Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utter brilliance! With RJ Ellory, that's not really a surprise.
For those accustomed to RJE's unique talent, a new novel brings very high expectations. With many authors such expectation is followed by inevitable disappointment. However, RJE is no mere "normal" talent, and fittingly he again meets and exceeds them.

"The Anniversary Man" is an unstinting feast of all that is engaging about good research, everything that is...
Published on 3 Nov 2009 by Hardeep

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overlong, uninteresting, not entertaining and a bit banal
I did not like this book and resented the time I had to spend in order to finish it! I will try to explain why. As with most, if not all, contributions to the `serial killer' genre it complies with certain conventions; e.g. the world weary cop, the love interest who might `save him from himself', the seedy cast of minor low life characters and, of course, the `whacko'...
Published on 7 Sep 2010 by still searching


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utter brilliance! With RJ Ellory, that's not really a surprise., 3 Nov 2009
By 
Hardeep (wolverhampton) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Anniversary Man (Hardcover)
For those accustomed to RJE's unique talent, a new novel brings very high expectations. With many authors such expectation is followed by inevitable disappointment. However, RJE is no mere "normal" talent, and fittingly he again meets and exceeds them.

"The Anniversary Man" is an unstinting feast of all that is engaging about good research, everything that is terrifying about the darker side to human nature and all that is artistically captivating about skilfully delivered prose.

Ray Irving and John Costello are the major protagonists who drive the story. A spate of killings quickly link into one another, and Detective Ray Irving, of New York's Finest, begins his trail of a serial killer who always seems so many steps ahead of him. Bewildered and frustrated, Irving enlists the help of the unusual Costello, a man emotionally marked by his experience of living beyond a serial killer attack. Costello's special skills and expertise add insight for Irving who brings him on board despite misgivings about Costello's involvement with the mysterious Winterbourne group.

Both Irving and Costello are wonderfully drawn characters, but then so are Karen Langley and Captain Faraday. Ellorys skill in characterisation seems to improve with each novel, and as others have already said the characters stay with you for a long time afterwards. Irving is so real, it's a wonder you can't actually hear him breathing through the book

Ellory also seems to have increased the pace in this novel, not that I complained in the past, his prose is the sort that you wish to savour rather than rush, but the pace suited on this occasion, making it a devour all, oh my goodness is that the time, sort of read.

The lucid descriptions and exceptional research bring to life the structure and format of a police investigation, a gritty look at what real-life police analysis is, and what a detective would have to deal with. In many movies and novels, we see an almost inhuman intelligence or unlikely quantities of serendipity which lead to resolution. Not with this novel, it is another tour de force, bold realism, living breathing characters, skilful prose and industrious groundwork come together to produce a final third of finesse, skill and tension.

There are sections of the story that are harrowing, that create an emotional effect, but you also are left with the notion of the inherent decency of people pulling through all that life throws at them. Superb by Ellory, and as with his other works, I recommend you read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overlong, uninteresting, not entertaining and a bit banal, 7 Sep 2010
By 
still searching (MK UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Anniversary Man (Paperback)
I did not like this book and resented the time I had to spend in order to finish it! I will try to explain why. As with most, if not all, contributions to the `serial killer' genre it complies with certain conventions; e.g. the world weary cop, the love interest who might `save him from himself', the seedy cast of minor low life characters and, of course, the `whacko' perpetrating the crimes.

It is also characterized by, obviously, painstaking research, much of which is a little too often too conspicuously on show. However, my main gripe is that it is neither that interesting nor that entertaining which are, after all, the main reasons most people begin to read a book in the first place. The prologue goes on forever and the whole thing, rather than building tension in the way that the best of the current exponents of the genre seem capable of doing, it seems to meander along interminably with meeting after meeting during which nothing much gets done or discussed and the same point is made time after time using the same banal dialogue.

I shan't read another of this author's unless there is definitely nothing else available. But, it's not all doom and gloom; thank God I have a couple of Michael Connelly's and James Lee Burke's waiting on the shelf!

And now we find (03/09/12), he has been lauding to the skies his own books as an Amazon reviewer, under the names of Jelly Bean and Nicodemus Jones, and who knows how many others, whilst slamming those of his rivals. Given the outlandishly hyperbolic nature of most of the early favourable reviews he may have a whole family of alter-egos. Why this hasn't been investigated more widely by Amazon goodness only knows but there is still a great deal of evidence left on various 'reviews'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A huge disappointment, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Anniversary Man (Paperback)
Having read and thoroughly enjoyed 'A quiet belief in Angels' I was looking forward to reading this new story. It started off reasonably well but detective Irving seems to have been lifted from so many other similar characters - mid life, lonely, no love life and disillusioned. The characters for me lacked originality and I could not empathise with any of them. It was a struggle to finish the book but as the well known phrase says 'I've started so I'll finish' however, the end, when it came was almost as if the author had no idea how to end the story and simply stopped. Sorry Mr Ellory, must do better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RJ Ellory's masterpiece, 7 Sep 2009
By 
A. J. Roche "Audiojoe4444" (Berks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Anniversary Man (Paperback)
This wonderful mystery simply took my breath away. Not a word wasted, from it's heartbreaking, breathless opening, to it's dark climax, this book proves why Ellory is fast becoming the best thriller writer working in this country.
The level of detail is sublime, from the stark, bedraggled belly of the city to the inner workings of the world's most notorious serial killers. With a plot to die for, and a cast of beautifully drawn characters, I doubt you'll read a finer thriller this year.
Book eight can't come soon enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Right up there among the best!, 29 Sep 2009
By 
H123 (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anniversary Man (Paperback)
The Anniversary man is another very well written book by RJ Ellory. It's all about finding a serial killer who is busy re-enacting famous murders from the past. With each murder the serial killer tends to become more aggresive to the point of taunting the investigators. No matter what the police do, our serial killer remains one step ahead. Who is the Anniversary man and does he get caught? Buy the book to find out.

Like other books from RJ Ellory, this one is also very fast paced and keeps you engaged throughout. Many readers would enjoy his writing style and this is definitely a good book to buy. My personal favourite from Ellory remains "A simple act of violence".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 6 Oct 2011
By 
Tony Laforce (Hackney, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anniversary Man (Paperback)
Bus stops were missed. Tube stations I was supposed to get off ignored. This is gripping a crime drama as it gets. Fantastic writing. Intelligent structure. Wonderful characters and a get ending. This was a compelling read and once again I suggest to people who have not read the wonderful talent which is RJ Ellroy...buy, buy and buy. Then tell tell and tell your friends.

Tony Laforce, Hackney
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy all R. J. Ellory books. I would recommend this and all his books to readers who enjoy a good story line and the suspense as the story unravels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally gripping, (as are most of his books). ..., 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anniversary Man (Paperback)
Totally gripping, (as are most of his books). A real page turner, kept me up till the small hours. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another page turner - even reading it for a second time it keeps you guessing. Characters are superb and even though it's a story that "has been told before many times" it gets you so involved in the 3 main characters that it you can't wait to finish it and "find out who 'done it'" Thanks RJ:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me - bad ending, 9 April 2013
By 
Shoozy (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Anniversary Man (Paperback)
I don't like crime novels but thought this would be different with an excellent twist since it's from R J Ellory but I am sorry to say I was so so disappointed. The story was just too drawn out and the murders kept happening leading up to 17 in total. Like a previous reader said, this was just overkill. I thought I would continue since I really loved Ghostheart but the ending was so bad. I can't say I wholly understood it to be honest. I think this is just a one off bad novel from this author and will be trying his other ones as I still have faith in him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Anniversary Man
The Anniversary Man by R.J. Ellory (Paperback - 15 April 2010)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews