Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my Favourites
Having read many Robert Ludlam (and Ludlam Estate) novels I have to say that this one, up to now, is my favourite.

Well developed, believable characters, fast paced plot and cohesive narrative made this a real page turner. You actually care about what happens to the characters throughout, which somtimes I find lacking in other Ludlam style novels...
Published on 16 Oct 2009 by Raegan E. Brady

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why bother
It seems that since Mr Ludlums sad demise some years ago his estate or his pulishers cannot wait to come up with yet another rip off novel. This book has nowhere near the style or the pace of any off his own written works. If these people insist on churning out " Robert Ludlum" novels they should at least try and get it right!!
Published on 30 Nov 2005 by N. Andrews


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why bother, 30 Nov 2005
By 
N. Andrews (Welling Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ambler Warning (Hardcover)
It seems that since Mr Ludlums sad demise some years ago his estate or his pulishers cannot wait to come up with yet another rip off novel. This book has nowhere near the style or the pace of any off his own written works. If these people insist on churning out " Robert Ludlum" novels they should at least try and get it right!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my Favourites, 16 Oct 2009
By 
Raegan E. Brady (Wigan, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ambler Warning (Paperback)
Having read many Robert Ludlam (and Ludlam Estate) novels I have to say that this one, up to now, is my favourite.

Well developed, believable characters, fast paced plot and cohesive narrative made this a real page turner. You actually care about what happens to the characters throughout, which somtimes I find lacking in other Ludlam style novels.

The plot itself is fairly simplistic but the idea that someone can just be 'hidden away like that' and for whatever reason immediately draws the reader in and forms a solid basis to the overall story. There are, however, enough twists and turns to keep the story moving and keep you guessing, plus the final twist at the end when the real 'bad guy' is revealed, well I didn't see that one coming.

There's enough technical jargon and gadgetry to please espionage fans but thankfully its not overloaded which makes it a very accessable read to someone like mself with very little techno know how.

I cant understand all the negative reviews as I thoroughly enjoyed this book, couldn't put it down in fact. It works really well as an action thriller and is a definate page turner. I'd definatly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really - don't bother, 28 Dec 2007
By 
J. Potter (Sierra de Yeguas, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ambler Warning (Paperback)
I wish I had read the other amazon reviews before I started this book, but I bought it abroad - and it is one of the very few books that I have ever put in the bin. There are so many good thriller writers out there that there is no need to read a pseudo-Ludlum. What is his estate thinking of, comissioning ghost writers? And what is the publisher thinking of, emblazoning Ludlum's name across the cover when he did not write it? These are, of course, rhetorical questions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, but nothing special, 29 Aug 2007
This review is from: The Ambler Warning (Paperback)
After the hype of his books - both written by himself, or his estate, , I decided to read The Ambler Warning, after reading the blurb, and finding it quite interesting. The first couple of chapters are good page turners, but with the introduction of other characters, the book looses it pace. One of the main problems I had reading, was the continuous switching between characters and locations. One of the good points of the book is it few surprises, and it is during these sudden events that the book returns to its normal pace. But other wise, I found this book interesting yet nothing special. I read over a several week period, showing that it wasn't a fantastic page turner. I agree with other reviews that the book was hard to read, with strong americanisms, words that had little understanding and meaning, especially to a British reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Time to stop...., 15 Nov 2005
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ambler Warning (Paperback)
Inside the cover (in very small writing) is a statement that this is written by an un-named author carefully selected by the estate of Robert Ludlum. So we have to remember that this has nothing to do with Robert Ludlum, it is a Robert Ludlum style novel.
Anyway, guy escapes from high security asylum for mad ex-operatives to find out the truth about himself and to expose a high level conspiracy.
But is it any good? No, not really. It tries too hard to have the traditional Ludlum components (highly skilled operative/conspiracy/double cross etc etc) but you feel that you have read it before (and better) in previous ‘proper’ Ludlum books. Robert Ludlum wrote some great thrillers and this abuse of his name is watering down the legacy he left behind.
The only thing that (for me) lifts this from one star to two is the introduction of an auditor as a supporting character. This was a bit different and I enjoyed some of the inter-action, but this was a minor good point in a very average thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not by its Stated Author, 25 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Ambler Warning (Paperback)
I read this because it was a "train book" left at the local station to read on the way to work.
I presume it was left rather than thrown away.....

Rather incoherent writing, and silly repetitive plot, one loses count of the stake outs, assassinations and assassination attempts- all very dull and clunky- let's hope the American Secret Services are not as bone-headedly stupid as portrayed here.

I gather this book is written anonymously, after the author died.

I don't know what a real Ludlum book is like, and after this turgid tale, I have no desire to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know, 22 Aug 2008
This review is from: The Ambler Warning (Paperback)
Parrish Island is located six miles off the coast of Virginia and, while it is officially home to a nature reserve, it more truthfully plays host to a maximum security psychiatric facility. However, given that its patients are ex-state agents with their heads full of highly classified information, it isn't too surprising the facility's existence is kept highly secret. Who actually sets foot on the island is strictly controlled : no birdwatchers are allowed to visit the 'nature reserve', the patients receive no visitors and all staff members thoroughly vetted. Hal Ambler, who is known to officials only as Patient 5312, is one of the few to be kept in isolation - a privilege reserved only for the especially dangerous, or those is possession of particularly sensitive information. The problem for Ambler is that, despite his presence at the facility, there isn't anything wrong with him.

Ambler hasn't any idea how long he's been at Parrish Island for, nor even why he's been interred there - he suspects he's there as a prisoner, rather than for any legitimate treatment. Naturally, he's desperate to escape...something that was never going to be easy to accomplish. He's widely viewed by the staff as a lifer, while nothing in his cell could be adapted for use as a weapon - no mirrors, not even a pen or a pencil. However, things change when he manages to connect with a young nurse called Laurel Holland. She proves crucial to his eventual escape - she switches his medication, which allows him to stay alert, provides him with a very useful keycard and tips him off about a boat leaving the island. Ambler's escape, naturally, is successful...however, his problems are far from over. Nobody from his former life recognises him, he can't find any official records of his existence...and, most worryingly, he doesn't recognise the face he sees when he looks in the mirror. It's clear that somebody with a great deal of influence has pulled a great many strings to make all this happen - so it's no surprise that the country's forces, including the CIA, aren't long in trying to track him down. Clayton Caston, a very senior CIA operative who spends much of his his time behind a desk, is central to their investigation. Caston is underestimated by many within the organisation - however, once again, he has a key role to play. Unfortunately, the country's legitimate state forces aren't alone in pursuing Ambler...

Hal, understandably, wants to find out exactly what has happened to him and who is responsible - and his past as a Consular Operations operative will prove very helpful in achieving that goal. The tricky part, naturally, will be finding the people who can answer his questions. What had made Ambler so very useful was his ability to 'read' people - he knew when they were telling the truth, he knew when they were lying, he knew when they were relaxed, tense or presenting a front...and he always got it right. However, he was no diplomat : he was a dangerous individual who specialised in very lethal missions. (The details of his last mission, in Taiwan , only come back gradually as the book progresses).

An enjoyable book overall - though, after having thrown in so much detail during the book, the ending felt strangely rushed. I a little afraid things would descend to a Dan Brown novel...though I really needn't have worried. The writing's much better than that - even with the book being, at best, only partly written by Ludlum - and there aren't any ludicrous claims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flirts with entertaining but ultimately comes up short, 20 Nov 2006
By 
Chris Chalk "Chris" (Croydon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ambler Warning (Paperback)
Ghost written Posthumously, The Ambler Warning is the latest offering from the man more prolific in death than Tupac Shakur.

And unfortunately it isn't very good.

It is said that Robert Ludlum had enough notes to produce a number of books when he died. Maybe someone is mistaking these notes as rich story outlines instead of simple musings that they so clearly are! The Bourne Warning, sorry my mistake, Ambler Warning is set on Parrish Island where Hal Ambler is now resident. A psychiatric facility for those who know too much but are now too unhinged...

Ambler however is not such a man, and of course he manages to escape from the inescapable as he desperately searches for those that betrayed him. The similarity I mention with the Bourne series is that of course Ambler doubts himself throughout the book, what if he is crackers, what if he really should have been on Parrish Island, why don't old school / college buddies recognise him and why frankly does he not recognise himself in the mirror? Of course he must investigate his own past if he is to have a future...

This frankly is all window dressing anyway as when you get down to it this book is a smash and grab raid through the murky underworld of a governments intelligence community and that is something I generally enjoy. It's not that right wing which books of this ilk so often are and in fact shows the Chinese in a good light (take note Patrick Robinson) so frankly this should be even more endearing to me. Sadly no, the book is just poorly executed, poorly thought out and just plain poor. Just as when Adrian Conan Doyle recreated some of his fathers work in The Exploits of Sherlock Holmes it felt like the ingredients were there but there just wasn't the great chef at the end to put it all together and this is exactly how I feel about this offering.

One thing I should say is that for 75% of this book I was pleasantly removed from reality just enough to give this 3 stars - inoffensive boredom I guess you would call it but the ending turned that round sharpish - it was painful reading it as it unfolded...

I am not saying avoid it, I am just saying be warned. This is not vintage Ludlum but then again I am no fan of his anyway so for me this is a poor imitation of what is not a great starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Typical good thriller, 25 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ambler Warning (Paperback)
Great, gripping fast read as usual - whether it's really Ludlum who wrote it or not - I'm never quite sure as I think he died a while ago!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Loses the plot less than half way through., 4 Feb 2014
By 
Essell. (South Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ambler Warning (Paperback)
Like others I thought it was a Ludlum novel....his name is plastered on the front cover. Very disappointing. Starts well but then deteriorates to pages of boring stuff. Maybe Ludlums original idea didn't get even half way ? I skipped the last half. Charity shop next stop, though I feel I should write a warning on the front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ambler Warning
The Ambler Warning by Robert Ludlum (Paperback - 20 Sep 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews