Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather like an elongated magazine short story.
I didn't want to put this book down. I felt sympathy for Hilary and could understand her dilemma about whether to confront her husband or not with the fact that she knew he was having an affair. Hilary's gut reaction was not very upfront and she kept relying on other peoples opinions as to what she should do.I found this part rather sad. I thought that this novel was...
Published on 26 July 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The second predictable summer read!
This book follows the story of Hiliary who we met in 'A breath of fresh air'. Once again it's typically middle class style with the pretty chocolate box village, lots of busy bodies and predictable characters and plot. Hiliary is cobvinced her hubby is having an affair. It didn't take more than the next paragraph to realise he wouldn't be but you go through Hilary looking...
Published on 30 April 2011 by A. Douglas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather like an elongated magazine short story., 26 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Time For A Change (Paperback)
I didn't want to put this book down. I felt sympathy for Hilary and could understand her dilemma about whether to confront her husband or not with the fact that she knew he was having an affair. Hilary's gut reaction was not very upfront and she kept relying on other peoples opinions as to what she should do.I found this part rather sad. I thought that this novel was quite similar to a short story that you would find in a women's magazine. The ending became predictable about three-quarters of the way through...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lose yourself in this...., 14 May 2006
By 
R. Chadburn "rachel78" (Chester, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time For A Change (Paperback)
A fantastic, "couldn't put down" book. Its so very easy to read and before you know it the last page is being turned and your reaching for another of Erica James's fantastic reads. A story that really gets you rooting for Hilary and makes you feel like you are right there living in the village too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read, 25 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Sense Of Belonging (Paperback)
This book is the kind of book which you can curl up in bed with and keep reading and reading. The characters are so real especially Jessica. A sense of Belonging has everything a good book should have; laughs,love & a gripping plot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The second predictable summer read!, 30 April 2011
By 
A. Douglas (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time For A Change (Paperback)
This book follows the story of Hiliary who we met in 'A breath of fresh air'. Once again it's typically middle class style with the pretty chocolate box village, lots of busy bodies and predictable characters and plot. Hiliary is cobvinced her hubby is having an affair. It didn't take more than the next paragraph to realise he wouldn't be but you go through Hilary looking sad, changing her hair and trying to sample someone else before right at the end the actual story is revealed. Of course, this ends well for everyone. This focuses a lot on village life with silly dramas such as the shopkeeper selling 'raunchy' tights. The cliched reaction of the villagers is too predictable and you wonder whether these people actualy travel out of the village in their life time. Another holiday read that isn't taxing on the brain and doesn't have any twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complusive reading, Erica James at her best, 17 Sep 2007
By 
M. Lugg "bookworm" (Helston, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Sense Of Belonging (Paperback)
I didn't think the write up of this book on the cover did it justice.

The main characters in this book are just so real and likeable that the pages seem to turn themselves so eager are you to find out more about them and see how the story unravels.

If you're already a fan of Erica James you will know how good she is and if you're new to her then please don't deny yourself any longer, buy her books they are fanastic, easy reading escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great holiday read, 18 Aug 2006
This review is from: A Sense Of Belonging (Paperback)
One does not go to Erica James for profound literature. That is not her target, which she has worked out and serves with great accuracy, and none the worse for that. This one fits into her general pattern of thirty-somethings with middle class lifestyles, good looks and no real shortage of money. The sub plot of MS is interesting and I am prepared to take other reviewers word that it is accurate. I got very tired of the character Kate, who is so beautiful that every man goes for her and so good. I just wanted someone to hit her, and I was not sorry when things began to go wrong for her, which was not I think the effect the author wanted. And her characterisation is weak and her actions not adequately explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good for anyone with MS to read, 15 Mar 2002
This review is from: A Sense Of Belonging (Paperback)
Very enjoyable book - the only book that I have read by Erica James.
Some part of Josh's experiences with MS are abit scary but he copes very well.
Any inspiration for all with MS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the book - easy reading - nice story, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time For A Change (Kindle Edition)
I love Erica James books as they tell such wonderful stories if various characters and how their lives all mix together - as happens in real life.

I had previously read a lot of crime thrillers and needed a change - I have now read many of Erica James books and love them all

Wonderful author - give her books a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time For A Change (Kindle Edition)
Having recently found Erica James, I am working my way through her book titles and I am finding I like her style of writing.
This title is very enjoyable and was sorry to have finished the story. I wanted it to go on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read from Erica J, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time For A Change (Kindle Edition)
All of Erica James' characters come across as real people, very believable. An easy, entertaining read, as are all her books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time For A Change
Time For A Change by Erica James (Paperback - 1 May 2008)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews