Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Preaching to the converted?
I was tempted to begin by saying that anyone who reads this book probably doesn't need to, but maybe there are parents out there who would find it useful. Parents who sense that something is wrong with childhood, but can't put their finger on it and would like some clues as to where to begin putting it right. Simple measures like taking the TV out of children's...
Published on 9 Mar. 2007 by John Williams

versus
160 of 170 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars some sensible suggestions but often unconvincing
As somebody with extensive experience of Scandinavian childrearing, I was intrigued to see how selectively the author quotes Scandinavian practices in relation to the findings of greater happiness and greater powers of concentration in these children. Scandinavia features prominently in her chapter on education, as a counterpart to the vicious effects of the early...
Published on 29 Mar. 2007 by sceptical


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Not sure why this has so many good reviews., 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toxic Childhood: How The Modern World Is Damaging Our Children And What We Can Do About It (Paperback)
waffle waffle waffle. I heard about this book from a friend. Started reading it but realised it was mainly common sense. After reading about three chapters, I realised that 90% of the things mentioned in the book were already implemented in our lives and the other 10% was buried in so much waffle that I could not bring myself to even skim-read. Not sure why this has so many good reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 1 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A terrific book for those who have children/work with children- it gives you a deeper understanding of a childs mind and once you pick it up you wont want to put it down! A must read***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toxic Childhood: How The Modern World Is Damaging Our Children And What We Can Do About It (Paperback)
Good read for parents or parents to-be . Sue palmer knows her stuff. If you are looking at this book you are probably already a good parent but it's a useful reminder of things. Problem is how do u get the people who could really do with readying a book like this to read it ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book:), 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toxic Childhood: How The Modern World Is Damaging Our Children And What We Can Do About It (Paperback)
Delivered on time and great for the price.....Value for Money. No markings inside nor outside.... I am happy I bought it....It is good for everyone,.... Parents in particular need to read to know about the benefits of play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Received the book in excellent condition, very pleased with the speed of the ..., 14 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Toxic Childhood: How The Modern World Is Damaging Our Children And What We Can Do About It (Paperback)
Received the book in excellent condition, very pleased with the speed of the delivery. The book itself is definitely worth a read, however keep in mind this is one lady's strong opinion. Is childhood really in crisis?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars relevant and a must read, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toxic Childhood: How The Modern World Is Damaging Our Children And What We Can Do About It (Paperback)
This is a well researched book. Invaluable to really know some of the problems we face.

This book will make you want to take control of things for sure, well it did spark an international debate !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, 7 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toxic Childhood: How The Modern World Is Damaging Our Children And What We Can Do About It (Paperback)
All parents should read this book- ideally BEFORE becoming parents. Very thought provoking and gives practical advice to help you change life for the better, for you and your children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toxic Childhood: How The Modern World Is Damaging Our Children And What We Can Do About It (Paperback)
Very informative and thought provoking book for parents,teachers and anyone who works with children. Easy to read and lots of ideas and explanations into the life of children today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Toxic Childhood, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toxic Childhood: How The Modern World Is Damaging Our Children And What We Can Do About It (Paperback)
This book is an easy read, very fascinating and would recommend to anyone working with children or someone who wants to find out how our world is damaging children today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toxic Childhood: How The Modern World Is Damaging Our Children And What We Can Do About It (Paperback)
Excellent service and no issues, arrived well within timeline given. Would highly recommend this site to anyone. Quality punctual service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews