Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars231
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2012
Michael Connelly never disappoints. "The Lincoln Lawyer" is written in his usual powerful style and contains a character study in depth of lawyer Micky Haller.- I love this creation of Connelly's - more Micky Haller , please! Great plot, great writing. Don't miss this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2006
Nothing is clear cut about this book. The lawyer is new territory for Connelly with a new “hero” but it is also very familiar country, a “hero” who is seriously flawed in a failed relationship that is still on the go. Harry Bosch fans will find this all very familiar and yet it’s fresh the more interesting for that.
It is a gripping read and plot twists offer some genuine surprises that prove ultimately credible. I particularly liked the references to LA Gangsta rap that are both authentic and incongruous.
It all goes to show that really good fiction does not have to be boring and that “genre” fiction can be multi-layered and really interesting.
If you have not tried Connelly before this is as good a place as any to start. When you move on to Harry Bosch…as you will want to it will get you nicely teed up. If you are already a Connelly fan what are you waiting for you won’t be disappointed!
0Comment|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2015
I never believed that the Bosch series could be beaten however, having read them all I thought I'd give the Haller series a try; half heartedly. I am thankful that my boredom gave out and I started this series as it could be, just that bit greater than Bosch!!! Excellent book, I can't say anymore as excellent is as good as it gets for me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 March 2006
A fast-moving crime novel where nothing is quite as it first appears, with writing far superior to that to be found in much of the genre.
While there is a little too much heavy-handed, self-conscious explication of legal technicalities and the entire concept of the "Lincoln lawyer" at the start of the book, Connelly manages to evoke a great sense of atmosphere both inside and outside the courtroom as Haller grapples with his conflicting obligations towards his client and society at large.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2006
I am an avid reader, reading up to four books a week, I have always been a fan of Michael Connelly and enjoy his Bosch books, I was initially disappointed to see that this latest was not one of Harry's, however I was not disappointed. It is excellent, right from the start, a gripping, oh my god kind of book, gives J Grisham something to think about. Would make a really good film!!! Read this book immediately!!!
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2006
'The Lincoln Lawyer' is an intelligent, cleverly-plotted, pacy crime thriller, written in a highly readable style.

The main character, Mickey Haller, is a defence attourney, who operates at the grubbier end of the legal system, working out of the back of his Lincoln Continental car. He becomes hired by an unusually wealthy client who promises Haller a rich payday, but who is not necessarily all he seems.

The author, Michael Connelly, has a background working in the hard-nosed world of Police journalism in Los Angeles. This experience infuses his work with a convincing depiction of the quirks and machinations of the American legal system together with the ruses and (mal)practices of criminals and lawyers alike.

The storyline moves forward at an absorbing pace and there are enough twists and turns in the plot to keep the reader off-balance and enthralled throughout.

In a nutshell, 'The Lincloln Lawyer' is a fine read. It was my first Michael Connelly novel, but I would heartily recommend it and intend to buy further titles by the author myself.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 February 2007
"The Lincoln Lawyer" was my first exposure to Michael Connelly's writing. Already hooked before the first chapter ended, when I turned the last page, I had been to Amazon.co.uk to purchase further Connelly novels, this time with Detective Harry Bosch as the central character.

Start with "The Black Echo" and buy them in order (Michael Connelly has a website with the books listed in reverse order) - you will not be disappointed.

If you consider buying them all, I recommend punctuating your reading with other titles and subjects. That way you will not overdose on Bosch and you will appreciate Connelly's excellent writing style and sense of dramatic tension.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"The scariest client a lawyer will ever have is an innocent client. Because if you [screw] up and he goes to prison, it'll scar you for life." Mickey Haller's father, a renowned attorney gave him this one piece of advice. He always remembered it and, of course, this is the base of his trouble.
Michael Connelly, the author of Harry Bosch novels has created a new character that is likeable, has many personal problems, likes to stick it to the authorities when needed, and understands that a defense attorney is the man who puts up with shit from his clients, from the oppositon and anyone else who feels the need. We know not far into this book that Mickey Haller will do what it takes to win the case. He insists that his clients be honest with him, and he will go to the end of the earth for them. Most of his clients are drug dealers, homeboys or prostitutes. He defends them, insists that they play straight and will help them out however he can. He is upfront that he needs to be paid, and most of these people find the money somewhere. He doesn't make enough money to really pay his bills, child support and the two mortgages on his home. But he survives. He has an interesting office, his Lincoln Town car. As he states "Have Case Will Travel," and he moves from one southern California city to another in his car. One of his clients who had no way to pay his bills is working it off by acting as his driver. The client wears his I-Pod and listens to his homeboys, like Tupac, when Mickey has a case to discuss over the phone or needs to listen to tapes. This arrangement works out well for both of them.
Mickey's current client is a very rich real estate agent, Louis Roulet, who is accused of attempted murder to a woman he picked up for sexual attention. The entire case leaves Mickey with a queasy feeling, and he enlists his private investigator friend, Raul Levin in learning all about this man. What he finds out is not pretty, but Mickey is smart and at the same time he is defending his client, he is working up a scheme to have his client booked for another murder. One of his former clients, who is serving life at San Quentin, is involved surreptiously, and this case becomes one of the most fascinating mysteries I have read.
Mickey Haller is the kind of attorney we all want to be on our side. He is divorced from the woman he still loves, They share a child together, and even though they are separated they are together in many ways. Mickey hopes that he will soon grow up enough to appreciate what he gave away.
"The Lincoln Lawyer" is a very clever play on words. Even though I miss Harry Bosch, I believe that there are enough similarities that there may be a relationship here between Mickey and Harry that will grow. Michael Connelly always leaves a few clues in his books that we need to follow up. I am fascinated with Mickey Haller and want to follow him more closely. Looking for the next book, Michael Connelly. Highly recommended. prisrob
22 comments|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2006
For years I have always looked forward to the pulication of a new Michael Connelly book, be it a Harry Bosh novel or a one off thriller. So when I saw that he has gone in the way of a legal thriller I knew that I was in line for some new and fresh in a crowded market of legal thrillers. He has pulled off what a lot of writers have benn trying to do for years, A pacy, well researched legal novel. I think that John Grisham has realised that he has not got the monopoly on this genre. A must read and i hope to see his main character Micky Haller reapearing again in his own series of books as we do with Harry Bosh !!!BUY IT NOW
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2006
Michael Connelly has produced another fine novel, this time centring around Mickey Haller, a criminal attorney who operates out of the back of his Lincoln town car.

Haller is hired to defend a playboy accused of a savage assault on a woman but he is soon drawn into an intriguing case where everyone is not quite as they seem. Haller's apparent intent on proving his client's innocence soon leads him into a web of murder and deception and when someone close to him is murdered he must quickly come to terms with his self-conflict if he is to emerge from this case with his life.

Connelly has researched and written a great courtroom drama. There is also a connection to his revered character Harry Bosch, as fans of the Bosch series will quickly realise that Mickey Haller is indeed Harry Bosch's half-brother.

Hopefully Haller will return in due course as this is possibly Connelly's best efforts at a novel not featuring Harry Bosch.

Excellent.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.