Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unfamiliar and familiar too
Nothing is clear cut about this book. The lawyer is new territory for Connelly with a new “hero” but it is also very familiar country, a “hero” who is seriously flawed in a failed relationship that is still on the go. Harry Bosch fans will find this all very familiar and yet it’s fresh the more interesting for that.
It is a gripping...
Published on 27 Feb 2006 by jak17689

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not sure why there was so much hype?
I read this book because it was on the bestsellers lists and everyone I know was telling me to read it. I was decidedly underwhelmed. I found the story tedious and at times boring. I couldn't connect to the main character and by the end of the book was just wishing it would hurry up and finish. The only good thing about the book is the film was worse.
Published 10 months ago by Mrs Don


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unfamiliar and familiar too, 27 Feb 2006
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer (Paperback)
Nothing is clear cut about this book. The lawyer is new territory for Connelly with a new “hero” but it is also very familiar country, a “hero” who is seriously flawed in a failed relationship that is still on the go. Harry Bosch fans will find this all very familiar and yet it’s fresh the more interesting for that.
It is a gripping read and plot twists offer some genuine surprises that prove ultimately credible. I particularly liked the references to LA Gangsta rap that are both authentic and incongruous.
It all goes to show that really good fiction does not have to be boring and that “genre” fiction can be multi-layered and really interesting.
If you have not tried Connelly before this is as good a place as any to start. When you move on to Harry Bosch…as you will want to it will get you nicely teed up. If you are already a Connelly fan what are you waiting for you won’t be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High-class page turner, 19 Mar 2006
By 
G. L. Haggett "glynlhaggett" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer (Paperback)
A fast-moving crime novel where nothing is quite as it first appears, with writing far superior to that to be found in much of the genre.
While there is a little too much heavy-handed, self-conscious explication of legal technicalities and the entire concept of the "Lincoln lawyer" at the start of the book, Connelly manages to evoke a great sense of atmosphere both inside and outside the courtroom as Haller grapples with his conflicting obligations towards his client and society at large.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book read in the last 12 Months, 10 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer (Paperback)
I am an avid reader, reading up to four books a week, I have always been a fan of Michael Connelly and enjoy his Bosch books, I was initially disappointed to see that this latest was not one of Harry's, however I was not disappointed. It is excellent, right from the start, a gripping, oh my god kind of book, gives J Grisham something to think about. Would make a really good film!!! Read this book immediately!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twists and turns...and trips, 26 July 2006
By 
C. Dearden (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer (Paperback)
I'd never even heard of Michael Connelly before reading the much-applauded The Lincoln Lawyer. I'd been drawn to it by a half-price offer, not knowing the author but finding the blurb to be enticing enough to fork out the 5 for the book. What a buy.

The reviews I've read since enjoying the book have all given the book dues on the basis of the twists and turns in its plot. For me, this was not the greatest feature of the book. Yes, it twists and turns more than a Salsa dancer but what I picked out as being the best part was the character you got to know by reading the book. Mickey Haller is such a genuine character, built upon even more so by the fact that the book is written in first person, and you know him inside-out by the end of the book. Only in hindsight, having since read The Black Echo by the same author, am I able to confirm that Haller is a much better developed character than Bosch in my opinion, with more to him than the 'hard-done-by, take-no-crap' Bosch. Because of this, the book is a good read for someone who doesn't want to be dragged under by the depth of the forensics and criminology aspect, as was the case in The Black Echo, but wants to read about how a man grows through the case he is pursuing. Interestingly, it was this aside which kept me holding onto the book.

The case does have its turns, unquestionably, but the last 200 pages are simply an ambling pretext to an easily anticipatable ending. I won't spoil it but, if you get to page 400 and think you've figured it out then, well, you probably have. However, the plot was hard to make too unpredictable given its nature and thats where Connelly truly shines as a fine writer. He gives so much attention to Haller's life outside of the case that it affords the reader the ability to 'relax' away from the case without putting the book down. You can read the book for the crime, or for the character, but each are linked so well you won't put it down for wanting more of either.

So, despite tripping up slightly in dizzying us amongst the twist and turns of the plot, Connelly has here a solid gold read which one can immerse themself in as much as they wish. It's an easy beach-read for someone wanting a nice, flowing story and, by the same token, it's a tough grind for someone wanting an intense criminology story. Haller's got you for the summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have Case Will Travel, 14 Oct 2005
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer (Hardcover)
"The scariest client a lawyer will ever have is an innocent client. Because if you [screw] up and he goes to prison, it'll scar you for life." Mickey Haller's father, a renowned attorney gave him this one piece of advice. He always remembered it and, of course, this is the base of his trouble.
Michael Connelly, the author of Harry Bosch novels has created a new character that is likeable, has many personal problems, likes to stick it to the authorities when needed, and understands that a defense attorney is the man who puts up with shit from his clients, from the oppositon and anyone else who feels the need. We know not far into this book that Mickey Haller will do what it takes to win the case. He insists that his clients be honest with him, and he will go to the end of the earth for them. Most of his clients are drug dealers, homeboys or prostitutes. He defends them, insists that they play straight and will help them out however he can. He is upfront that he needs to be paid, and most of these people find the money somewhere. He doesn't make enough money to really pay his bills, child support and the two mortgages on his home. But he survives. He has an interesting office, his Lincoln Town car. As he states "Have Case Will Travel," and he moves from one southern California city to another in his car. One of his clients who had no way to pay his bills is working it off by acting as his driver. The client wears his I-Pod and listens to his homeboys, like Tupac, when Mickey has a case to discuss over the phone or needs to listen to tapes. This arrangement works out well for both of them.
Mickey's current client is a very rich real estate agent, Louis Roulet, who is accused of attempted murder to a woman he picked up for sexual attention. The entire case leaves Mickey with a queasy feeling, and he enlists his private investigator friend, Raul Levin in learning all about this man. What he finds out is not pretty, but Mickey is smart and at the same time he is defending his client, he is working up a scheme to have his client booked for another murder. One of his former clients, who is serving life at San Quentin, is involved surreptiously, and this case becomes one of the most fascinating mysteries I have read.
Mickey Haller is the kind of attorney we all want to be on our side. He is divorced from the woman he still loves, They share a child together, and even though they are separated they are together in many ways. Mickey hopes that he will soon grow up enough to appreciate what he gave away.
"The Lincoln Lawyer" is a very clever play on words. Even though I miss Harry Bosch, I believe that there are enough similarities that there may be a relationship here between Mickey and Harry that will grow. Michael Connelly always leaves a few clues in his books that we need to follow up. I am fascinated with Mickey Haller and want to follow him more closely. Looking for the next book, Michael Connelly. Highly recommended. prisrob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply ... Gripping., 20 Feb 2007
By 
K. Jamison (Co. Down, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer (Paperback)
"The Lincoln Lawyer" was my first exposure to Michael Connelly's writing. Already hooked before the first chapter ended, when I turned the last page, I had been to Amazon.co.uk to purchase further Connelly novels, this time with Detective Harry Bosch as the central character.

Start with "The Black Echo" and buy them in order (Michael Connelly has a website with the books listed in reverse order) - you will not be disappointed.

If you consider buying them all, I recommend punctuating your reading with other titles and subjects. That way you will not overdose on Bosch and you will appreciate Connelly's excellent writing style and sense of dramatic tension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing and cleverly-plotted crime thriller....., 28 April 2006
By 
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer (Paperback)
'The Lincoln Lawyer' is an intelligent, cleverly-plotted, pacy crime thriller, written in a highly readable style.

The main character, Mickey Haller, is a defence attourney, who operates at the grubbier end of the legal system, working out of the back of his Lincoln Continental car. He becomes hired by an unusually wealthy client who promises Haller a rich payday, but who is not necessarily all he seems.

The author, Michael Connelly, has a background working in the hard-nosed world of Police journalism in Los Angeles. This experience infuses his work with a convincing depiction of the quirks and machinations of the American legal system together with the ruses and (mal)practices of criminals and lawyers alike.

The storyline moves forward at an absorbing pace and there are enough twists and turns in the plot to keep the reader off-balance and enthralled throughout.

In a nutshell, 'The Lincloln Lawyer' is a fine read. It was my first Michael Connelly novel, but I would heartily recommend it and intend to buy further titles by the author myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's beaten Grisham at his own game...., 9 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer (Paperback)
Brilliant.

I read lots of books of different types and by different authors but my favourite is courtroom thrillers.

This is a great courtroom thriller with some stunning twists and turns and great characters.

It is one of the best books i've read in the last 12 months.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A NEW DIRECTION AND WHAT A GOOD ONE ! !, 9 April 2006
By 
N. Andrews (Welling Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer (Paperback)
For years I have always looked forward to the pulication of a new Michael Connelly book, be it a Harry Bosh novel or a one off thriller. So when I saw that he has gone in the way of a legal thriller I knew that I was in line for some new and fresh in a crowded market of legal thrillers. He has pulled off what a lot of writers have benn trying to do for years, A pacy, well researched legal novel. I think that John Grisham has realised that he has not got the monopoly on this genre. A must read and i hope to see his main character Micky Haller reapearing again in his own series of books as we do with Harry Bosh !!!BUY IT NOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I didnt see that one coming!!, 10 July 2006
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer (Paperback)
I'm not a great fan of court room books but read this after a lot of noise was made about in in various book clubs. I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it! Loved the twists, loved the charater Michael Haller and quite honestly learnt a lot more about the legal system (the author used to report on court cases in LA and spent time with legal represetatives for the research of this book) - for my next vacation I'm going to check out more books by this author as this one was incredibly easy reading and most of all enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x10f677e0)

This product

The Lincoln Lawyer
The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly (Paperback - 15 Mar 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews