Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining
In Raymond Khoury's 'The Last Templar' we begin with an exciting armed robbery of a Vatican exhibition at the Met in New York, by four horseman dressed as knights. An unusual start, but sets the tone for an entertaining book.
In the story we follow historian Tess Chayki and FBI agent Reilly as they are on a quest to find the thieves. But they become...
Published on 9 Nov 2005 by S. Mazumder

versus
67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Derivative but entertaining
The Last Templar is the latest book, since the Da Vinci code, to use as its hook the Order of the Knights Templar and the secrets about the life of Christ they may or may not have discovered back during the Crusades.
As such it is highly derivative and lacks real orginality. Yes, the secret that is eventually revealed may differ from the other books riding on Dan...
Published on 1 Aug 2005 by C. Green


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Derivative but entertaining, 1 Aug 2005
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Templar (Paperback)
The Last Templar is the latest book, since the Da Vinci code, to use as its hook the Order of the Knights Templar and the secrets about the life of Christ they may or may not have discovered back during the Crusades.
As such it is highly derivative and lacks real orginality. Yes, the secret that is eventually revealed may differ from the other books riding on Dan Brown's coat tails, but the expected elements are all present and correct. There is the academic who uncovers the central plot and is placed in danger as a result. There are the duplicitous elements within the Vatican who will go to any length to keep the secret. There is the globe-trotting and the discovery of hidden artefacts and there is the obligatory quantity of dicing with death and miraculous escape. Oh, and a romantic sub-plot is thrown if for good measure.
In other words The Last Templar offers nothing new. Accepting that the question remains however, is it any good? The answer is, yes. As far as this sort of genre novel goes its not a bad effort. Its fast paced, the plot is sound, with no gaping holes, and the characters are just about rounded enough to make the reader believe in and where appropriate care about them. The suspension of disbelief is required in places, especially the opening scene where knights charge out of Central Park and into a New York museum, but isn't hard to achieve with the way the book is written. The whole thing is also short and tight, with no flab to distract or bore the reader.
Overall then The Last Templar is a perfectly servicable disposable read. It will not win any awards for originality or style, but in a market flooded with Da Vinci code-style adventures it is does have the distinction of being both readable and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 9 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: The Last Templar (Paperback)
In Raymond Khoury's 'The Last Templar' we begin with an exciting armed robbery of a Vatican exhibition at the Met in New York, by four horseman dressed as knights. An unusual start, but sets the tone for an entertaining book.
In the story we follow historian Tess Chayki and FBI agent Reilly as they are on a quest to find the thieves. But they become involved in something that is much more important than a mere robbery, but something that will shake the Vatican's foundations.
The story is a novel one, but nothing too surprising with conspiracy stories that are around these days. I did enjoy the mixture of the crime story set with a historical backdrop. And the flashbacks to olden times with the Knights Templar themselves in action was enjoyable. The story does lose pace a little towards the end and becomes more of a love story than an adventure chase.
But I enjoyed this, and would recommend it as a fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 1 Mar 2006
This review is from: The Last Templar (Paperback)
The brief description of the book sounded fascinating - four templar knights perform an audacious robbery and put into motion a dangerous treasure hunt.
I bought this book after seeing being recommended it because I had read the Da Vinci Code.
The stlye is similar to Dan Brown's book. This means small frequent chapters, and a Catholic church storyline. There the similarity ends however as this book has better character development and a stronger, better thought through storyline.
Yes, some areas of the book do require you to suspend your disbelief, but as the book is meant to be fiction, surely the author is allowed some artistic licence!
The book style, which switched from current day to the 13th century was perfect for this story, and was one of the things I liked most about the book, although I would have preferred to have had more of the old sections. The author fits them in very well together and the older sections explain how and why the modern day people are doing what they are doing.
My one criticism would be that for me the book ended somewhat prematurely (it's hard to say why without giving the plot away), and I thought the last section would be filler, however despite my disappointment the last section of the book still kept me captivated.
For me this book gets 4 stars. It lost out on the five stars due to the premature ending, and the fact I would have liked more of the 13th century storyline. No great problems however, which is why I now await Mr Khoudry's next book with great interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Suspend belief all ye who enter...., 26 Jan 2006
By 
Christopher Ward "Bretwalda" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Templar (Paperback)
It's fairly obvious that this is a book that excites widely different opinions. In my view it is neither as brilliant as some claim, nor is it anything like as dire as others assert. It's a novel, so be prepared to suspend belief. The basic premise of the plot is nothing new, that the Templars treasure was/is mystical and not monetary. Some of the events do stretch credulity, but nowhere near as much as Dan Brown's helicopter escape in Angels and Demons. It is enjoyable hokum, well written in parts, but no artistic masterpiece. There are other, better time-shifting novels out there, but this is harmless enough and a good way to pass a few quiet winter's evenings. Look elsewhere though for a more erudite, deeper historical, mystical novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Secret that Should Stay Hidden?, 13 Aug 2006
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Last Templar (Audio CD)
Another author I have not read before. I know that the author is a screenwriter, whose current credits include the BBC spy thriller, Spooks. I am not sure if this is his first novel, but anyway thank goodness for new authors, particularly when they can write books as good as this one.

The year is 1291, a lonely ship sets sail from the harbour of Acre. On board is a small party of Templar Knights and a bound chest that has been entrusted to them by the Order's Grand Master. They are leaving a city in flames, and under the onslaught of the Sultan's men. The ship vanishes from the face of the earth . . .

The time moves swiftly forward to present day America. At the Metropolitan Museum in New York, four mounted men dressed in the old fashioned garb of Knights Templars make a savage attack at an exhibition of Vatican treasures and escape with a medieval decoder.

This is the beginning of the story that will take an FBI agent and a female archaeologist half way round the world in an attempt to solve a centuries old mystery, while at the same time trying to stay alive . . .

If you like this type of book and there are a few about, not to mention the Da Vinci Code. This is one of the better ones. An entertaining and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


117 of 129 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A present day threat from medieval times, 18 Mar 2006
This review is from: The Last Templar (Paperback)
This book starts off with a robbery of a museum show as a cover to smoething else. At first the robbery is viewed as just that until a witness who is an archaeologist mentions her obersavtions in passing to the FBI agent in charge. The search for help uncovers the villain of the piece and sets in train a race to Turkey for something which threatens all religion via targetting of the Vatican and the catholic faith. There are fill-ins from notes of a Templar to help understand the race.
The end is quite good but a bit hollywood sweet and is in ways a neat tidying up. Saying anymore could ruin the plot.
There is a lot here a reader might recognise from the Da Vinci Code and similar books. It is a solid read which runs well. Pay attention and you won't be let down. A worthy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better, 11 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Last Templar (Paperback)
I have an interest in the history of the Knights Templar and enjoyed the DaVinci Code, so the speil about this book enticed me to buy it. A good read, especially the historical chapters, but the relationship between the two lead characters was unbelievable and much too soppy (why the need for a love interest - just get on with the story). The Hollywood ending came as no surprise. The female lead who (take note) is also a scholar, historian and archaeologist deciding what to do with her find, and why, was very weak, (the 'why' was a fingers down the throat moment). Disappointing - could have been heaps better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly addictive!, 21 Feb 2006
This review is from: The Last Templar (Hardcover)
This is one of the most amazing books I have ever read!
The Last Templar is definatly one of those books that WILL keep you turning the pages.
Raymond Khoury has created a story using many "facts" and mixed with "Fiction" He has created the ultimate mind blowing book!
When you start reading, you will find it virtually impossible to put down!
You will follow the charecters on this fantastic quest and be glued with every nail biting moment which happens.
Imagine someone saying "I have the most amazing news... but tell you later" THAT is how it feels after you read each page, you simply HAVE to go on!
It will make you look at things in a whole new way.
Cover to cover without wanting to put the book down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the Da Vinci Code, 9 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Last Templar (Paperback)
How I wish I hadn't read The Da Vinci Code... Every story in this genre is now always going to suffer by comparison, and in many ways this is a better book. Raymond Khoury is an experienced scriptwriter and it really shows in the brilliant plotting of this book. It's fast-paced, and you can really imagine the story making a great movie! The characters are drawn with gusto, though sometimes the distinction between the "good guys" and the "bad guys" is just a little clichéd. The ultimate secret contained in the Templar manuscripts (yes, it is revealed...!) is both fascinating and thought provoking, and the journey, both physical and emotional, undertaken by the main protagonists in discovering it is truly page-turning stuff. My only real problem is with the ending of the book. It's literally a cliffhanger (no, I won't spoil it...), and personally I'd rather have seen things getting a bit less "wet". I do seriously urge you to read the book though - and you'll know what I mean!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply unputdownable!, 17 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Last Templar (Paperback)
I bought this book after reading Kate Mosse's Labyrinth, which I enjoyed (though I felt Labyrinth was a bit overlong and slow in parts -- I would have preferred a slightly shorter version!) The Last Templar is just fabulous and a rare creature: a book that just grabs you and charges ahead at a breathless pace, while at the same time giving you a wealth of fascinating information about events and quirks of history (including the origins of Christianity and the Bible that I for one was totally surprised by) that left me feeling very enriched. I often lose interest in novels once I start reading them, and am often also disappointed by the endings. No such problems with The Last Templar -- it simply captivates you from page one and keeps on building to a fabulous yet totally believable ending. While this is an epic story with well developed characters, it also stays grounded in reality all along, without any of the ridiculous nonsense that ruins most adventure/thrillers. And the five chapters set during the time of the Templars are a novel in themselves. In short -- a real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3494edc)

This product

The Last Templar
The Last Templar by Raymond Khoury (Paperback - 6 Mar 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews