Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wycliffe and the School Girls!
I nearly bought this because it was a Wycliffe book I hadn't read - or so I thought. It's actually been renamed, so if you've already read Wycliffe and the School Girls then don't make the mistake of buying this.

If you haven't read it - then do buy it - it's fairly lightweight but a good read too - perfect for holiday time!
Published on 25 Jan. 2009 by J. Sutton

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good entry in the Wycliffe series
This book follows one of Burley's standard formats, with a flashback prologue showing the reader a motive for a crime, then showing the crime that first brings Wycliffe into the story, and following the process of solving the crime. Here the motive is the vicious bullying of a young teenager on a school trip, and the crime is the separate murders of two young women. At...
Published on 2 Jan. 2010 by Jules Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wycliffe and the School Girls!, 25 Jan. 2009
By 
J. Sutton (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wycliffe and the School Bullies (Wycliffe Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
I nearly bought this because it was a Wycliffe book I hadn't read - or so I thought. It's actually been renamed, so if you've already read Wycliffe and the School Girls then don't make the mistake of buying this.

If you haven't read it - then do buy it - it's fairly lightweight but a good read too - perfect for holiday time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burley's best., 21 April 2007
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very original psychological drama. An interesting and unusual prologue of several families, followed by a school trip led by a teacher who seems odd in a manner which is only suggested. Then the story moves on some years. Wycliffe finds himself centre stage amidst torment and angst, tensions and feuds, none of which should lead to murder and do not provide a motive. A complex and gripping novel which it will be difficult fot EJB to surpass - but I'm sure he will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bullying is dangerous, 31 Dec. 2011
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A group of school girls bully one of their number because she is different. The teacher in charge of them condemns tale telling and the victim of the bullies is sent home from the school trip in disgrace. But that is not the end of the story. Wycliffe becomes involved when a nightclub singer is found dead in her flat. At first the killing seems just a random act of violence but when another girl is attacked and a third is killed Wycliffe starts to see connections.

It is clear to the reader relatively early on who is committing the murders though the full details are not revealed until close to the end of the book. It is a tragic story and I as a reader had sympathy for both the killer and the dead. As ever this is a well written crime story with interesting characters and believable motivations. Wycliffe himself is a likeable character though he can be abrasive and likes to think things out for himself.

If you enjoy conventional crime novels then give this series a try. They can be read in any order though you may prefer to start with the first one Wycliffe and the Three Toed Pussy (Wycliffe Series)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good entry in the Wycliffe series, 2 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Wycliffe and the School Bullies (Wycliffe Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book follows one of Burley's standard formats, with a flashback prologue showing the reader a motive for a crime, then showing the crime that first brings Wycliffe into the story, and following the process of solving the crime. Here the motive is the vicious bullying of a young teenager on a school trip, and the crime is the separate murders of two young women. At first there appears to be no link between the two murders, but as Wycliffe digs into their past, he starts to find connections. Connections that lead him to a motive, other potential victims, and a race to find the killer. It's not difficult for the reader to work out who the killer is, but the point of the story is to follow along as Wycliffe pieces together the fragments of information that might lead him to the next victim before the killer. It's an entertaining read with some interesting character sketches, although be warned that the prologue could be triggery for bullying victims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 18 Oct. 2013
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I give this book a 5 star rating, simply because I always find the authors plots very interesting and I recommend this book to all Kindle readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok story, 18 Jan. 2014
By 
Mrs. M. Phillips "legwarmers" (Leeds England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wycliffe and the School Bullies (Wycliffe Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
One of the okay plots - I finished the book but it wasn't riveting. Not one of his best stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellantly written one of the best crime series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good old fashioned detective novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Riveting read !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Renamed Book, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wycliffe and the School Bullies (Wycliffe Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is identical to Wycliffe and the Schoolgirls. I bought it thinking it was a novel I had not read. I am the victim of "political correctness" and feel very cross about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wycliffe and the School Bullies (Wycliffe Mystery)
Wycliffe and the School Bullies (Wycliffe Mystery) by W.J. Burley (Mass Market Paperback - 9 Nov. 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews