Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual stories, 14 Jan. 2003
By 
C. M. Collier "myopia1" (Liverpool,england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Over the Gate (Paperback)
Not quite what we usually expect from Miss Read,this collection of Fairacre short stories are sometimes comic(Mrs Pringle's Christmas Pudding) sad (The Wayfarer) or strange but true (you'll see what I mean).
They're all interesting and well-told,and the illustrations by JS Goodall are a joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LA QUILTERS OPINION, 7 Sept. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over the Gate (Fairacre 4) (Paperback)
More on the wonderful Miss Read and her fellow villagers. We catch up with most of her friends and neighbours.

It shows how things were done, I think it is such an insight to how people lived in the country, how the backbone

of any village is not always who you would think it would be. How funds were collected to save things that mattered

to a community, and how life in school was. I know that they were written when such goings on were the norm but it

shows how much we have changed today and it is not always for the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Fairacre book, 24 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have now read quite a few of Miss Read's books in Fairacre and I really enjoy meeting the same characters and following the events in their lives. Sadly I have now finished all of the books in the series available on Kindle, so I am moving on to the Thrush Green series, also by the same author, but I still have to get into them! If you like village life somewhere in the 50s/60s, I can recommend this series, especially if you have an interest in village school life too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over the Gate (Fairacre 4) (Paperback)
Another Miss Read book to add to the ones I have already read. Very enjoyable and a good read,it has joined the collection on my bookcase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 28 Oct. 2013
By 
Dawn Talbot (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A series of charming tales,full of nostalgia. Occasionally I found this book felt a little twee and dated but enjoyed it all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gentle stories, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all of these books, and enjoy going back to them. A very gentle read, with some good characters. A gentle bygone era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full marks again Amazon!, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over the Gate (Fairacre 4) (Paperback)
Fulfilled all expectations of this author. Although she can be a bit patronising at times, her gentle humour shines through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Read, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over the Gate (Fairacre 4) (Paperback)
Once again fans of the Miss Read series will not be disappointed. This book delivers it's usual serving of life in the 1950s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over the Gate (Fairacre 4) (Paperback)
I am an avid reader and enjoy these books and had never heard of this one it is a great book and I loved reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars over the gate, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a brilliant read i love all the characters can read these over and over would recomend to all miss read fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Over the Gate (Fairacre 4)
Over the Gate (Fairacre 4) by Miss Read (Paperback - 2 Aug. 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews