a gentle reminder of what matters in life. Despite being slightly outdone by her eccentric friend Hermione, the main character Ellen is lovable, although most readers will find themselves wishing to shake some sense into her at many points in the narrative. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed, 18 Aug 2012
This review is from: Airs and Graces (Paperback)
I did enjoy this book but could quite happily have shaken Ellen many times. Being pedantic, I also wish authors used proof readers more. instead I think most of them rely on auto check as point in question on page 246, Hermoine lives and has done all her life at Laburnum House and yet in the very next paragraph her then war time boyfriend leaves Orchard House which is in fact a recent building that used to belong to her friend Ellen, Sorry I couldn't resist but it stuck out like a sore thumb to me but regardless of that fact, it was still had me engrossed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice predictable read, 30 April 2011
By 
A. Douglas (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Airs and Graces (Paperback)
In simple terms this is how the story goes: Ellen is dating the wrong man, all of her friends know this. Then she meets the right man (she doesn't realise it yet). The story goes on for a bit and then her boyfriend is revealed as not very nice along with his mother Nadia. Nadia is the predictable cliche of the well off widow who manipulates her son and gets rid of every woman in his life. There are no surprises in this book. Not even when her friend Hermione loses her new beau who lives in the old folks home near her house. It ends exactly as you would expect. This along with all the other Erica James books are based on cliches, the pretty village and feel good endings. Okay for a holiday if you don't want to be thrilled and you don't want to think too much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Airs and Graces, 13 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airs and Graces (Paperback)
A nice gentle read nothing too taxing - story was a bit predictable at times but did not detract from the overall enjoyment of the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read, 19 Jun 2014
This review is from: Airs and Graces (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoying reading Erica James novels and so far since 2004 have read every book released, Fantastic Author. And will carry on doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Airs and Graces
Airs and Graces by Erica James (Paperback - 1 May 2008)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews